We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Honeymoon bliss” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jony's Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jony's Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Honeymoon bliss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This review is on Jony's hotel and the restaurant too.

My new husband and I arrived at Boracay on a Friday (early October 2011) at about lunch time. We were picked up from Caticlan airport in a lovely, clean, aircon van and transferred to the jetty were we waited for about 5mins to be taken on the banca boat. There was only us and another couple on the boat! Met at Boracay by another clean, aircon van and driven to the resort where we were greeted by a really lovely, friendly staff member (he was waiting for us in the driveway - it was so nice) with our "welcome drinks". Through booking our "honeymoon package" I actually asked about Jony's famous Oreo Shakes and of course what was my welcome drink - yep an Oreo Shake! I was in heaven! (We've been to Boracay before this trip).

We were taken straight up to our lovely Super Deluxe (from memory) room with sea views. We were on the top floor of the front of the building. Waiting for us was a dozen red roses, a big fruit basket, bottle of Australian wine (not sure if that was on purpose given we're Aussies but it was a nice touch), our bath towels were shaped into swans kissing which was amazing!

We were both pretty exhausted (we both had a flu after being in Manila prior for 2 weeks) so rested for a bit.

The bathroom was lovely and clean. It didn't come with soap bars (shower gel only supplied). We simply asked for some and they delivered them.

WiFi had a few issues but hubby called reception and was all sorted very quickly.

Bed was SUPER comfortable! Clean sheets, fluffy pillows, nice mattress. Cable tv was great considering my next paragraph (came in handy).

Unfortunately, hubby and I both were struck with food poisoning (he on the Saturday night and me on the Tuesday night) after we both ate at Jony's restaurant. We probably should have been more careful as the restaurant was under refurbishment so that should have rung alarm bells. On our previous trip to Boracay we ate at Jony's every single day of our week long stay with absolutely no issue hence why we thought it might have been due to the construction. But it really did ruin our honeymoon as we were bed ridden for nearly all our trip (Sat night - Tues morn then from Tues night through to when we left on the Friday). Thankfully the Thursday the island was struck with a tropical low and it poured raining all day - was nice to be rugged up in bed.

We did try to explain to the reception staff that we were struck with food poisoning upon check out (we missed out on our massages that were included in our package) but the check out staff didn't seem to get what I meant. I should have told my Filipino husband to speak in Tagalog but we just wanted to go as I still was rather unwell.


We will definitely be back to Boracay and to Jony's though I think we will be very hesitant to eat at the restaurant again. It's a shame really as previously the food was amazing but I never want to be that sick ever again!

Room Tip: Be sure to pay the little extra and get a room with a view. The sunsets are truly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathnjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    157
    29
    4
    5
See reviews for
90
211
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I booked this hotel with a package with Zest Air. For the amount I paid, it was quite disappointing.
We were given a room with the balcony facing a wall. When we asked for a change, they showed us another room & asked to pay extra 1000 pesos, though it was exactly the same grade! Also, they lied to us that the room is booked for someone else, while it wasnt occupied by any guest that day.

The complimentary breakfast provided was very bad. On the first day, when I complained that the rice was tasting stale, the waiter agreed that it was made the previous night, and that I should not complain about it!!!! I was flabbergasted.

After this experience, we decided not to dine at the Jonys restaurant.

Some staff at Jonys was helpful, while few others would start talking in Tagalog, though we were standing right in front of them waiting for an answer. Also, they suggested that we go for "Island Hopping" with a particular company. When we went for it, though we were promised to be taken to atleast 6 islands for 700 pesos pax, we were taken to JUST TWO!!! And rather than helping us resolve this with the company, the staff forced us to pay the whole amount.

Overall, my experience was very disappointing with Jonys. But we had a great time at Boracay - white sand beach... which made up for most of the bad experience!! :-)

Room Tip: You should make a hotel booking after you reach Boracay as there are plenty options across Stations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajtkhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Excellent staff! Directly across from the beach. Not luxurious but perfect for a person looking for good comfort on a budget. Definitely try the Chocolate Shake at Jony's restaurant. First floor is probably the best because you won't be spending much time at the hotel anyways.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kohulen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed there from Sept 29 to Oct 2 2011 loved it room was great staff were great and friendly. Only thing is the breakfast i purchased it along with the room and wasn't worth the money i paid. And do your laundry off site the laundry service at the hotel is very expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I was looking for a comfortable place with character on white beach, not ready to pay the Shangri-La rates this time, travelling with the family. And Jony's delivered. The reservation process and email exchange with Rev was already very pleasant, and the welcome and treatment we received from Rev and the front-desk staff was truly special.

The property is set across the main street from the beach, and our two double rooms both had beach view. With help of the staff you cross the road and enter the beachside restaurant for breakfast, lunch, happy hour and dinner. I carried my MacBook, and with 3 women intow I was early in the restaurant, having coffee and taking advantage of the dree wifi to stay on top of business and private matters, while looking over white beach and the turquoise sea...

The food is ambitious (just hired a new chef early 2011), and the fruit drinks are cheap and spectacular.

Downsides? White beach is suffering from erosion (not really Jony's fault), and the water lapped right against the patio faoundation at high tide, leaving nothing of the beach. The private property next door (a retired general, has no beach left.

That said, there was plenty of beach left outside the couple of hours of high tide.

Jony's is within easy walking distance of D'mall, without the hassle that goes with it.

We have very fond memories of Jony's

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silverjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.8 km away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
2.1 km away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 146 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 146 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.1 km away
Discovery Shores Boracay
Discovery Shores Boracay
#4 of 146 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.1 km away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#1 of 146 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jony's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jony's Beach Resort

Property: Jony's Beach Resort
Address: Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price range (per night): $126 - $225
Hotel Class:3 star — Jony's Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been one of the oldest and unwavering family founded establishments in Boracay Island, Jony's Beach Resort cemented its position as one of the prestigious resorts on the island since 1985. Known for it's personalized service, Jony's Beach Resort not only has convenient access to the famous powdery white sand beach and crystal blue water, but it also connects it's guest to the much sought- after bars and restaurants on the island. One just has to experience it in order to believe it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Jony's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jony`s Beach Hotel Boracay
Jonys Beach Hotel
Jonys Beach Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing