We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cadlao Resort(El Nido)
USD 217
USD 207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
USD 69
USD 64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 127
USD 115
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
USD 37
USD 36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Qi Palawan(El Nido)
USD 175
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 41
USD 35
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tapik Beach Park Guest House(El Nido)(Great Value!)
USD 9
USD 6
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
USD 45
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 520
USD 469
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
92
51
27
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
51
27
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno alcoholmountain villaspeed boatevening buffetsteamed vegetablesreligious beliefsentire lifelagoon tourleave early in the morningfront desk managerkayaks providedsecluded islandamerican foodsmall gymexceptional staffmain islandel nido town
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

This resort is fairly new.. Staffs are great and room was very spacious. Breakfast buffet was full of selective foods. Had Filipino and American dishes. The only reason why I didn’t give it a 5 Star is bc they didn’t have any entertainment or bar. So it’s really for a retreat for those who just wants solitude. I loved how we could go kayaking to the other island. Water is so calm and warm..I loved being there for 3 nights and I wish it was longer...Would definitely come back to this place.. I have never felt so relaxed and rejuvenated. Thanks Matinloc!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gatchae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We read the reviews on Matinloc prior to our trip, and were very apprehensive about all the negative publicity. What a surprise it turned out to be. From the El Nido airport we were met by Beth of the resort. She made us feel right at home. We took a speed boat from El Nido to Matinloc without getting our feet wet. We were met by a great crew. Out luggage went straight to our suite. And what a suite it was. A beautiful king size bed with a canopy, wooden diamond finished floors, huge picture windows all around, and an airconditioned room that was kept at 21 degrees all day. And there was the food...totally amazing. We were approached by the chef at every meal, and he prepared all our meals off the menu! What a culinary experience it turned out to be. The staff was the most accommodating ever. This was a very memorable visit to Matinloc.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise Matinloc Resort in Palawan turned out to be! Reading Trip Advisor reports before the trip, Andre and I were alarmed at all the negative comments guests had about food. So much so that we loaded up on goodies just in case we got disappointed. Upon arriving at the airport, Beth, the resort coordinator, was already aware of our apprehension on the quality of the food. She informed us that their kitchen staff knew of our apprehension.

Arriving at the resort way past lunch, Chef Mel himself came up and introduced himself saying he had brief stints at several restaurants in Boracay, including making gelato at the famous Aria. After which he said he would prepare an off-the-menu lunch for us. And it was good! He whipped up a chicken calzone oozing with mushrooms, cheese and black olives.

The next day, Chef Mel prepared another customized meal of fresh squid stuffed with mushroom, zucchini, and cheese served with mashed sweet potato, grilled corn, eggplant, broccoli and honey amaretto reduction. Adding cheese to the stuffing was Andre’s idea.

Breakfast buffet was simple but good. What stood out to our amazement was discovering genuine buttery flaky croissants on the island which we enjoyed with blueberry, raspberry, and orange marmalade, alongside freshly brewed cappuccino.

Chef Mel was gone on our third day, but Chef Sherwin took over preparing our late lunch on our third day. He prepared a dish of three prawns on an omelette bed sprinkled with black sesame seeds, a trio of crunchy vegetable tempura wrapped in nori, steamed vegetables, with a choice of Japanese curry or soy sauce dip. It was as delicious as it was pretty to look at.

Matinloc boasts of powdery white sand on a short beach cradled by limestone cliffs. At one end of the beach was a tall round wooden cabaña with thatched roofing, while the other end had a long cement pier jutting out to the water where boats docked for arriving and departing guests. Lounging chairs with baby blue umbrellas line half the beach, while an infinity pool invites guests to come in for a cooling swim.

Fronting the beach was the sole circular restaurant outlet where meals were served. Its tall open windows allowed guests to enjoy nature’s beauty: the sparkling blue water, the clear blue sky, the pristine sand and the far off islands in the horizon, not to mention the fresh sea breeze and the sound of waves gently hitting the shore. A wooden deck surrounded the restaurant with outdoor plastic wicker chairs and tables under coconut trees.

Large deluxe cabins faced the beach. From the beach, one could see cabins perched high on the hillside with a fantastic view of the sea. Wooden steps led up to these cabins, some requiring more than 200 steps. The builders ensured the cabins were nature-friendly, as many of them were wrapped around tree trunks. Why, there was even a tree house by the garden. At the back of our building, they were building a funicular to bring guests up to the highest cabins. We could just imagine how difficult it would be to go up and down those steps.

Our room, thankfully, was on the first floor of a three story building facing the garden. It was roomy, high-ceilinged with wide wooden planks as flooring, and a separate changing room. A canopied king-sized bed decked with thin billowy netting lent a romantic air to the room. Airconditioning was faultless, amenities first class, and the bed super comfy.

If there is anything they need to improve on is their weak and spotty wifi, as this was possible only by the front desk or at the pier. There was no signal in the room or at the beach.

The staff were very friendly, and the service was warm and consistent. Special mention to K-Zy, Jay-ar and Hannah of Reservations and Front Desk, Beth who met us at the airport, Nelyn and Weng of F&B, and Jocer of Marine Sports.

It was truly a most enjoyable respite, and one we would love to go back to. Next time, we may even opt for the highest cabin with its spectacular view, that is, if the funicular is already working.









Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MonetteIturralde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

This is toooo expensive to get an food poisoning. The resort is beautiful and clean, the pool and the beach are amazing but the food is the biggest problem, really bad and not in good conditions. My boyfriend ate an hamburguer and spend the night really sick.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

don’t be fooled, the resort looks amazing, is it worth the top dollar my husband and I paid, not even close.
The main issue is the restaurant, it is the ONLY option of food on the resort, and it is below average food with little to no options and the same menu everyday.
My husband got food poisoning from the chicken wings while there, we informed management but like a lot of ‘white lies’ you will hear on this island they told us it would be investigated, we still got charged for it upon departure.
Let’s not forget they will throw you a ‘buffet’ for special occasions and charge you ₽2500pp ($65aud pp) with no other option than room service then lie and say they are out of the ingredients to make anything on the menu. I ate a snickers bar for dinner on my last night there. Cheers.
I was happy to leave.
Also don’t be fooled by the transfers, they will tel you there is a jetty, there’s no jetty. You will be expected to get on the overpacked boat by entering knee deep sewage water from an inlet that didn’t seem very safe or inviting
There is nothing luxurious or relaxing about this resort. It’s the biggest waste of money I’ve ever spent.
The staff are lovely and know how to cover up higher managements mistakes and lies well.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank kira8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews