We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and nice facilities”
Review of Matinloc Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matinloc Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Matinloc resort offers exceptional customer service. Great facilities. Alcohol is not served on the island but BYO is allowed. Free scheduled boat transfers from Beach Garden Resort Hotel a short tricycle ride from the El Nido wharf. Free buffet breakfast with a range of options. Food is rather average which is disappointing. Tours on offer at the front desk. WIFI in common areas and rooms although not great connection in rooms. Otherwise a pleasant stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sheena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngbin S, Front Office Manager at Matinloc Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sheena A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments and recommending us here on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to hear that your overall stay with us was pleasant and your valuable comment(s) will be shared with team to improve their food quality & internet connection in the future. We are in the discussion with Internet provider to provide faster and stable internet.

I do appreciate to stay with us and if I can be at assistance for you or your guests’ future visit to our hotel, Please do not hesitate to contact us! We are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future.

With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017

It was the last part of our holiday and the destination was El Nido, Palawan at Matinloc Resort. Not knowing what to expect as my sister did the booking, I hoped that she had chosen the right place for us to stay.

I have to say that she did a pretty good job. Upon arrival at El Nido airport, we were picked up by a van owned by the resort and dropped us off at their sister hotel in town where we took a 20-minute boat ride to the resort itself. Transportation was pre-arranged without problems!

We arrived at the resort and I was immediately blown away by the view and the welcome. Not only were we greeted by the staff with welcome necklaces we even got drinks! Too bad they were non-alcoholic but refreshing none the less! Everyone was friendly and smiling and made us feel at home as soon as we stepped foot at the resort.

We ordered most Filipino food throughout our stay and compliments to the chef! Western food not so good but hey, you are in the Philippines, why order western food?

The room was massive and clean, modern, tidy, beds and pillows were so comfortable, and complete with toiletries and mini bar, everything you could ask for in a room away from home. The shower was huge! Though we did have a problem with the drainage, minor thing, which we reported at the front office.

The view from the restaurant, the beach, the infinity pool, the tours and activities available, the location and the facilities are first class. The staff, no exemption, are brilliant, welcoming and I think the main reason why my family and I felt at home away from home during our entire stay. They are the main reason why we will come back sooner rather than later and why I have written this review for other travelers to read and choose Matinloc as their home away from home when in El Nido, Palawan.

Special mention to our tour guide Ryan, Ian our chef on tour, Jowie at the restaurant, Carmel at the front desk and all the friendly staff whose names escaped me. God bless you all and see you again soon.

Room Tip: excellent restaurant views, amazing room views, friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Arbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the resort 3 days 2 nights. Beautiful location and surrounds. Plenty of staff on hand who want to help.

Slow and Soso service in some respects but otherwise great stay.

We took snacks etc but found the food was very good but tip - order off Filipino menus they serve better food then when they try western foods.

Also did private beach hop tour which was awesome

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We had such an incredible time at Matinloc Resort. From the moment the staff met us at the airport, to the last trip back to the mainland on the speedboat- everything was so incredible. We booked a private speedboat tour of the area, which was easily one of the best days of my life. The landmarks we visited, the coral reefs we snorkelled, the lagoons we swam in and the caves we explored blew us away. Even better than all that- the staff who took us out. The 4 of them were a credit to Matinloc and we were blown away by their knowledge and professionalism. They made our trip and we were so happy to have had them show is beautiful Palawan! The resort was clean and luxurious, with our room being comfortable, stylish and had one of the biggest showers I have ever had! amazing! We ate at the restaurant each night- never having a bad meal, and relaxed on the beach and the pool for down time. Alex, the manager, was helpful, friendly and a lot of fun! When she realised our Ferry left at 6am (and you cant leave the island before 6am due to coastguard regulations) she went above and beyond, booking us the resort speedboat at no cost, and having us stay at their sister property on the mainland so we could meet out ferry! Brilliant service! It is a bit of a bummer that they do not serve alcohol- but knowing this we brought some of our own and the staff were more than happy for us to do so! I have read some of the negative reviews on here and I honestly cannot understand how they came about- as everything we experienced was amazing (and we travel a lot!). I have no hesitation recommending this resort for its natural beauty- luxury but mostly it's amazing staff! 10/10 ! Cannot wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesseroebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Went here 9 months ago.
In short, beautiful location, pricey but worth it.
Big heads up early: When I was there in Nov 2016 it is BYO alcohol! They don't sell alcohol on the island due to the religious beliefs of the owners but you are welcome to bring your own and drink it openly. Best to stock up in town on the way in.
Service was great, amenities and rooms were fantastic except they were building the gym at the time.
Food sold at the restaurant is quality as well.
Tours are pricey but worth it as the location is excellent and near a lot of beautiful scenery. The beach out the front is small but has good diving and sea animals right ygere

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
33.1 km away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
243 reviews
11.5 km away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#6 of 17 in El Nido
536 reviews
9.6 km away
Vellago Resort
Vellago Resort
#11 of 17 in El Nido
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
El Nido Coco Resort
El Nido Coco Resort
#10 of 17 in El Nido
68 reviews
11.6 km away
Cauayan Island Resort
Cauayan Island Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
123 reviews
14.2 km away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matinloc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matinloc Resort

Address: El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in El Nido
#6 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
#6 Spa Hotel in El Nido
Price Range: $470 - $985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Matinloc Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Wotif.com so you can book your Matinloc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matinloc Resort El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing