We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
47
24
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
24
6
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Campbells is a fun and friendly hotel which is budget friendly and has pleasant staff.

The food prices are reasonable for the portion sizes and tastes pretty good. The drinks are a bit hit and miss on strength. I ordered a long island ice tea (p175) from their sister hotel and side by side with a rhum coke it tasted identical. If you want a guaranteed buzz then perhaps stick to the bottled beers.

The rooms are kept clean and fairly well maintained. There was a blinking light and a grounding issue (electrostatic sensation) when powering a device with a metal grounded exterior, but nothing that really caused a problem.

The penthouse rooms have their own wifi point but we weren't able to get it working the whole trip. We asked others and they confirmed the same thing, it's not working. So no wifi in the room. Luckily we had our Globe 3G.

The wifi in the resto area worked fine.

Our bathroom was a little strange. It has a window but there's a material preventing you from looking through it. I think behind that window is a staff area because you'll be using the toilet and hear people talking and a radio or TV playing. It was a little off-putting.

Our side lamp didn't have a bulb so we had the choice of a big light or no light. I asked for a bulb but was told only the maintenance staff know where they're kept. We just used the bathroom light as a night light for the rest of the stay.

I'd recommend avoiding the "Starbucks" coffee they sell. The prices are inline with genuine SB prices in Manila but the drinks are not the same. There's a reason why Starbucks use big expensive machines and have lengthy training programs for Baristas. Don't waste your money on these fake Starbucks drinks.

Putting a Toyota Engine into a Jeepney doesn't make it a Toyota Hilux. Using Starbucks beans doesn't make it a legit Starbucks coffee.

If possible, look for a room that has a window-type aircon since these will turn back on automatically after a power outage. We had a split type aircon that didn't turn back on after the power outage, so we kept waking through the night to a hot room, having to turn the aircon back on again.

There are little reminders during your stay that it's a budget hotel. For example we spent from midday until 8pm eating and drinking in the resto. At around 7pm we realised we hadn't drank any water all day so we all had 2 glasses of house water each. We were then told that any more water would have to be charged. Seriously? Ordering food and drink for 8 hours and you're going to charge for house water?

Overall it's a budget friendly hotel with a great view and a good location to jump off to other areas.

Room tip: Look for a room with window-type AC which turns back on after brownout.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrFarscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davedo20, Owner at Campbell's Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2015

Like teachers everyone grades differently , we are pleased we were given 3 stars, as of the 8 hotel reviews only 1 hotel received a higher rating by this reviewer. Critical comments do help us make our resort better
The split air conditioning units are new, we were not aware they did not restart with power outage to generator and back. We have adjusted the unit controls to remedy that problem.

We proudly serve Starbucks coffee and 98 per cent of our customers really love it. We average 6-8 cups a day in a day not 600 a day like in a Starbucks store , so to keep consistent quality with a low volume we chose a machine that grinds beans individually for each cup as Starbucks switched to a few years ago. They decided people paying that much money want hand brewed coffee for a more old style coffee shop feeling so they switched back. Our prices are about 15 per cent cheaper than in a Starbucks store in Manila. We bring the coffee directly from Starbucks home city of Seattle. I believe we are still the only place on the island of Mindoro with its 1 million people serving Starbucks coffee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

It has been 20 years since we have visited Big Lalaguna. When we arrived at Sabang I couldn,t believe all the development and how crowded it was. We walked to lalaguna and I was afraid I would be disappointed to see the change. When we walked around the corner and there it was. Almost the same as when we left 20 years ago. We love Campbells because it is at the far end of the beach and it is very quiet because you can,t go any farther. The resort was clean the beer was cold, the shower was hot,the food was great and the staff and Thomas the manager were all friendly and they went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable.We will defiantly go back again and we won't wait 20 years!!

Room tip: Always read all the trip reviews and ignore the worst one
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

We have been visitting this place almost once a year, for the last 12 years, and it just keep getting better.

We always try to get room 13, that is the last of the 3 penthouse rooms.
It have a great view,and are quiet, as we like it.

The always friendly staff, managers and owners, are doing their best to make you feel good.
I have a bad back, and where given a special mattress the day we arrived :))
We had laudry that we needed quick, and had it less than 20 hours later:))

The food is nice, and the diving, at Scandi Divers, are perfect.
If you want to snorkel, the reef is at your door step.
So all in all, just the best place to be if you like full value for your money.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnneR508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015 via mobile

We didn't stay here but stopped by for lunch on our first day in Sabang. The restaurant area was quiet and we sat with a great view over the beach and sea. Food was reasonably priced and tasty - what else can you want :)

Date of stay: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015

This resort gets my best recommendations. The staff were so amazingly friendly and helpfull, and made us feel very much at home. The location is perfect for a quiet night sleep, and the food is excellent, all meals of the day. The Diving center, located on the sister hotel, just next door, with their amazing friendly and fantastic staff too, just made the stay even more perfect.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HeKaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews