We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy restaurant, good food and excellent value.”
Review of Bunga Rampai

Bunga Rampai
Ranked #67 of 7,839 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy restaurant, good food and excellent value.”
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

White table cloths, very attentive staff, three piece string band - not too loud. This was the first time we went there. We had a quick dinner as my wife was tired. The dishes were of a reasonable serving size. We ordered a Grouper fish which was whole. The waiter offered to cut it and serve it. Initially I declined but after struggling with it I asked for assistance. The waiter then rolled over a serving table, cut the fish meat off the bones and presented the fish back on the plate. That's good service.
For those who like cocktails/mocktails the selection is comprehensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Devo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    108
    36
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere + Great Food + Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I have to say that this is one of the best customer service in a restaurant I have ever experienced. The staff were friendly and very attentive to our needs. The food was served beautifully and very delicious. If you want to try Peranakan food, I highly recommend this restaurant. I also really like the place, the restaurant looks like an old traditional Dutch House in early 1900s and it had this Peranakan feels.

To sum up, great food + great place + great customer service!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AppleMuffin710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Konro”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Since this is a review of a restaurant, and I tend to believe that a restaurant's first and essentially ONLY deliverable is the food, let me give Bungarampai my very highest recommendation based on the "konro".

This is a deceptively simple dish of what appears to be grilled beef ribs. The flavoring accentuates every single one of the many-layered thing that is the flavor of hot beef fat exploding over your tongue, filling your pharynx and immediately inundating your olfactory and gustatory centers. When you recover from the near swoon of the initial impression, you start to notice the textural nuances of fall-off the bone tenderness of the beef.

Short of creating food porn while trying to adequately describe the experience, let me just recommend Bungarampai, which by the way is the name of a small white local water lilly variant, as a restaurant worth visiting as much for the food as the ambience. Make no mistake, I would recommend Bungarampai as highly were it a dive by a canal or a pushcart operation by a smogged out Jakarta bus terminal, just for the konro alone.

Ok, the ambience is nice, its a sit-down joint in an old colonial house. It has a portico with a chandelier, that should tell you all you need to know.

Finally, when in Jakarta, modulate your expectations with regards to service, please, and just enjoy the awesome food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Special occasion-only”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The Restaurant caters to deep pocket Jakartans as the food is expensive. Go there for fine dining experience, admire the interior of the old-money Jakartan's house converted into a restaurant and taste the food that you rarely find as that is the Restaurant's specialties.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank teasweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“fantastic venue, good food reasonable, if you are a visitor”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Go for the degustation menu. Great selection of local foods. They say it is pricey, but for a once in a life time location, with a lve string trio playing next to you, it is worth it. Cheaper than a US ribs joint in the mall down the street.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Trilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bunga Rampai also viewed

 

Been to Bunga Rampai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing