We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel with a great bar”
Review of Hotel Kristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kristal
Ranked #61 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean hotel with a great bar”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Kristal is a clean hotel suitable for long term stay. I have been there many times, being well located for my business, in a city where traffic is always busy and location is important. Hotel rooms are old but well maintained and very clean. The main attraction there is the lively Satu Lagi bar with a good expat presence, nice atmosphere and good food. Overall, a decent experience in Jakarta.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busy_Dubai_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    150
    60
    13
    3
See reviews for
66
12
18
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Well, back to Jakarta with the well known Jakarta traffic. First time to Kristal and never expected to be an apartment hotel. Suitable for family with kids and long stays. Stayed at the third floor and was thrilled with the room size that has 2 bedrooms, too spacious for a single person. It comes with a kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a big living room as well. 2 buildings, depending on where you are located. The second building looks new to me with shops, business center in there but still ok.

Breakfast was nice with local Indonesian dishes as well as Western breakfast spread. Warm reception and staffs. Newspaper provided every morning and nice views of the surrounding. No noise from the traffic below. There's a great swimming pool below, with a bar in the middle concept. Too bad no time for a dip. There's a dining bar with live band every Wednesday and Fridays. So pop down for some chill and nice food being served there. Waitress are nice and warm just that the tabacco smell will be the only minus point for me.

There are some dining places outside the hotel just across the street with a supermarket (Hero). If you want more choices, roam there and explore. Overall, nice stay at Kristal and would be back to stay if visiting JKT again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gecko_cheeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

A great place to stay in south Jakarta, Nice big pool, my kids loved spending their time in the pool. We stayed in a 2 bedrooms apartment and we love it. The place was very clean and looked after. A big 19lt water bottle with hot and cold dispenser in the room was a excellent. A nice big fridge, an electric stove and a microwave in the room also for a quick meal. Staffs were very friendly and plenty of smiles. The food was quite good too although the service was a bit slow. We stayed on 8th floor with good view but the hallway smells of cigarette smoke.
A nice supermarket 2 minutes walk from the hotel with plenty to offer. We could use a big fruit bowl in the room as we bought a lot of tropical fruit from the supermarket. We will come back to hotel Kristal next time we go to Jakarta.

Room Tip: If you are not a smoker, ask a non smoking floor (which is only 1 floor per tower, lower floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was my second time staying at Hotel Kristal.

Overall, the hotel hasn't changed much from my last visit in November 2010. The hotel is located at the southern part (selatan) of Jakarta. Hotel staff speak English well.

I stayed in the one bed-room suite. The room is spacious, and is equipped with a 5-gallon handle water bottle, so one does not to worry about the risk of running out of water. The interior is somewhat rundown, but still acceptable.

My room rate included wifi internet connection. Nevertheless, the connection speed did not give me a smooth connection to watch videos on Youtube or making Skype calls. The wifi connection in Cafe Pinang is better.

Speaking of the hotel's restaurants and pubs, Satu Lagi not only wins the applause from guests but also from local people give it thumbs up. The buffet at Cafe Pinang was also not bad. Consideration of widening the food spread is the only recommendation I have for the management.

As set out above, the hotel is located in the southern part of town, and I highly recommend this hotel to you if you are going to spend most of your time in that part of town so you don't need to worry about the traffic. I went to downtown one morning during rush hours, and it took me 1.5 hours to get there.

Generally speaking, I am quite satisfied with the hotel.

Room Tip: If you a light sleeper, please ensure you book yourself in a room which is not close to the Masjid n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VRhames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Staff are friendly. Cozy atmosphere, almost like being in a home. Ultra spacious room, provided with kitchen utensils in 3 bedrooms. I also like the fact they provide one gallon of water (instead of 2 bottles of water per day) in each room, so we didn't run out of water.

Room Tip: Facing swimming pool will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParadisiaC4L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Swiss-Belhotel Pondok Indah
#96 of 464 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Mercure Jakarta Simatupang
#34 of 464 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swiss-Belinn Simatupang
#111 of 464 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
The Bellevue Suites
#196 of 464 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Cilandak
Park 5 Hotel
Park 5 Hotel
#90 of 464 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Property: Hotel Kristal
Address: Jln. Tarogong Raya | Cilandak Barat, Jakarta 12430, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#39 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#54 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price range (per night): $83 - $175
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kristal 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kristal has a unique combination of hotel service and apartment accommodation, which offers 320 one, two and three bedroom suites and 8 penthouses (2 with private swimming pools). Each suite is equipped with IDD telephone, air conditioning, cable TV with 56 channels, kitchenette, refrigerator, water dispenser and standard guest amenities. We provide daily housekeeping service. For families with children, the little ones thrive in our special bedrooms with bunk beds and Cartoon Network on their own TV set. There is also a playground, tennis court and swimming pool for outdoor activities. Non-smoking floors are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing