We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two hotels in one - average to poor - stay somewhere else” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Jakarta Indonesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Ranked #16 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Two hotels in one - average to poor - stay somewhere else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Firstly, this is absolutely NOT a 5-star hotel as they claim. Maybe a 3 to 4 stars...depending on which tower you stay in (Pullman is 4, Executive is 3-).

Basically it's 2 different hotels joined by a lobby/bar/restaurant area on two floors - the Pullman Tower and the (so-called) Executive Tower. When booking demand the Pullman Tower, otherwise you might end up in the Executive Tower, which desperately needs renovation (promised to start mid 2012 - but don't bet on it).

Not a good experience right from the start (I arrived end March 2012). Check-in set a new record in slowness. The porter, after insisting on pulling my one small bag to my room, stood waiting with his hand out for a tip as soon as he put the bag in the middle of the floor (literally true). I hate that. Having come straight from the airport I didn't have a lot of small bills, so I gave him most of them. This is no exaggeration - he looked down at the notes as though I had put something nasty there and said "Too small," and stood waiting for more. It was probably about half a day's pay for him! So...bad start.

My first 2 nights I was in the Executive Tower, 'Executive Deluxe Room'. At first glance, after traveling for 24 hours it looked small, but OK - it was night time, I was tired. Next day I see reality.
Carpet is stained, generally dirty and absolutely needs replacing - disgraceful. The furniture is old, chipped and stained. Stuffy and smelling vaguely of animals, the room was dim and poorly ventilated, and the AC (even at a setting of 10C) barely stirred the air. The shower drain was almost blocked and took 2 hours to drain water away. Etc..etc..etc. Avoid this tower.
I moved to the Pullman Tower (also a Deluxe Room). This tower is older, but was renovated in 2011 and looks better, but still it's no more than 3.5-4 stars. Room is bigger and as you might expect, as a more modern look and feel. Carpet is a dirty grey colour - is it meant to look dirty, or is it actually just dirty?
One positive - the breakfast is quite good, as long as you get there before 10:00, otherwise they are closed.
The hotel seems to cater mainly for Asian visitors, and my colleagues and I definitely didn't feel welcome. Generally the staff are distant, not friendly, and not at all welcoming.
I've stayed at several hotels in the area. If you want a real 5-star, and professional (cool) efficiency go to the Grand Hyatt. If you want friendly, cheapish, and a bit down at heel try the Sari Pan Pacific. What the Pan Pacific lacks in modern, and good furniture it makes up for by being friendly and welcoming - just go and eat at the Hyatt if you want the best food in town (C's restaurant).
So - my advice, in summary - stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Absolutely ask to stay in the PULLMAN Tower. If offered the Executive Tower, go to another hotel. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobD1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMManager, Loyalty & Quality Manager at Pullman Jakarta Indonesia, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

The experience you convey in your comment causes us deep concern. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for any disappointment that it may have caused you during your stay. Our aim is to make the stay of our guests to be more comfortable and to have a lasting experience in our facilities and service and to ensure all staff are totally customer focused and handle all guest concerns and needs attentively.

I regard of the room we will review in right away and check for any maintenance required. We hope this unpleasant experience will not deter you from patronizing us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to Pullman Jakarta Indonesia.

Sincerely,

Bening Setara Bulan
Loyalty & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    542
    136
    40
    18
See reviews for
184
224
116
687
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a hotel that is right in the center of Jakarta and in Tharmin area-close to the Presidential Palace and other large hotels such as the Kempinski and Hyatt. Previously branded as the Nikko the hotel is very comfortable for the business traveler. Free WiFi and breakfast definitely helps. Try and take a non smoking room and stay away from the bar if you are a non smoker as folks in Jakarta generally are heavy smokers and no amount of air conditioning can keep you away from second hand smoke. The hotel serves a decent breakfast but the coffee shop closes early at around 1030 pm and the only option for a late night meal is room service or the bar (Oak Room) which also closes at 1 am. All in all for the price the hotel is a decent find. There is some amount of renovation that is on going at the property but hopefully not so intrusive.

Room Tip: Definitely non smoking rooms even if you are a smoker. Its worth making a trek outdoors to have your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMManager, Loyalty & Quality Manager at Pullman Jakarta Indonesia, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.
In regard to the coffee shop, we will evaluate its closing hour in effort to provide a better service in the future. Your concern about non smoking area will also be reviewed.

Thank you again and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Warm regards,

Bening Setara Bulan
Loyalty & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have stayed in this hotel at least a dozen times in the past 3 years (it used to be managed under the 'Nikko' brand until the end of 2011 - now it is under the 'Pullman' brand of Accor Hotels). It is one of the cheapest international hotels to stay in central Jakarta, and if you know which room to choose, your stay can be quite nice. Rooms that have been already renovated in the main tower of the hotel offer nice amenities with simple design and toned-down (brownish-grayish) color palette that can be relaxing after a long workday in busy Jakarta. The new tower is undergoing renovation right now, so rooms might be still of the old design, and that tower might be noisy too because of the ongoing work.
All in all, food (breakfast and room service) is good, and the pool is new and clean (although not as lush with vegetation and popular as the Grand Hyatt pool). The hotel should offer a good stay for a short business trip.

Room Tip: Main tower rooms are renovated. Street side can be a bit noisy - but the double windows keep most o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMManager, Loyalty & Quality Manager at Pullman Jakarta Indonesia, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We certainly appreciate all of your positive comment.

We would like to inform you that we will soon begin a refurbishment in order to provide additional upgrade services and facilities in the future. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again in Pullman Jakarta Indonesia.


Sincerely.

Bening Setara Bulan
Loyalty & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at pullman on january when it just changed their name from nikko. I booked the hotel as nikko bt when i get there its already pullman. Cause i stayed there a day after they changed their name the situation in the hotel is still hectic. In the room there r no information books, room service menu, notes and others cause they r not ready yet according to the staff. The staffs r nice and helpfull though. The room is ok but bed is small. Their king size is not regular 2 meter in length but only 1.8. Poor my hubby cause he is over 1.8 tall so he has to sleep sideways. The breakfast is very basic, not that good. The pool is nice and big just need more unshadow areas for tanning. The location is awesome, near couples big malls and the hotel provide shuttle for guest to go there so that was awesome..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atshaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMManager, Loyalty & Quality Manager at Pullman Jakarta Indonesia, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Pullman Jakarta Indonesia. I would like to apologize for the negative experience that you had with us during rebranding time. However, we are glad to learn that our strategic location is an advantage you could benefit from and our nice staff and pool has impressed you.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Bening Setara Bulan
Loyalty & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Wide lobby. Staff attentive but not really knowledgeable. Service slow in bars and around pool.
Room service only fair. Room small. Bed comfortable. Wide range of TV stations - some dubbed. Good security.

Second floor under major construction scheduled to be completed in April 2012. Business center not open 24hrs a day. Internet in rooms OK although signal dropped for no apparent reason.

Nice pool area although only about 18 sun beds. excellent well equipped gym

Room Tip: Hotel rooms overlooking main street are noisy. Ask for rooms on other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMManager, Loyalty & Quality Manager at Pullman Jakarta Indonesia, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your constructive comments and we have also taking good note of all the different fields to be improved.
It is pleasing to know that you had been impressed by our product and service that our team looked after you well.
We hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again in Pullman Jakarta Indonesia.

Regards,

Bening Setara Bulan
Loyalty & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Grogol Petamburan
Pullman Jakarta Central Park
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
#12 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Menteng
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
#10 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Jakarta Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Jakarta Indonesia

Property: Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Address: Jl. MH Thamrin 59, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Price range (per night): $119 - $272
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Jakarta Indonesia 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very center of Jakarta's business and leisure district. Pullman Jakarta Indonesia is within walking distance of Plaza Indonesia and Grand Indonesia shopping centers. This five star hotel offers 427 upscale business and leisure accomodationswith an elegant and warm athmosphere. We offer a wide variety of Asian, European and Japanese cuisine while specializing in meetings and corporate functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, ACCOR, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Pullman Jakarta Indonesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing