We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sanctuary!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Ranked #27 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The hotel is beautiful, the lobby is very impressive and all the staff from the moment you arrive are friendly and very helpful! We stayed in a Club Room, which was very well kept, not dated at all. The room was modern, clean and had a great view of the big roundabout. The Club Room also came with complementary breakfast, dinner and evening cocktails. The pool area is excellent, felt like a beautiful sanctuary in the middle of the city. Was very peaceful and relaxing to be around the pool. It is also very well kept (i saw them cleaning it daily). I also had a 60 minute massage which was very good value! The location next to the Plaza Indonesia and Grand Indonesia is very convenient. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TobyA321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 793 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

The Hyatt Hotel is situated next to a busy roundabout in the heart of Jakarta. Connected to Plaza Indonesia, one of the biggest shopping malls in the city; and a stone throw away from Grand Indonesia, another upscale mall, the hotel is perfect for holidaymakers with late night shopping on their minds. However, its accessibility to cafes and supermarkets in the mall makes it ideal for business travellers as well. Most of the shops are still opened at 9.30pm.

The room was comfortable and well equipped.

The staff were friendly and helpful. However, I noticed that some of the them (i.e. the front desk staff who answered by call regarding wifi access and the staff at the restaurant serving breakfast) has problems understanding my questions in English. It took some effort before I managed to get through to them. Nonetheless, they were very willing to help.

I would definitely recommend trying the massage services. A 60 min massage in the room costs around IDR 400,000 and the last appointment slot is at 11.30pm.

Overall, it was a great stay and I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Jakarta.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

my stay at the hotel was very short, arrived near midnight, and left next day noon. reception was very friendly, room was very clean and proper, was very pleased with it, bed very comfortable. breakfast in the lounge was sufficient, choice sufficient. I will certainly return, not because what I have written till now, but the personnel is extremely pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FM1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The location is good, directly connected to Plaza Indonesia (big shopping mall with also lots of restaurants).
Rooms were spacios and clean and bed comfortable but it gets loud. As connecting doors are def not sound proofed.
In general the hotel is a bit old and carpets on the floors are bit shabby, would need a renovation.
But the staff were very friendy and attentative. We had a company event there and everything went smoothly without any problems, even the food was ok (breakfast and lunch buffets).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viana_i, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Krissi55,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at Grand Hyatt Jakarta.

We were delighted to read that you felt the employees were friendly and attentive, and that the room was spacious, comfortable and clean.

We were however disappointed to hear that you found the rooms loud, and the carpets shabby and in need of replacement. I would like to share with you that since your stay in 2011, we have commenced a refurbishment project, which we hope to have completed by September 2012. The refurbishment will include major changes to the bathroom, as well as a change of all beds, carpets, and fabrics in the bedroom and corridors. We are confident that these changes will greatly improve the quality of the guest experience at the hotel.

Thank you again for your comments. We are very focused on creating only positive memorable experiences for our guests, and hope that you will return to try the refurbished rooms in the near future. Please contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.



Kind regards,


Fredrik Harfors
Executive Asst. Manager - Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Location is nice, directly and conveniently connected to Plaza Indonesia, one premium mall in Jakarta. Easy access to food in the mall, all kinds of food. Reception staff are poor. Long-serving senior staff, not the fastest, nicest and most helpful you can find in five-star hotels in Jakarta. Room is good, clean. Bed is comfortable. Bathroom is not as clean. Shower is bad, needs replacement. Hot water does not run constantly, sometimes it becomes very hot and other times it is okay. Water pressure problem typical of an old hotel. Breakfast is very good, but I don't eat a lot, so I cannot appreciate it as much. Overall, I wouldn't stay there unless the company event is there or in cases when I have no better choice because all others are fully occupied. By the way, in total, I stayed there more than a dozen nights, I believe.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertWibisono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viana_i, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Mr. Wibisono,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at Grand Hyatt Jakarta.

Whereas we were pleased to read that you enjoy the location of the hotel and the quality of the bedrooms, we were concerned to hear that you found the reception employees poor and the bathrooms in need of replacement.

I am pleased to inform you that we are currently working on a refurbishment of our guest rooms. The refurbishment will include major changes to the bathroom, as well as a change of all beds, carpets, and fabrics in the bedroom and corridors. We are confident that these changes will greatly improve the quality of the guest experience at the hotel, and will have concluded this project by September this year.

In regards to the long-serving employees at the reception, I think you will find that there have been significant changes made since your last visit, which is now more than one year ago.

Thank you again for your comments. Please contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.


Kind regards,

Fredrik Harfors
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#15 of 464 in Jakarta
1,532 reviews
Ascott Jakarta
#40 of 464 in Jakarta
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Address: Jl. M H Thamrin Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#26 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $224 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Indonesia, Grand Hyatt Jakarta is living up to its name. Strategically located in the Thamrin CBD and adjacent to Plaza Indonesia Shopping Centre and The Plaza Office Tower, the hotel provides excellent services and amenities to people from all around the world. Dine in the hotel's award-winning C's steak and Seafood Restaurant, pamper yourself in the Club Olympus Fitness & wellness Centre and swim in our 43-metre lagoon-shaped outdoor swimming pool. In keeping with the ever-changing needs and lifestyles of the present day global travellers, Fountain Lounge is about to embark on a complete renovation project on 15 April 2017 and is scheduled to open in the month of June 2017. To ensure your comfortable stay and convenience, we have adjusted the opening hours of burgundy and C’s Steak and Seafood restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Jakarta
Jakarta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing