We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serious renovation in progress” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Jakarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gran Melia Jakarta
Ranked #15 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Bahrain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Serious renovation in progress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Have stayed regularly at this well placed hotel for many years but a major renovation program means constant noise throughout the hotel from the executive rooms on floors 14-16 right down to the lobby area.
On the positive side, the staff are really efficient and friendly but I think I'll wait until the end of January 2012 when the work is scheduled to be completed.

Room Tip: Try and get a club room - lots of extras incl late check out option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    362
    65
    19
    11
See reviews for
130
96
48
629
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed at the hotel with my wife and son. It's only 5 minutes from Mega Kuningan (the major shopping and business center) and 15 minutes driving from Sudirman Boulevard.
Front desk officers were kind and helpful. The room was spacious and luxurious (mine was not standard room), even bathroom was superb. The hotel was neat and the decorations was good with warm ambience and it had a big lobby . There's a playground for my son and a big swimming pool (also with playground!!).
The breakfast was excellent and there're many kinds of food and drink (non-alcohol).
Finally I think this is the perfect hotel for your family to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ii B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel is under a full renovation, so you may expect to find some hotel areas not functional; however, the service is good, the staff is excellent and the rooms are bright and big, big.
There are several good restuarants and the prices are quite acceptable. They have a Japanese a Chinese and the International cafeteria called "Grand Via", as a matter of fact this main dining room is currently under renovation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roccox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Centrally located having all facilities. Staffs are gentle. Foods are very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baul_154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Gran melia and I are like old friends. Every now and then we meet each other and enjoy the moment everytime. I have dim sum at Tien Chao, enjoy ramen at Kirishima and fulfilling bf, lunch and dinner at the coffee shop. As a Jakarta citizen, I even stayed there once in a while in various occassions. Like rather old hotels, the room is spacious. However, it's so obvious that the old lady needs a facelift. Last stay in May, the coffee shop had a renovation and they showed me the mock up of a newly renovated bedroom. Looking good. The swimming pools are small but adequate for kids to enjoy the water splash. It may not be the best hotel in Jakarta, but it certainly my favorite. I'm looking forward to stay at one of the renovated rooms in near future. For all the above, 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane_Nasution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Jakarta

Property: Gran Melia Jakarta
Address: Jl. H.R. Rasuna Said Kav X-0 - Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#11 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Family Hotel in Jakarta
Price range (per night): $122 - $266
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in the prestigious financial and diplomatic district in the heart of Jakarta, a few minutes from the highway and 30 km from the Soekarno-Hatta international airport. Just 10 minutes from the commercial district, 15 minutes from the National Museum and Presidential Palace and 20 minutes from the nearest golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Gran Melia Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Sol Melia Jakarta
Jakarta Gran Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing