We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't deserve to be 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Media Hotel And Towers
Ranked #187 of 462 Hotels in Jakarta
Kupang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Doesn't deserve to be 5 star”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Do not expect the usual 5 star Sheraton standard! This hotel is old and desperately needs renovation. Got assigned to SPG Floor, with breakfast and late-checkout, still didn't meet our expectation. If you want a Sheraton experience, you won't get it here. You still get Sheraton amenities, from stationary to bathroom products, even the bed. But the room is just too old and doesn't seem to be properly maintained. I notice stains on the bedsheets! Well, take the Sheraton name out, then this this hotel is OK. Its conveniently close to ITC Mangga Dua and the price is quite good value for money. You get what you pay for, just don't expect a Sheraton stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lindy196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton-Media-Hotel, Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Lindy,

My Name is Algamar Idris, Executive Assistant Manager of Sheraton Media Hotel & Towers Jakarta.

Thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood Preferred Guest Program and for writing a review about your stay.

It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you. We truly value your constructive comments, as we believe that they would help us to continually monitor and upgrade the quality of our service standard.

I personally look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity of better serve you.

Best Regards,

Algamar Idris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    98
    89
    36
    29
See reviews for
56
38
23
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
326 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 814 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Sheraton Media is an older Sheraton property, close to the large and inexpensive Mangga Dua shopping mall complex in north Jakarta.

I am a Sheraton SPG member and I found it convenient to stay when I had a mid morning departure from Jakarta airport, and wanted to stay in Jakarta itself (as the airport is some distance from the city), but wanted to be near the airport freeway and not have to fight morning traffic congestion.

The Sheraton hotel is clean and tidy but definitely in need of an upgrade and refurbishment. I imagine it is not considered a priority by Sheraton, as the hotel is not in the prestigious Golden Triangle area of Jakarta, and possibly appeals more to Indonesian business travellers than to international guests. I stayed twice in October/November and both times the hotel was hosting local business conferences.
There is a Chinese restaurant in the lobby, and a Thai restaurant, and in international buffet restaurant on the pool floor. Occassionally they also offer poolside BBQ. I ate in the Thai restaurant where they offered a very inexpensive "all you can eat" buffet from a reduced menu. The meal was very nice. (This may have been a specific promotion). The pool area is on a balcony and is also nicely landscaped.

I was upgraded to a suite on the executive floor, and found the lounge to be comfortable and the breakfast small but attentive. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were spacious, clean and tidy although the decor was a bit dated.

If you are on business but have family it is worth noting that Sheraton Media is also very close to Ancol Dreamland (Taman Impian Jaya Ancol) - Jakarta's largest and most popular recreation area including Seaworld aquariums, Fantasy world themepark, swimming beaches and Atlantis water park, golf course, etc.
Novotel Mangga Dua and Ibis Mangga Dua are other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton-Media-Hotel, Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear Sir,

My Name is Algamar Idris, Executive Assistant Manager of Sheraton Media Hotel & Towers Jakarta.

Thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood Preferred Guest Program and for writing a review about your stay.

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

For your information, some of our guest rooms have been renovated and those rooms have new look and much better facilities now. Please let me know when you plan to visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity of better serve you.

Best Regards,

Algamar Idris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Very strange experience in this hotel, i booked for two nights in the hotel via latestays.com, when i get there, could only stay one night.....hmmm........OK. Next morning for check out, they charge me two nights, then gave me money back, took the money from me again, gave me different amount back, three invoices, 4 different amounts, 5 different staff.......and asking me why i cut my stay short......because you told me to !!!!!

Disaster, took me hour to check out, missed my important meeting and left very very unhappy !!

Hardware is OK of course,, but boy bad software !!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Patrickfromhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton-Media-Hotel, Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Mr. Patrick

My Name is Algamar Idris, Executive Assistant Manager of Sheraton Media Hotel & Towers Jakarta

Thank You for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel. Rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Management Staff to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future.

Mr. Patrick, we truly value your constructive comments, as we believe that they would help us to continually monitor and upgrade the quality of our service including the service standard of our staff, especially during check-in and check-out process as well as confirming details of reservations. Once again, please accept our sincere apologize for the unpleasant experience.

I personally look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity of better serve you.

Best Regards,

Algamar Idris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I just checked in and am unable to believe that this is a Sheraton. I hope the next two days here will help me change my very disappointing first impression. I still can't believe this.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Aby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton-Media-Hotel, Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Aby,

My Name is Algamar Idris, Executive Assistant Manager of Sheraton Media Hotel & Towers Jakarta

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement, but unfortunately your feedback did not provide our hotel with details information that we can review to improve on for the future.

Aby, we truly value your constructive comments, as we believe that they would help us to continually monitor and upgrade the quality of our service including the service standard of our staff.

I personally look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity of better serve you.

Best Regards,

Algamar Idris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Basically it's an old structure Hotel, trying to offer their customers as per latest requirement. Rooms are fitted with old fittings. No wi-fi facility. Location is prime BUT area is traffic congested.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amrutva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton-Media-Hotel, Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with the Sheraton Media Hotel & Towers during your recent visit to Jakarta.

I have read your comments and I would like to inform you that some of our guest rooms have just been renovated and those rooms have new look and much better facilities now.

With regard to internet, unfortunately this facility currently is provided free of charge limited only for our SPG Platinum member guests, Towers and Suites. We are truly sorry that we are unable to fulfill your request for free internet during your last stay. However the wi-fi service in the public area, restaurant and bars are free 24 hours, you can easily asked for free internet voucher for free. We apologize for not having this informed to you earlier.

I personally look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity of better serve you.


Best regards,

Algamar Idris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Gambir
Redtop Hotel Jakarta
Redtop Hotel Jakarta
#149 of 462 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Sawah Besar
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
#85 of 462 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Boutique Hotel Angkasa
#258 of 462 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Pademangan
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
Sawah Besar
Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Media Hotel And Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Media Hotel And Towers

Property: The Media Hotel And Towers
Address: Jl. Gunung Sahari Raya 3, Jakarta 10720, Indonesia (Formerly Sheraton Media Hotel And Towers)
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#96 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price range (per night): $50 - $118
Hotel Class:4 star — The Media Hotel And Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Media Hotel & Towers is one of the major recognized international branded hotels in the North Jakarta area accommodating a mix of domestic and international business coming to Jakarta. Strategically located to the Mangga Dua World Trade Center (the largest retail shop in Southeast Asia), the hotel provides delegates easy access to the Jakarta International Expos (the largest exhibition hall in Indonesia) and direct access to International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your The Media Hotel And Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Media Hotel
Sheraton Jakarta
Jakarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing