We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rather new hotel with more than average clean friendly comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence
Ranked #131 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I would rate this hotel as a more than average comfort hotel. Although they are rated 4 star, I was quite surprised they do not have any sleeping bath tub but shower. I was initially given a room on the 33rd floor with a very nice view. Unfortunely, the afternoon sun beat the heat directly through the room glass windows and the air conditioner was not doing a good job. It failed to keep the room cool down after some time even after it was switched on and serviced by maintenance.

My complaint to the reception was attended to and was immediately offered another higher grade room - a super size deluxe room with two double sized beds on the 31st floor with a better and coolfer air conditioner. This room has a more perfect view of the city from above and certainly is bigger in size compared to my former room. However, the shower jet in this room is not quite as powerful.

Overall, it is a better room with a bigger area and more luxuriously furnished. The beds are very comfortable and they are certainly ery good for a better sleep.

Room Tip: The super deluxe rooms looks better although they might be costlier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wjchew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 167 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Chose this Hotel for last night in Jakarta as it is closer to airport for morning getaway. 30-35 minutes in optimum traffic conditions. At 33-stories, the BW is the tallest thing around with nice, clear views of everything. Stay was in special deluxe room on 28th floor. Room had about 5 linear meters of floor to ceiling widows with two balconies. Extra space in this room (vs standard room) had a sitting area and was sandwiched around the internal structural support column. Small, cramped bath. Very good, fast cable internet, many channels on TV, and comfortable bed. Quite a bit of noise from traffic in all rooms at this hotel, owing to really poor quality windows, although the sound was somewhat mitigated by an excellent air conditioner. Restaurant food was good, for breakfast and from menu. Doormen steer you to their taxis, unwilling to call you a bluebird, but plenty pass by. Free hourly shuttle to Mangga Dua Mall, but a taxi costs only a dollar. Walking from Hotel to principal avenue and you will see small, old canals and people living right on them. An eye-opener. Overall, a solid choice if you're not looking for something special in Mangga area and you could certainly do worse than the BW. Big busses in front of Hotel, looks like they do a good tour business. Elevators sometimes slow in this tall building. Didn't get to see pool or gym.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Being new to this property, it became a last minute decision on my part as the rest of the group members had already decided on the place. It was early December 2011, right in the middle of the rainy spell which resulted in sporadic floodings aroung mangga dua and besar. Location wise, not the perfect choice, but again, talking about jakarta, one has to be specific and focus as to the geographical considerations of the city. The plus points however are the spacious rooms and excellent service provided. Attended an absolutely fantastic wedding reception at kemayoran. May consider this property again....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Budiman_6600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I picked the BW Mangga Dua hotel as the base for my four-day visit to Jakarta because it is not too far from the old town (Batavia), which is the only thing I really wanted to see in Jakarta. Also, it was priced competitively in comparison with similar four-star hotels in the area.

The hotel has an airport pick-up service that cost only IDR 250,000 (about 20 euros). I took advantage of this and it worked perfectly. Very convenient.

The hotel has a suitably impressive reception area. The hotel rooms are found on floors 27 to 33 of a high rise. So each room has a great view of the city of Jakarta.

Right from the get-go I found the Indonesian staff to be incredibly friendly and polite.

I had a deluxe room. I was bowled over with how large and nice it was. Good beds. Nice large bathroom. Suitable bathroom goodies. Proper TV with a sufficient (but not huge) number of English TV stations. Free water. Coffee maker. Fridge. Safe.

My first room was connected by a door to a noisy family and also had a problem with wind whistling through the balcony door. Switching rooms was no problem.

Waiting for lifts is an issue at this hotel.

The breakfast buffet was fairly decent, although not as luxurious as I’ve seen at some other hotels. They had an egg station, various dishes (western and Asian), fresh fruit, coffee, etc. There were a lot of kids in the breakfast room. I was here during the holiday season so perhaps that’s why there were quite a few local families. I saw only a handful of westerners while staying at this hotel.

The pool is big enough to do laps (about 30 metres long). However, when I was there during the holiday season the pool was very popular, perhaps being the only place kids could hang out. The only time I could get my laps in was round 6 to 7 AM. The gym has four or five machines, enough to do a light maintenance workout but not enough for a proper workout. No bench press or smith machine. There is a more substantial gym at the Novotel at Mangga Dua Square. Indeed, if working out is important to you, I advise you to consider staying there because of their facilities (however it is more expensive).

“Mangga Dua” means “Two Mangos”, the name of the area in which this hotel is located. The hotel compound is located on a side street in this area without anything really connecting to it. As soon as you leave this huge expensive hotel, you’re dealing with the nitty-gritty of the streets of Jakarta. You will immediately come face to face with Jakarta’s poverty and pollution. I had never been to Indonesia (not even Bali) so I was a little unprepared for this.

The hotel is on a side street, but once you get on the main road you’re in the middle of intense traffic. This was the worse traffic I’ve ever seen. Many of Jakarta’s streets lack the pedestrian facilities to make walking easy (or even possible at times). Many of the streets don’t have sidewalks at all. Those that do often have sidewalks that are too narrow and crumbling. If you go on holiday to get away from the stress of traffic, don’t even think of coming to Indonesia.

Fortunately the hotel has a free shuttle bus going to several malls in the area, particularly Mangga Dua Square. It’s not far, but even this short trip is a traffic nightmare. I was told this was the best mall in the area. However, this was not the shiny upscale mall I had seen in Singapore and was sort of expecting here. It had stands and stalls rather than shops. There were a few restaurants there though. Is this really one of Jakarta’s best malls?

I started my visit to Batavia by taking a cab from the hotel to Kota Station. I have a psychological block about paying for taxis, but there is no other way to do it in Jakarta. When we got to Kota, the cab charged me an IDR 30,000 minimum, even though the meter said less than that. This was only something like EUR 2.50. To avoid misunderstanding, if you’re planning to take a short taxi ride, be sure to ask about a minimum charge.

The traffic around Kota station in Jakarta is horrendous and the whole area is desperate and run down, but from here you can start on your walking tour of old Batavia. Sadly, there’s not much left of it. What is left is quite run down and even in ruins. There are still a few interesting things to see though and you can do it all on foot (if you’re very careful and willing to see some of Jakarta’s desperate corners). Make sure to have lunch at the Café Batavia on Fatahillah Square. I went all the way to the port, but the pollution there was dreadful. I’ve never seen a more polluted city in my life.

You might think of staying at the Novotel Mangga Dua if you’re going to stay in this area because it has better fitness facilities and is directly attached to the Mangga Dua Square; however, if you’re on a budget, you couldn’t get more value for your money than by staying at this nice hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Nice clean but small room in high rise tower hotel. Free Internet access offered in room with cable. The malls are at walking distance, even if staff only offers car rides. Location is in the middle of small road maze. Airport transportation available by hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
#105 of 464 in Jakarta
287 reviews
Sawah Besar
Hotel Zuri Express Mangga Dua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pademangan
Hotel Neo Mangga Dua Square
Hotel Neo Mangga Dua Square
#178 of 464 in Jakarta
347 reviews
Pademangan
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
Sawah Besar
Ibis Jakarta Mangga Dua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence

Address: Jl. Mangga Dua Abad no. 111, Jakarta 10730, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: $53 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 Metres from shopping centre ITC Mangga Dua, Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence features modern air-conditioned rooms. It also has an outdoor pool, a 24-hour front desk and a free shuttle service to popular shopping areas. Rooms at the Mangga Dua Best Western offer cable TV, a fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. A personal safe is included. The en suite bathroom comes with a hairdryer. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi at the lobby. The Best Western Hotel and Residence provides a concierge, baby-sitting services and car rentals. International dishes are served at Batavia Coffee Shop, while snacks and beverages can be enjoyed at the Bar-Lounge. Room service is available 24 hours. Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence is less than 5 minutes' drive from amusement parks Sea World and Dunia Fantasy. Soekarno Hatta International Airport is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing