We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
3
12
9
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
12
9
4
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2014

I have spend four weekends on the island and it will always have a special place in my heart. It's a tropical paradise, very peaceful and undeveloped. And the staff living on the island are so welcoming and friendly. However, the last time I went there (around July 2014) I too was really disappointed by how run down the place has become. There has been no re-investment to repair the pier and other storm damage and the rooms are in desperate need of a make-over, the bed linen was really dirty. There were far fewer monitor lizards than the first time I went 3 years ago and for me they are one of the main highlights of the island! Please invest a little to get this island back to its former glory, but don't change the peaceful natural beauty. Good luck!

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank angela187870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2014 via mobile

This was my 5th visit to Alam Kotok, and it will be my last. There seems to have been no maintenace spent on this resort in a very long time, its become run down, dirty, and many rooms unfit for use. This is a 1 star resort at best. Even though they charged a 30% cancellation fee, i still elected to leave the island and come back same day as i refused to stay in such a dirty place.

The beds are stained, the bathrooms filthy, and the hot water heaters dont work. Thes staff dont seem to care, and dont offer any solutions to fix. Paying in advance makes you powerless to argue too.

Absolutely beware.. If you go here, make sure your expectations are very very low. Far nicer resorts available in pulau seribu for same price as alam kotok, choose them.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
6  Thank NeilC2853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014

The accommodation and facilities are a bit tired, but the basics are there. We stayed in rooms near the treehouse. We slept well, enjoying the ocean view as we woke up. Initially the shower didn't work, but we understand it did work after they turned the water pump on for us. We decided to use the Indonesian way to shower, with the bucket and small bucket. It was quite refreshing pouring cold water over the body. There was no hot water (but we didn't need it anyway).
Food was included in our weekend package and it was good. The usual Indonesian buffet. We enjoyed BBQ fish for dinner, omelette for breakfast and there were other options for lunches on both days. There is a bar where you can buy drinks, which wasn't expensive. The most enjoyable drink was the freshly made orange juice from Indonesian fruit - resembling a slushy.
We went there for diving and snorkeling with Pak Lucas and had a great time.

Room tip: The rooms near the treehouse are quiet, have beach and water views and a good place to enjoy the sunset. It is a medium walk from the restaurant and bar - bring a torch for the areas where there are no lights. Another tip - Bring additional snacks, especially if travelling with young kids. Meals were included but no snacks. Another tip - bring mosquito coils for your room and bug spray. This is not provided. Another tip - bring beach towels as only bath towels are provided Another tip - bring shoes/booties for use in the water due to sting rays and stone fish Enjoy you time
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014

We booked a day trip via the resort website to Kotok Island. Left from Ancol Marina in the morning and arrived at Kotok Island soon after. The island is BEAUTIFUL - absolutely amazing and peaceful. It is a smaller island and less touristy than the other islands in Pulau Seribu but that is what we wanted. The island and resort strives for a rustic simplicity atmosphere and that is what you get. Walking on the paths throughout the island makes you feel like you are in a tropical Lost World and on that day we had the island all to ourselves. We did not stay in the rooms, so I cannot comment on that, but if you are looking for a nice day trip outside of the hustle and bustle of Jakarta - this is it. The day trip includes lunch and it was so good. They give you a ton of food - so don't worry about going hungry. We spent the rest of our trip relaxing on the beach - it was perfect for us. Thank you again!!

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Over priced and over rated. There was some extreme deferred maintence. The island is beautiful and the manager was an absolute gem. We wanted to go back , in spite of the horrible state the property was in, but when we found out that our delightful manager was no longer there, we will never go back. You had a good thing and with the promise of renovations which was not followed through on and the manager gone........ NEVER again

Room tip: The rooms are terrible
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saskiavo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews