We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming stay”
Review of House Of Shambhala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
House Of Shambhala
Ranked #2 of 366 Hotels in Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

The facilities and the people makes your stay very pleasant.

The hotel has no elevators but people helps you, so it not an issue.

Very well located and with a fantastic terrace on the top of the hotel to relax after a day of visiting temples or trekking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josepF601XU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in House of Shambala for 4 days. It is good value for the price you pay. Try to get the big room on the second floor as it is very spacious. The location couldn't be better as it is very close to the old town. just 5 min away. The food at their restaurant is one of the best you will find! Don't forget to try their Momo dumplings. The roof terrace is a plus. From there you can see the Potala palace. The staff is very friendly and will try to attend your requests the best they can. We encountered a couple little problems and that's why I didn't give them a 5 stars rating. The shower doesn't work well during the day so if you try to shower between 12-4pm the water is not hot enough, not sure why. One day the power went off in the morning and didn't come back until 8 pm. Everything works with electricity including the water (pump) so we couldn't use bathroom at all until fixed. I think they should have a generator for those situations. otherwise, a great little hotel . If coming to Lhasa this is definitely the place to stay!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the heart of Lhasa in the middle of the little streets of vendors and insense - close to sights as well.
Staff speaks English, is very kind and accomodating. The rooms are clean and decorated in a tradional tibetian style.
The restaurant and the roof top with view of Potala Palace can be recommended as well!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Da N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Location: The location is excellent: it is located in the old city and you have everything at your fingertips. Moreover, the distance from the main road (where you step-off from the shuttle) is short enough (5 minutes walking).

Looks: It has a very traditional style, which we really loved. If you like feeling the local culture then this place is a must!

Comfort: The room was quite comfortable and it seemed to have been relatively recently renovated.

Personnel: The personnel of the hotel was very polite and professional and they seem to be genuinely interested to improve their business.

Wifi: The wifi (free) was spotty at some times, but the overall connection quality was quite decent.

Breakfast: You eat at the restaurant of the place. The breakfast includes traditional products such as butter tea and tsampa.

Assessment: This place is an excellent value for its money. We strongly recommend it.

Evans & Sissy

Room Tip: Higher floors are initially a pain due to the higher altitude, but after a while you will acclimatiz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Evans1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We stayed at hotel around the corner from Shambala, but came over many times for a meal. Food and hospitality was top notch. A favorite from my trip to Tibet. I wish I knew there rooms, it has to be a great place to stay as well.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank gcap_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.3 km away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 366 in Lhasa
114 reviews
5.3 km away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
0.4 km away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 366 in Lhasa
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
0.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
5.9 km away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#12 of 366 in Lhasa
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Of Shambhala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Of Shambhala

Address: No.7 Jiri erxiang, Lhasa 850000, China
Region: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lhasa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range: $47 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — House Of Shambhala 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shambhala Palace is a restored home of a high ranking Tibetan Lama. All of our rooms provide guests with the utmost comfort while surrounded by Tibetan history and tradition. Our rooftop restaurant together with four of our king rooms offer full on views of Potala Palace with other rooms looking out over the quiet alleyways of the ancient quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your House Of Shambhala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Shambhala Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing