We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tibet at it's best”
Review of House Of Shambhala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
House Of Shambhala
Ranked #2 of 362 Hotels in Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the heart of Lhasa in the middle of the little streets of vendors and insense - close to sights as well.
Staff speaks English, is very kind and accomodating. The rooms are clean and decorated in a tradional tibetian style.
The restaurant and the roof top with view of Potala Palace can be recommended as well!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Da N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for House Of Shambhala
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017

Location: The location is excellent: it is located in the old city and you have everything at your fingertips. Moreover, the distance from the main road (where you step-off from the shuttle) is short enough (5 minutes walking).

Looks: It has a very traditional style, which we really loved. If you like feeling the local culture then this place is a must!

Comfort: The room was quite comfortable and it seemed to have been relatively recently renovated.

Personnel: The personnel of the hotel was very polite and professional and they seem to be genuinely interested to improve their business.

Wifi: The wifi (free) was spotty at some times, but the overall connection quality was quite decent.

Breakfast: You eat at the restaurant of the place. The breakfast includes traditional products such as butter tea and tsampa.

Assessment: This place is an excellent value for its money. We strongly recommend it.

Evans & Sissy

Room Tip: Higher floors are initially a pain due to the higher altitude, but after a while you will acclimatiz...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Evans1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We stayed at hotel around the corner from Shambala, but came over many times for a meal. Food and hospitality was top notch. A favorite from my trip to Tibet. I wish I knew there rooms, it has to be a great place to stay as well.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank gcap_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We were initially staying in Shambhala Palace when we went to Lhasa, Tibet just 2 weeks ago. Shambhala Palace was also great but the problem is there is an ongoing construction beside it and the workers are working till 3 am! We were annoyed and even the hotel manager went up to them and requested them to stop working. But they continued. We decided not to come back in that hotel after Everest but the manager offered to transfer us to House of Shambhala. It is also very beautiful, authentic Tibetan rooms and design. Very clean. There were some issues on the bathroom drainage but they fixed it asap. The staff on both branches are so nice and helpful. We got lost going back to the hotel one late night and we asked the taxi driver to call the hotel. One of the staffs picked us up where the taxi driver left us - so helpful of them . I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting in Tibet .

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie Lampel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

I am a trip advisor in based in Lhasa, Tibet. Many of our travelers love to stay in this hotel and I was wondered why the travelers go there. Finally I decided to go there and found out that, it has the best location, best services and also the food is excellent there. They rooms are designed with such a way that you will fall in love to stay an over night there. It is the best local Tibetan owned hotel in Lhasa.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExploreTibetKalsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.3 km away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 362 in Lhasa
113 reviews
3.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
0.4 km away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 362 in Lhasa
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
0.6 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
5.9 km away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#30 of 362 in Lhasa
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Of Shambhala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Of Shambhala

Address: No.7 Jiri erxiang, Lhasa 850000, China
Region: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lhasa
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range: $92 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — House Of Shambhala 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shambhala Palace is a restored home of a high ranking Tibetan Lama. All of our rooms provide guests with the utmost comfort while surrounded by Tibetan history and tradition. Our rooftop restaurant together with four of our king rooms offer full on views of Potala Palace with other rooms looking out over the quiet alleyways of the ancient quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your House Of Shambhala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Shambhala Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing