We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Pay your respects

Very east to get to, MTR then a bus. The bus will drop you off at the war cemetery. My wifes... read more

Reviewed 3 February 2018
Mattsleeps
,
Singapore, Singapore
Lest we forget

We took the most and caught a bus up the steep hill (no English spoken by driver so look out on the... read more

Reviewed 22 January 2018
Sharon C
,
Isle of Barra, United Kingdom
Read all 18 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Hong Kong
from USD 19.00
More Info
from USD 82.60
More Info
from USD 36.30
More Info
from USD 62.21
More Info
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
12
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chai wan exit c up hill driver taxi stanley mtr station
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Very east to get to, MTR then a bus. The bus will drop you off at the war cemetery. My wifes grandfather is remembered here. When leaving, you need to walk to the top of the hill to get a bus and its all up hill, right to the top.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Mattsleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We took the most and caught a bus up the steep hill (no English spoken by driver so look out on the right up the hill for the cemetery) We were visiting to pay our respects to my Grandad's wee brother. No other family member had ever been to Hong Kong, so very emotional to see his name. It is beautifully maintained and very peaceful. A long way from his home in Birmingham England. Never forgotten.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Take the Island line out to Chai Wan station. Taxi stand outside. We had an issue with the taxi drivers not having any idea as to where we wanted to go, and they didn't speak enough English to understand. Print off the address, location, name, google maps all in Chinese! Finally we had someone help us, and we made it up the hill, cost was maybe 28HKD, cheap.
I wouldn't recommend walking up to it, it's a good uphill hike.
Coming down was easy, and it was maybe 15 minutes back to the Metro station.
This is a lovely place, well laid out, well cared for, and a necessary place for everyone to visit.
I've visited the CWGC in Belgium, France and Gallipoli, this one is obviously along the same lines.
If you had family in the war, if you love history, if you are military, if you care about the sacrifice of these young men, (and one woman that I could see), please visit and pay your respects.
HK isn't just about shopping and money.

Date of experience: March 2017
3  Thank KW M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Burial Ground for the Canadian and other Allied Force who fall down defense Hong Kong during Second World War.

Lovely view of the harbor, peaceful and beautiful spot.

One of Hong Kong best kept secrets!!

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Well worth the visit to remember the sacrifices made by Canadian (and other Allied) troops in defense of Hong Kong. It's really quite easy to get there. Just take the MTR Island Line to its eastern terminus at Chai Wan. Beneath the station are bus bays but walk a little towards to mountain and there's a taxi rank. It only cost me HK$22 (C$4) to get to the war memorial which is up a very steep hill. Take a photo of the Chinese translation of Sai Wan War Memorial from Google Maps and show that to the taxi driver. Returning, it's maybe a 15 minute walk down-hill back to the MTR station. If you do walk down, stay alert as vehicles speed up the hill and the sidewalk is narrow or non-existent. Hailing a cab back is difficult because the road past the memorial is one way.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank mikebeeonthekop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews