We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for stopping overnight in HK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Ranked #54 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great for stopping overnight in HK”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I needed a hotel for an overnight stop in HK. This is one of the three closest hotels to the HK airport. I search for review in Tripadvisor and decided on the Novotel.

The hotel is located:
[1] within 15 min of the airport and it provides free shuttle to and from the airport
[2] inside a large shopping outlet eg Nike, Polo, Coach, Max Mara, Puma
[3] a nearby MTR station to Disneyland and the Hong Kong Island
it is also well amintained, and clean

Highly recommended for a stop over stay in HK.

Room Tip: ask for high floor and non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank europetrrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,968
    1,533
    360
    64
    40
See reviews for
1,145
1,125
509
833
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is our first time stay at the Novotel Citygate,overall the hotel is good although the room was small and our bed not comfartable..but the staff very helpfull and friendly..and they have a compimentary shuttle bus airport-hotel.
The hotel also connecting with Citygate Outlet which have much branded shop with fair price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarlinaIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

we had to stay here for one night after BAA closed Heathrow to our Air NZ flight from Auckland. We had a horrific check in with very poor information and customer service but there were about 150 people who had arrived at around 7am so they can be forgiven. The restaurant area gets very busy but the food is fantastic, with masses of choice and very clean and well presented. The pool area was very attractive but was closed when we were there.

The room was well equipped and exceptionally clean with a great view of the mountain.

Only downside was that it was in the middle of nowhere, unless you like shopping, which I don't! However, it's very convenient for the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnimalAntics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Had to stay one night to catch my flight the next day.
Pros:
Convenient location if airport accessibility is important. Hotel ambiance is okay, clean and the staff pleasant. Check in was pleasant and the checkout was the fastest I have ever experienced. They also allowed 1-hour late checkout, at no charge, to accommodate my schedule. Very pleased with that.

Cons:
The room is small, but that's expected in HK. However it was not 4-star at all. The furniture etc could seriously use an upgrade. There were visible signs of wear. Also opening and closing the cabinet next to the minibar was an upper-body workout. The light switch for the bathroom was broken; had to sleep with the bathroom light on.
In this day and age having to pay for WIFI, specially at this price point and at such a location is a shame. The breakfast buffet was satisfactory at best and overpriced IMO. TV channel selection was also poor.

Personal gripe: Did not get the room I booked; instead got one with twin beds. I was disappointed but didn't care much since it was only one night.

Although I only stayed one night, there are enough negatives for me to NOT recommend this hotel given the price point. To be fair, the hotel didn't get a chance to redeem itself. Only book if airport accessibility is a must and you can't find anything else nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#103 of 718 in Hong Kong
4,581 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#28 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,839 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Property: Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $172 - $320
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing