We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude indifferent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Ranked #146 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rude indifferent staff”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I travel to Hong Kong a lot as I have family living there and most recently went there this Christmas. I do not recommend this hotel to anybody who understands what good service is like.

The front desk is completely indifferent to your requests (and makes fun of in Cantonese if you look like an English speaker). The cleaning staff wanders in regardless of whether your room cleaning light is on.

The rooms are nice though and you get a bigger room than expected for the price, however, I would prefer courteous staff over a couple extra sqft.

Room Tip: get city/harbour view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rebecca l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    348
    172
    26
    19
See reviews for
142
165
65
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Took a 4 night stay in L'hotel in Januray 2012. The positives are that it is reasonably priced for Hong Kong Island and conveniently situated close to Tin Hau MTR and the main tram line so that getting around is very simple.

The hotel itself is good enough, the room was comfortable and clean but functional rather than special. The bathroom well stocked with toiletries and the housekeeping servive quick and efficient. Internet was available in the rooms but at a price which I personally find quite annoying. I needed to get some documents printed and scanned during my stay and although there was no business service the front desk staff were happy and able to assist.

There was no breakfast included in my rate and my advice for others in this situation would be to eat outside. For a Westerner the choice and ambience was uninspiring possibly because it was quite cold at the time of year.

The service was adequate but the experience was of being a customer rather than a welcome guest. Overall, it was value for money but a place to stay at not to linger in.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geoffhoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We've just returned from spending 2 weeks at the hotel. I booked a room via a discount website, but as a birthday surprise for my wife, I contacted the hotel direct asking about an upgrade to an Excecutive Harbour View Room (which we had stayed in on a previous visit). I was quoted a reasonable price & confirmed the upgrade. When we arrived, the hotel upgraded us to the best room in the hotel, the Executive Harbour View Suite on the top floor, at no extra cost. The room was great, separate sitting room & bedroom, with fabulous views over Causeway Bay, Victoria Park, towards Wanchai & Central, Victoria Harbour & Kowloon on the mainland. The open plan bathroom was a hoot, with separate open bath & spacious shower cubicle. There was even a separate guest toilet in the room foyer. We spent a lot of time during our stay enjoying the views. The room was serviced daily in an exemplary manner, well cleaned & requisites replenished. With the Don't Disturb light on, the maid did not bother us at any point. When we left the room, often as late as noon, we turned on the Make Up Room light, & this had always been done before we returned. All the staff we came across were very well trained, polite & efficient. We didn't use the restaurant at any point, but we used the basement bar (not open on Sundays) a couple of times, where the service was perfect. The 2 for 1 Happy "Hour" is excellent value, particularly for gin martini cocktails, which were very good. The hotel claims to be 4 star, but we would rate it as very good 3 star. The hotel location is great, the MTR is literally across the road & bus & tram stops are conveniently nearby. It's only a short walk, though the park is nice, to Causeway Bay & Wanchai.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view room, it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spentbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

It was my third stay at this hotel and the quality and service has been very consistent. Just like my last stay they did not take my requests of a particular type of room into consideration and I had to argue to get my way. Last time they put us in a smoking room (awful smell) and this time they gave a king bed where 2 friends wanted to have 2 singles. Both times after being persistent we got the room we wanted (so they were available in the first place!?).

The rooms are a bit on the small side but all the necessary amenities are provided and the rooms are clean. Towels smell a bit like bleach but nothing major.

The location is what I like best about this hotel - Its right across from Tin Hau station and just a few stops from all the action. You can also walk to Causeway Bay in about 10 minutes, through Victoria Park. Cabs to central station/HK station are about 50 HK Dollars (5-6 USD).

All-in-all a good hotel if you are planning to spend most of your time outside and dont want to splurge on the hotel. If you are ok to pay a bit more or if it is your first time in HK probably better to get something around Central / Soho.

Room Tip: 37th floor has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warlicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

A chic hotel,nice location.Though a little bit run down,but still well-maintained.Toiletries are good.But I have to say that the male staff in the front desk was not polite at all.The female staff seems more patient,but not the male one.I stayed there during the Aug summer time.The rest is pretty good.I am not sure if it because I am asian.If I am a caucasian,they could treat me in a different way.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tingweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#121 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#65 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#105 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#109 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View

Property: L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Address: 18 King's Road | Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tin Hau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $123 - $263
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace the serenity of L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View where guests can enjoy the wonderful harbor view at amazingly good prices. The 40-storey building in the Causeway Bay district has 275 spaciously appointed guestrooms including 25 generous sized suites to help guests unwind. Every room is designed to show off Hong Kong's natural wonders and come with a glorious view of the Fragrant Harbour or of the lush green mountains of Braemar Hill. Inside, designers have created a space to soothe the soul and temper the spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing