We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointed....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Ranked #49 of 715 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I read the reviews on here and was expecting better, to be honest. My disappointment might be partly because we stayed in the Four Seasons (HK) just prior, and to compare them is only natural! The room was satisfactory, but I expected more of a Disney feel for the kids. The room looked a bit dated, and there was no wow factor for the kids.
The staff were nice, and certainly very friendly to the kids. The playroom was a nice idea, but I thought it could have done with more toys/activities.
The pool area was fantastic, our daughters spent a couple of hours on the slide, and the pool staff were extremely attentive and very vigilant. I was impressed by their attention to our children's safety, although of course we were supervising them the whole time too.
The character breakfast was worthwhile, but the food was only so-so. The characters were brilliant though, and spent plenty of time at each table, and made all the children feel special. A must!
The park is only a short walk away, so that's a huge plus.
The meals at the hotel were ok, but very expensive. We paid $10AUD for a bottle of water with dinner! My tip would be to feed kids dinner at the park, rather than eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    587
    170
    39
    20
See reviews for
1,184
161
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We don't think a Hong Kong Disneyland experience would be the same if you didn't stay at the beautiful Disneyland Hotel. From the lovely staff, beautiful room, lovely food to the gardens and view, this is a perfect location to stay, that just adds to the fun you have in the park. We walked the promonade each morning to the park and in the evening back to the hotel. Immersed in Disney music and the gardens and fountains along the walk. It is worth not taking the shuttle bus to the park just to start your day off this way. We stayed 5 nights with a garden view room, enjoying the sea view when we wandered down to the pier. Early March is a great time to visit - cool t-shirt weather and not too humid. Definitely a recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Garden view for the garden lovers, balcony with sea view to enjoy the vista - all rooms are probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world_trip_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Expensive but this is one good resort hotel to "splurge occassionally" with the kids. I'll keep my review as short as that.

Plus, our room was perfect located with both the ocean view as well as the mickey maze garden view. Bathroom had a jacuzzi. Best place to be inside the room after a day of walking.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kiko1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

As a hotel, I have no complaints at all. Rooms were well-appointed although wear was evident. Excellent water pressure in the shower. Lots of cartoon channels on the TV. Clean, nice view of the maze in the center courtyard. There's a Disney store in the lobby. Hotel is by the sea. There is a cozy cartoon watching area just next to the front desk - great idea to entertain the lil' ones while mommy & daddy handle the paperwork of checking-in & buying park tickets. Disney princess characters are always in the lobby for photo ops. Every 10 minutes there's a shuttle bus that takes you to the park itself (also where the bus & MTR stops are). The deco, look & feel are like American civil war-era grand mansions.

The slight letdown was the lack of a consistent Disney theme throughout the hotel and in the rooms. Only the Disney store, characters and after-thought icons on the toiletries boxes maintained some connection to Disneyland. Other than that, you would be forgiven for mistaking this for "just another" good hotel. Like I said, I have no complaints about the place as a hotel itself - just feel that there should've been more emphasis on visuals/onsite attractions to keep to the Disney branding.

Room Tip: Get to sea view rooms that have a balcony, gives you a nice view of the central courtyard with its m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulksyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights (over a weekend) in March. The weather was not good, there was a rather cold snap, but can't blame the hotel for that. Very nice Disney themed hotel and if you have no plans to visit the park early, do hang around in the lobby in the morning as Disney characters (usually princesses) occasionally make appearances and this is way of meeting them is much easier than at the park.Rooms are spacious enough for a family of four although one should not expect top notch amenities here. The breakfast at the Enchanted Garden is an opportunity for kids to meet Mickey, Daisy, Pluto and Goofy (no one else, sorry!) without the hassle of queueing up at the park. We ate there for three mornings and although the spread was decent, the variety was getting a little boring on the third day. Bookings are essential for the character breakfast as the hotel was busy even on a Monday. If you are not going to visit the park, dont bother staying here because it is way too far to travel from the hotel to Hong Kong island and back.

Room Tip: If you book a garden room, ask for one that is not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenLYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Disneyland
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
#91 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#53 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,407 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel

Property: Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Address: Hong Kong Disneyland, Lantau Island,, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Disneyland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#101 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $372 - $755
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a lavish Victorian palace nestled along the shores of the South China Sea. Savor exquisite dining from around the globe, lounge the day away with a cocktail poolside or explore a garden maze in the shape of Mickey Mouse. Boasting stately accommodations with modern amenities plus live music in the grand 6-story lobby , this architectural marvel combines the splendor of a vintage seaside resort with the magic of Disney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneyland Hong Kong
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing