We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
J Plus Hotel by YOO
Ranked #63 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Top location but....”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I had always been wanting to try Jia and finally had a chance when we decided to stay in Causeway bay for our HK trip in Nov 11. Got a fair rate off Jia's own website for a studio and overall we felt it was value for money in comparison to other properties nearby.

First of all, we were very impressed with the location. For hotel guests who would like to be in the center of everything, Irving Street is absolutely perfect. Plenty of affordable and reputable eateries nearby, a michelin star Din Tai Fung was literally 20 steps away from hotel entrance. If continental breakfast is not what you are after, won ton mee and congee places are just a stone's throw away. Since Jia provides complimentary all-day drinks and snacks, you may not need a convenient store as such, but 7-Eleven can also be spotted right opposite the hotel. We normally like to stock up bottles of water in our room but this time, we did not make a trip once to a convenient store! MTR station and great shopping were about 5-10 minutes away, depending how fast you walk.

The 8th Floor studio room itself was somewhat a let down for our stay. Wears and tears on the furnitures were evident inside our unit and couple of things didn't function properly for instance, the switch for the main lamp was loose and needed fixing, the wardrobe did not want to close itself so the automatic light inside was constantly on, the safety deposit box also died on me for an unknown reason. To top that, the bathroom was so tiny that two people couldn't walk pass each other and the water kept leaking while having a shower and inevitably wet the floor.

Although we seemed to be facing some issues but they didn't bother us so much and overall we had quality sleep throughout our 3-night stay. Because of the location, we would not mind returning but we must lower our expectations. Perhaps we are used to the international chain hotels with more definitive standard but considering Jia as a boutique hotel, we felt rather positive about our experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tiger_sist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    217
    54
    19
    13
See reviews for
79
193
58
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Selected for its design credentials, this hotel did not disappoint.

The suite had everything and the staff (with one grumpy exception) were delightful in every way

The breakfast, drinks, free calls etc were a bonus and its position across from a great dim sum restaurant and the Jardine market as well as a flash shopping precinct were a plus.

Will happily return.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inertiareal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed in the JIA in August. The hotel location is excellent and is only moments away from the MTR station. The room was perfect, decoration was modern and the shower was powerful. Importantly the room was clean and quiet. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful . Overall we were very impressed with the JIA and stayed again two weeks later on the return leg of our trip instead of staying in Kowloon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albiondxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

For our second visit to Hong Kong this year we tried something different on the recommendations of a business friend.

Although off the beaten track, which took our driver ages to find. we found it to be perfect for the jar dine bazaar and lots of department stores and with trams and mini buses within easy reach at causeway bay station we explored the island effortlessly..


Our studio was wonderful, a functional kitchen and a perfectly adequate bathroom. We loved the designer touches and the curtain that split the room into two.

We dined in the restaurant on the first floor on two evenings.. Intial reactions was that the menu was very expensive but after the chef finished service he came out and explained that nearly all the produce was flown in daily from France...so I did not mind paying for wonderful quality..the lounge bar was dark and trendy full of the hip and trendy that live in the area and the cocktail list was certainly different.

overall a great bolt hole for exploring the island. One of my favourite boutique hotels

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBarrett-Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I totally felt at home.

Enjoyed every minute! Nestled in one of HongKong's busiest areas, Causeway Bay, it's every shopper and foodie's paradise.

Within walking distance to all the great shopping neighbourhoods and the metro.

The hi tech rooms are extremely stylish and comfortable. I stayed in a studio one for 10 days. Although small, it's good for one person max two. It lives up to what HongKong standards. High Rise, limited space. so you kinda feel like you've moved to HK.

The lobby is rather unique with a small breakfast area. Philip Starck is written all over the hotel which pays extra attention to small details and lighting. The furniture speaks for itself.

The hotel is right on the street so it's easy to miss if you go for the first time. The cab driver will drop you off on the street so better hurry stepping out/in.

Don't expect it to be like other wellknown 4/5 star chains. If you expect swimming pools, gym, cafes and the typical hotel lobby, then this hotel is not for you.

I'm coming back.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#22 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,404 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#68 of 718 in Hong Kong
474 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#81 of 718 in Hong Kong
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#19 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,202 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Plus Hotel by YOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Plus Hotel by YOO

Property: J Plus Hotel by YOO
Address: No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $180 - $325
Hotel Class:4 star — J Plus Hotel by YOO 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired by Starck. A boutique hotel located in the heart of Causeway Bay Hong Kong with 56 chic guests J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired By Starck On its 10th anniversary in 2014, the former JIA Boutique Hotel, Hong Kong was rebranded as J Plus Hotel by YOO following a dramatic, dynamic new HK$10 million makeover for the iconic fashionista address in Causeway Bay by proteges of original designer Philippe Starck at world renowned design house YOO Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your J Plus Hotel by YOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jia Boutique Hong Kong
Hotel Jia Boutique
Jia Boutique Hotel
Jia Hotel Hong Kong
Boutique Hotel Hong Kong
J Plus Hotel By YOO Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing