We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel For Your Budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
Ranked #355 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Went there a few days ago. The nearest station is Yau Ma Tei. I'd say the walk from hotel to the station is around 15 minutes. The way to the entrance is an uphill but manageable. The landmark is the gasoline station in the corner of waterloo and another road.

The room is very clean and simple. They have very good room service. There's wifi at the lobby but there's none in the rooms. But anyway, it doesn't matter so much since I just went there to sleep after a long day of tour.

I stayed for 3 nights and they charged me 2,100 HKD plus 200 HKD deposit which they will return when you check out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allegrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 43 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

I went to Hong Kong with a mission to visit Victoria Peak, Disneyland, Ngong Ping and Ocean Park. I chose Anne Black as it was known to be close to MTR (Yau Ma Tei station). The price is reasonable for a stay in HONG KONG, and i was very fortunate to get a very clean room. Since i didnt stay in my room that much, it was fine with me. Their service is satisfactory too.. But i think i'll stay somewhere else in future..

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more to get a room with bathroom or else you'll need to share the toilet with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pearl_lynely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed at the Anne Black as a budget single traveller for one week. The hotel is located within a ten minute walk of Yau Ma Tei MTR. The single room had a bed, old style box TV with mainly chinese channels (i.e no ESPN sport !), aircon and small bathroom.

The staff were very pleasant and the restaurant (athough slightly pricier than the local canteen style restaurants on Waterloo Road) gave a decent meal at a relatively cheap price (I paid HK$450 a night for the room with no breakfast).

A good deal of younger travellers but little noise or commotion after 11pm.

If you are simply looking for a place to rest at the end of the day and otherwise explore HK this place is a very good location and excellent value.

Room Tip: Higher the better - also note the public library with free internet access is almost next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Centrally located in Mongkok, the rooms are very basic and bathrooms are communal. Air con settings can't be changed and does little to change the room temperature. Beds are typical Chinese stiff mattresses. To my surprise there was a TV but nothing worth watching. Wi-fi only works in the lobby. Three MTR stations are within walking distance, and if you need to get to/from the airport the hotel partners with Vigor Transportation to get you there for $110, not much more than the Airport Express. Even though it sucks it's the only place I can afford outside of Chunking Mansion, so I'll probably be back.

Room Tip: I think everyone would like a tip to get a good HK room for this price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sens4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in this guest house for a week and found the location to be very convenient. Close to Mongkok markets and MTR all within 10 minutes walk.
There is nothing to sing about the airconditioned rooms, its less than a size of a 1 car garage. The bed and cleanliness is acceptable. We spent most of the time enjoying the sights and tastes of HongKong anyway and come back here only to sleep.
Its hard to complain about anything else because this is one of the cheapest accomodation I could find in Hongkers at the time.
I would stay again next time but I would also check out other smaller boutique hotels right in mongkok market area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWIFTSHIFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#313 of 726 in Hong Kong
764 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#79 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#114 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,796 reviews
Regal Riverside Hotel
#161 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)

Address: No.5 Man Fuk Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $36 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Black Guest House (Ywca) Hotel Hong Kong
Guest House Hongkong
Anne Black Hotel Ywca
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing