We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very value for money by way of food, location and shopping!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
Ranked #305 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 10 January 2012

A very clean and comfy room and en suite bath+ toilet. linen changed each day. plenty of light and air. All plug points working!!! Carry an american adapter ( round holes + square holes in the same ) to be on the safe side. restaurant downstairs has superb food...the breakfast is sumptious and the pork chops.are DIVINE. the MTR is 5 mins walk down the road in a straight line keep looking to the right .. after you cros the hospital you will see a number of roads leading off to nathan street. the midnight market and other local markets. Mcdonalds is also along the same line. Very value for money by way of food, location and shopping. If you must then bargin very reasonably...with a bit of reduction in the prices....BARGAINING too much in the market will lead to abuses in the local language...but do not pay too much attn to this and don't be too offended as everybody is abusing everybody else .....shoppers ans stall owners alike ....takes some getting used too.BRING/ buy an umbrella...thr rain is unpredictable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonaijanowahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights over Christmas and New Years. I am giving this property a 5 star rating not because it is a "5 star hotel" but rather it was good value for your money. It is a budget hotel and if you expect anything more you will be disappointed. We had a family of four with two young kids so we were able to put the twin beds together and managed to squeeze together. The beds were somewhat hard but after a long day out it really did not make a difference in having a good nights sleep. Overall the cosmetics of the room and hotel in general shows signs of aging and wear and tear. However you can tell the efforts are there to keep the rooms clean and tidy. The hotel is located in a residential neighborhood with a lot of schools so in general found the area pretty safe. Every night we come into the lobby I think it is the night manager he stands right in the lobby to greet you which I also think is a security measure. I've also noticed him patrolling the halls periodically. The restaurant below is adequate though you don't have to walk far to get to the many other dining options available. The only downside which may be important to some people are there is no Internet in the rooms and the closest MTR station is still a good 10 minute away. If Internet access is important as it was for me and didn't want to make the trek to the lobby each time, I just got myself a prepaid SIM for my IPhone for $198HK which pretty much gave me unlimited data for my 10 day stay. Otherwise you can just go down to the lobby area to use the wifi they have there for free. Since we had a family of four sharing a cab the cost was pretty close to taking the MTR anyways. Cabs were plenty and easy to catch outside the hotel. I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is more like a hostel than a hotel, I have to stay there only for a night before heading back to the airport and the only room available was with shared bath facilities,
The front desk and the cleaning staffs were professional.
The rooms are old and need major renovation, the shared bathroom also needs upgrade. The bed was comfortable and I had a good sleep.
The location is OK, it takes probably 15 to 20 minutes to the nearest MTR station. It is right in the middle of the residential area and it was relatively quite.
They have airport shuttle buses every hour for appr. HK$230; if you have two people, you might as well take a cab which is appr. HK$260

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank super_fast_eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our stay was for 5 nights during Thanksgiving week in November and on our first visit to Hong Kong while en route to Beijing.
I didn't expect anything more than a hostel, but we were pleasantly surprised - it is indeed a Guesthouse with some Hotel amenities.

The Anne Black Guesthouse is situated in a dated skyscraper on a busy intersection of Waterloo road. The entrance is around the corner and up a steep hill, across the basketball court (or as a short-cut on the escalators located in the library building that you pass).
It's an easy and pleasant 15-min walk from Mongkok Station - even with luggage - and recognizable from afar.
The lobby looks like there was an attempt to give it somewhat of a modern appeal - in contrast to the building itself - is small but well suited for a Guesthouse and void of any frills.
The elevators are small, but adequate.

The room was dated, spartan with twin beds, a sink, small closet, small desk and a TV on top of a small fridge - and clean, with crisp white linens.
On the desk a tray with water-cooker, tea, instant-coffee etc. which we used frequently.
(But only after having overcome the initial shock over the "coffee" offered, us coming from the "Latte-Capital" of the world ;)
I felt really lucky with our room located on the quiet side of the building and not facing noisy Waterloo Road.
The bathroom across the hallway was absolutely bare, no frills whatsoever, no outlet for your grooming tools - the only amenity was a small mirror - But it was clean and everything functioned.

The staff are helpful, pleasant and efficient.
No problem with WiFi, available in the lobby and adjacent restaurant only.

The Guesthouse, including the restaurant - and in particular the lobby - can be a "zoo", as it seems to be the preferred accommodations and assembly point for droves of young teenagers from neighboring countries on their school excursions.

The adjacent restaurant is apparently a local favorite, dated, a bit shabbily decorated in a true "Elvis" theme - LOL- and of course well equipped for karaoke, if one should desire so and throw a party !

It is fun and perfectly safe to roam the area at day/night and find great places to eat all the wonderful offerings of local Chinese cuisine.

Conclusion: As far as I can tell a pretty good deal for a Hong Kong budget-stay in a prime location - glad I took the opportunity and surely will be back here for another stay in this wonderful city !
Thumbs up and wholeheartedly recommended (if you're not too picky) !

Room Tip: As mentioned before already - If possible select a room on the quiet side, avoid facing Waterloo Roa...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Genise_VDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The hostel is located about 15-20 minutes walk from Mongkok KCR station so probably the best way to get there is to take the Airport Express to Kowloon and then the K5 hotel shuttle bus to the Metropark Hotel in Waterloo Road. It's about 5 minutes walk from there.

If you're on a very tight budget and all you want is a bed in a clean room (albeit one that looks dirty because of the age of the building) with very basic facilities in a reasonably central location then this may be a viable option. There is a self-service laundry, the restaurant is OK (but there are better close by) and they will charge HKD30 for 30 minutes internet use.

However, it's not a hotel. Don't expect any comfort whatsoever. Also, our experience was that it was very noisy as it's a hostel that accommodates visiting youth groups and we were continually disturbed late at night and early in the morning by the comings and goings of not particularly considerate fellow guests.

Next time, I'll pay more and stay in a proper hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuppersReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#192 of 721 in Hong Kong
442 reviews
Bishop Lei International House
#166 of 721 in Hong Kong
986 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#168 of 721 in Hong Kong
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#266 of 721 in Hong Kong
744 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#172 of 721 in Hong Kong
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hong Kong

Been to Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)

Address: No.5 Man Fuk Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $35 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Black Guest House (Ywca) Hotel Hong Kong
Guest House Hongkong
Anne Black Hotel Ywca
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing