We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch - less than average!”
Review of Duddell's

Duddell's
Reserve with OpenTable
Duddell's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #361 of 11,403 Restaurants in Hong Kong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Description: Duddell's is a cultural and social destination created for people who have an active appreciation of the arts. Founded by three of Hong Kong's most influential young minds, Duddell's is neither museum nor gallery - it is an inspiring backdrop against which ideas are shared and developed, connecting art and people in a new way. Designed by celebrated, London-based Ilse Crawford, the interiors are as noteworthy as the art on its walls, entering Duddell's feels like being welcomed into the home of a great art collector - one that also happens to have an in-house Michelin-starred Cantonese restaurant, a lush 2,000 square foot Garden Terrace, and sophisticated salon with artisanal cocktails and vintage champagne.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I was a underwhelmed and disappointed by my experience at Sunday brunch. We were seated at tables that were lower than our knees meaning eating was tricky. We asked for a normal table and were ignored. The service was pretty awful - waiting 20+ mins for drinks, ordering duck and pancakes and it taking 30 mins to arrive isn’t great. The restaurant downstairs looks lovely (and apparently has 1 Michelin star?!) but it seems upstairs they cater for boozy ex-pat groups for brunch on Sundays who go there to fill up on alcohol...and it seems they treat them with indifference or perhaps resentment. I was pregnant on our visit and so asked for the ‘free flow juices’ option (slightly cheaper than the all you can drink alcoholic option). The group I was with all ordered bloody Mary’s so I asked for a plain tomato juice, only to be told this wasn’t one of the juices I could have. I asked which juices were on the ‘free flow juices option’ and was told orange or apple! Both tasted cheap and acidic so I ended up drinking water. My husband later ordered an espresso martini that had clearly been watered down in some way and tasted of watery coffee with no taste of alcohol. The toilets were dirty and the corridor leading to them had bags stacked in it. The dim sum we ate were fair, but nothing special - with the service issues and lack of attention to detail I’d have preferred to have gone to a different place for dim sum that didn’t behave in such a pretentious manner.

Thank Cam8648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris L, General Manager at Duddell's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Cam8648,

Thank you for your recent visit to Duddell's and your valuable feedback.

We pride ourselves on delivering an engaging and personalised dining experience. We have unfortunately fallen short of goal.
We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the experience. I have shared your feedback with our service and kitchen team,
to ensure that this remains an isolated issue and the guest experience we provide is corrected moving forward.
We are continually seeking ways to improve, to ensure we are able to delight our guests on every occasion and would look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Eating alone can be a somewhat difficult experience. This restaurant serves Cantonese cuisine which is both delicate and subtle in its flavours. But what really made the evening for me was the assistance and friendliness of the staff,who explained the dishes and advised as to the best tea to order from a wide range. A thoroughly enjoyable evening

Thank RicardoQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris L, General Manager at Duddell's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear RicardoQld,

Thank you for your generous feedback to Duddell's.
We are delighted to know you've loved our service and good time with us.

Our team is looking forward to welcoming you and your guests again in the nearly future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The lunch met totally our expectations. Having started with dim sum, the soup, porc, rice and desert, were each of top quality. To be recommended.

Thank Peterpdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris L, General Manager at Duddell's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Peterpdr,

Thank you for your generous feedback.
We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed our lunch and had a good time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Fascinating meal. Decided to have a blow-out and really go for it with a 7 course sampling menu. Not being experts we believe this is quite specialised,modern Chinese dining. It was an experience and we don't regret it at all but this wasn't something we would repeat.

Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris L, General Manager at Duddell's, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Fiona P,

Thank you for your glowing review. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed to dining with us.

We look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,

Iris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

There's really a lot to like about Duddell's - the service is very good, the setting is pleasing, and certainly the kitchen boasts a great deal of skill (the crackling on the appetiser set in particular was sublime).

But I expected bolder, more interesting flavours given the charmingly hipster website and the Michelin star. There was nothing to complain about but the food did not articulate a sufficiently powerful argument for Duddell's over the myriad of other options in Hong Kong. For a local it would probably be worth forming your own opinion, but for a visitor the opportunity cost is too great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris L, General Manager at Duddell's, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Jye N,

Thank you for your generous feedback to Duddell’s. We are delighted to know that you like our food and service.
Your candid comments are much appreciated. Our guests’ satisfaction is of paramount importance to us, and we are going to take your precious feedback into consideration, especially for our offerings.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,

Iris Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duddell's also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Duddell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing