We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Original One-Michelin Star Dim Sum Still Shines!”

Tim Ho Wan Sham Shui Po
Ranked #196 of 15,388 Restaurants in Hong Kong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Sham Shui Po District
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Finally went to the original Tim Ho Wan 添好運 at Fuk Wing Street, Sham Shui Po.

Glad to find that it didn't disappoint. Verdict - the dim sum was fresher and more delicately made than the outlets in Singapore and in HK. The baked BBQ pork buns were great with the sweetish crust having a slight chewy consistency, which I enjoyed. The faves like har gao and siew mai were really fresh. The shrimp spring rolls were the surprise runaway winner today with the crunch nicely complimenting the freshness of the shrimp.

I realized they adapted the chilli in Singapore to have it much sweeter, and with a pot on each table, one gets used to ladling it liberally onto the sauce dish. Here, the chili is salty, and the troll of a waitress puts only one small dipping plate of it on your table. With a growl and a look to dispel all thoughts of asking for a second serving.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank 951seant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 384 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2016

Yes, it does have a Michelin star! If you go around 1:30pm there's only a short wait. It was delicious and cheap. Have the baked pork buns and vermicelli noodles with shrimp. There are pictures so you don't end up with chicken feet and other customers were happy to suggest things to us.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ConnieLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

If you are in Shamshuipo definitely stop here for lunch. It's certainly not fancy but everything is delicious. Unfortunately the fresh seasonal vegetable was lettuce, a green I prefer raw in a salad but Chinese seem to rate the cooked variety. Anyways my bad, I should have asked before ordering.
The stand out dish is the baked bun with BBQ pork. Divine. Order extra to takeaway.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Travel_with_3_bubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

In the area for lunch and decided for some dim sum. This is not yum cha, totally different as yum cha is relaxing with friends and family eating at your own pace.

This is dim sum. Sit down, order, eat and leave.

Great taste at a very good price. See ya next time.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HKeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Ate here on our first night in Hong Kong.

Busy place, free unlimited tea to accompany your dim sum.
My favourite was the BBQ pork buns, so light and tasty.

Mixture of meat, fish and vegetarian choices to suit anyone's taste. Plenty of locals eating there too, always a good sign!
Cheap, cheerful and tasty!

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank merlin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tim Ho Wan Sham Shui Po also viewed

 

Been to Tim Ho Wan Sham Shui Po? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.