We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from hustle & bustle of HK”
Review of Stanley Market

Stanley Market
Ranked #133 of 847 things to do in Hong Kong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This historic street market on the city's serene south coast is as popular with locals as it is with tourists. Go here for souvenirs like lacquerware, embroidered tablecloths, prints and paintings.
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Hong Kong city is always busted with hectic and fast movements. So for a change we took a taxi from Ocean Park to Stanley Market on a Saturday morning. Nothing great about this historical market where you can find many small shops selling souvenirs, paintings and other miscellaneous goods. The pros about this place is that you can enjoy the breeze from the sea and its tranquility.

We had lunch at one of the shops facing the sea and the price is too pricey. Imagine paying a plate of fried rice for HKD88 while a bowl of fish ball noodle soup cost HKD53. All these are just simple home cooked food.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank smlim52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"repulse bay"
in 90 reviews
"ladies market"
in 113 reviews
"murray house"
in 32 reviews
"nice market"
in 24 reviews
"express bus"
in 17 reviews
"stall holders"
in 32 reviews
"exchange square"
in 28 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 78 reviews
"bus ride"
in 37 reviews
"double decker bus"
in 24 reviews
"temple street"
in 28 reviews
"for sale"
in 24 reviews
"number bus"
in 18 reviews
"top deck"
in 21 reviews
"night market"
in 15 reviews
"hong kong island"
in 45 reviews
"central station"
in 16 reviews
Filter

49 - 53 of 1,868 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

We jumped on the 260 bus from Central and for a mere HKD $10 - £1 each!! We enjoyed WiFi, aircon and a speedy trip to Stanley. The market is mostly undercover but quite small. However no ‘rofakes’ I mean ‘rolex’ watches or suits were offered and the goods for sale looked good quality. One son bought a great printed tee shirt which seemed quite unique as it was silk printed

Stanley itself seems nice and lots of food options and nice views of the coast

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank GodshillPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

The Hong Kong markets are all same same these days but Stanley is quaint and a nice bus trip by the coastline to get too. Some slightly more interesting souvenirs to be had. The others are junk upon junk. Fun, alive but junk just the same

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank ianc43334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

We stopped at Stanley Market for about 30 minutes as part of a tour. It is a small market with souvenirs and paintings and many other items of probable little worth. I did not understand how it made the list of top 10 markets in Hong Kong. I guess it’s more of a sentimental place for some.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Intrepidbirdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We went by bus to the market. The people were friendly and not pushy. I purchased some lovely silk scarves and some Cashmere scarves for gifts which I am happy with. Had lunch near by, shame it isn’t bigger but we enjoyed our time there.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank PDYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanley Market also viewed

 

Been to Stanley Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing