We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caritas Bianchi Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
84
311
102
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
311
102
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyau ma teinathan roadexcellent locationairport busnathan rdladies marketmtr stationliving room areaelectric kettlelaundry shopnoodlesflat screen tvtemple marketsingle roombig roomroom conditionstreet noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed for two nights on my way to Vietnam. Wanted something basic with a good size room. CBL met that requirement. Rooms were clean as were the bathrooms, although all a bit worn. Hotel is in main shopping area and close to the night markets. My biggest issue was location. It is a solid 20 to 25 minute walk to the docks and 20 minutes to the bar/restaurant area off of Tsim Sha Tsui.

I recommend for a quick layover based on the price, would not recommend if you like to grab a quick bite/beer.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Found out about this place through other reviews on Tripadvisor.
Initially we were concerned about what kind of room it'd be like as it is a "lodge" and not a hotel. But eventually, we were so happy when we stepped into our room!

We booked a family room for 4 people on the 12th floor.
The room was huge for HK standards and there were 2 single beds and a double bed. There was even a sofa couch and lots of floor space for us to mess up. :P
Maybe because it is newly renovated, everything was clean and new!
The beds are good too - for the 4 nights I slept there, I slept very well, and woke up feeling rested and fresh!

The toilet was very clean too - there was a rain shower, and shower head. Pressure of water and temperature was very good too. It is really wonderful to come back to a comfortable room where you can have a good bath and have a good rest after all the walking in the day.

We paid HKD1584 per night per room, which isn't that cheap but isn't so expensive too. I think it's really good value though, considering that other hotel rooms might be slightly more expensive, and we were quite glad to have a room which could accomodate all 4 of us.
The price varies from time to time, so do check it first (they will send you a list of the rates).

The service staff are good too. They were helpful with enquiries and were friendly too. (Not the enthusiastic friendly kind but the pleasant friendly kind)

Location wise, it was really good. Just a few min walk to Yau Ma Tei station!
It is also near the bus stops for the airport bus A21. (both to and fro)
What I like about the location is that it branches off Nathan Road, and it is not on Nathan Road itself. So the moment u turn in from Nathan Road and walk 1-2 min up the gentle slope of Cliff Road to the lodge, it is not as noisy and I think it's good.
There is a really crowded small Japanese restaurant along Cliff Road too! We didn't get to try but it looks good! The Garden Restaurant opposite the lodge has very good value dim sum too! Delicious and affordable!

Overall, we totally enjoyed staying in Caritas Bianchi Lodge. I'll stay there again if I go back to HK! :) :) :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikayap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We've stayed in this hotel for the second time, for three nights. We have chosen this hotel again because of the great location near the Yau Ma Tei MTR Station (3 min walk from the hotel) and the proximity to the markets/restaurants. The price is also very good for what you get.
We had a room on the 14th floor from which you could even see a part of the Victoria Island skyline. The room was pretty big, with a rain shower, a flat screen tv and free LAN internet access. The double bed was comfortable too. However the cleanliness of the room could have been better. The bed cover had some spots which apparetnly couldn't be washed off. A change to new ones would be necessary. The breakfast was quite good. One thing we didn't like was the really slow elevator so that sometimes you had to wait 5-10 minutes for the elevator to arrive. The service was ok, not outstanding, but satisfying. When checking in you have to leave a deposit of 300 HKD which will be payed back upon your departure.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, who is just looking for a reasonable priced accommodation, in good location as a starting point to discover the city, with nice breakfast. However if you need more luxury, great views, spa or are planing to stay in the hotel during the day, then the hotel is maybe not the right choice for you.

P.S. a small tip if you want some sushi near the hotel: there is a great cheap and delicios sushi bar just 50 meters north of the Yau Ma Tei Station exit C on the Nathan road called ICHiBAN. There is a takeaway service so we ate the sushi at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Location : Very central. In a slightly crowded area of HK, but perfect for tourists, since the underground metro is just around the corner
Hotel ambience & stay : Very prim proper & up to date. Seems run down from the outside but is quite nice from the inside. good hospitality and service
Food : Our stay included a complimentary breakfast which was continental in nature & to die for. Very sumptous and fresh
Staff : Not extremly versed in English, but helpful neverthless.
Overall - Would recommend to people searching to stay on a budgeted holiday in HK and would definitky go back again...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmsahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Me and the wife checked in at Yau Ma Tei's Caritas Bianchi Lodge for the first night of our week-long Hong Kong and Macau holiday. We were actually considering the cheap backpackers options in Chungking Mansions, since we would be leaving early the next day for Macau, but thank goodness we opted for Caritas instead!

Our room was at Level 14 (the block has 17 stories), which gives quite a reasonable view of the surrounding area, despite there being many high-rise buildings in front. I was told that the Management did a renovation on the Lodge in March and they certainly did a good job there!
The room we stayed in was very tastefully done up, with a spacious toilet (only shower stand, btw) and even an LCD TV together with Queen-sized bed. Reminds me of something in a 4-star hotel, only that this is more of an upmarket hostel instead!

Location is unbeatable, as the Lodge is actually situated on Cliff Road, which is a slip road off the busy Nathan Road thoroughfare. Which means that even though the shops and restaurants are literally a stone's throw away from Caritas Bianchi, there is no worry about the area being too noisy for a night's sleep. Furthermore, after crossing the road, we managed to reach the famous Temple Street night market and the Yau Ma Tei MTR station is also just within 5 minutes walk - talk about convenience!

However, the Caritas management should look into renovating the Coffee Shop as well; while the rooms were beautifully done up, the in-house restaurant looks like something from an 80s Hong Kong drama! We had our breakfast at the Coffee Shop as this was included in our room price but unfortunately, the variety of food choices was not up to expectations.

Still, for the price we paid for a night's stay (around HKD 1435.00 nett = MYR 567.00), based on HK rates, this is already considered quite affordable and a great option for those on a shoestring budget.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the higher floors, these are much quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannTi_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews