We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good cost effectiveness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caritas Bianchi Lodge
Ranked #191 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We've stayed in this hotel for the second time, for three nights. We have chosen this hotel again because of the great location near the Yau Ma Tei MTR Station (3 min walk from the hotel) and the proximity to the markets/restaurants. The price is also very good for what you get.
We had a room on the 14th floor from which you could even see a part of the Victoria Island skyline. The room was pretty big, with a rain shower, a flat screen tv and free LAN internet access. The double bed was comfortable too. However the cleanliness of the room could have been better. The bed cover had some spots which apparetnly couldn't be washed off. A change to new ones would be necessary. The breakfast was quite good. One thing we didn't like was the really slow elevator so that sometimes you had to wait 5-10 minutes for the elevator to arrive. The service was ok, not outstanding, but satisfying. When checking in you have to leave a deposit of 300 HKD which will be payed back upon your departure.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, who is just looking for a reasonable priced accommodation, in good location as a starting point to discover the city, with nice breakfast. However if you need more luxury, great views, spa or are planing to stay in the hotel during the day, then the hotel is maybe not the right choice for you.

P.S. a small tip if you want some sushi near the hotel: there is a great cheap and delicios sushi bar just 50 meters north of the Yau Ma Tei Station exit C on the Nathan road called ICHiBAN. There is a takeaway service so we ate the sushi at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 159 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Location : Very central. In a slightly crowded area of HK, but perfect for tourists, since the underground metro is just around the corner
Hotel ambience & stay : Very prim proper & up to date. Seems run down from the outside but is quite nice from the inside. good hospitality and service
Food : Our stay included a complimentary breakfast which was continental in nature & to die for. Very sumptous and fresh
Staff : Not extremly versed in English, but helpful neverthless.
Overall - Would recommend to people searching to stay on a budgeted holiday in HK and would definitky go back again...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmsahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Me and the wife checked in at Yau Ma Tei's Caritas Bianchi Lodge for the first night of our week-long Hong Kong and Macau holiday. We were actually considering the cheap backpackers options in Chungking Mansions, since we would be leaving early the next day for Macau, but thank goodness we opted for Caritas instead!

Our room was at Level 14 (the block has 17 stories), which gives quite a reasonable view of the surrounding area, despite there being many high-rise buildings in front. I was told that the Management did a renovation on the Lodge in March and they certainly did a good job there!
The room we stayed in was very tastefully done up, with a spacious toilet (only shower stand, btw) and even an LCD TV together with Queen-sized bed. Reminds me of something in a 4-star hotel, only that this is more of an upmarket hostel instead!

Location is unbeatable, as the Lodge is actually situated on Cliff Road, which is a slip road off the busy Nathan Road thoroughfare. Which means that even though the shops and restaurants are literally a stone's throw away from Caritas Bianchi, there is no worry about the area being too noisy for a night's sleep. Furthermore, after crossing the road, we managed to reach the famous Temple Street night market and the Yau Ma Tei MTR station is also just within 5 minutes walk - talk about convenience!

However, the Caritas management should look into renovating the Coffee Shop as well; while the rooms were beautifully done up, the in-house restaurant looks like something from an 80s Hong Kong drama! We had our breakfast at the Coffee Shop as this was included in our room price but unfortunately, the variety of food choices was not up to expectations.

Still, for the price we paid for a night's stay (around HKD 1435.00 nett = MYR 567.00), based on HK rates, this is already considered quite affordable and a great option for those on a shoestring budget.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the higher floors, these are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannTi_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

For those on a budget and spending most of the time sight-seeing, this place is an excellent option. It's just a 5 min. walk to MTR Yau Ma Tei Station (Exit C) or to A21 bus stop (to/from the airport). Lots of places to eat and shop in the area. Rooms are very spacious and clean, with nice shower. Beds are very firm (the way I like it!), in-room safe and mini fridge. Breakfast gets very busy and is more Asian oriented; yet a good start for the day.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor facing the park are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fortaleza_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

It was slightly unfortunate that we checked in right when they were renovating the entire hotel. But management did its best to not have such improvements get in the way of guests.
Elevators are shared by other building occupants, like a school. So you can only imagine sharing the lift with all those students, Quite a wait.
The buffet breakfast dishes were all the same the whole 5 days we were there.
Rooms were decent with enough standard ammenities.
The location was perfect. About 3 mins to the Yau Ma Tei train station and with countless food joints in the area.
LAN internet connection was fast, but could've been better had it been WIFI.
Generally, what made this memorable for me was the never ending courtesy, politeness and warm smiles of the hotel staff, including the doorman who was quick to move to assist us. Very satisfied.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StartWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#214 of 729 in Hong Kong
821 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Deluxe Hotel
Casa Deluxe Hotel
#208 of 729 in Hong Kong
121 reviews
Minimal Hotel Culture
#206 of 729 in Hong Kong
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silka Seaview Hotel
#187 of 729 in Hong Kong
941 reviews
Metro Winner Hotel
#197 of 729 in Hong Kong
35 reviews
M1 Hotel
#302 of 729 in Hong Kong
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caritas Bianchi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caritas Bianchi Lodge

Address: No.4 Cliff Road,Yaumati, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $85 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caritas Bianchi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caritas Bianchi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caritas Bianchi Hotel Hong Kong
Caritas Bianchi Lodge Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing