We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad location for Hong Kong, Customer service needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Empire Hotel Kowloon
Ranked #122 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This Hotel would rank higher if it wasnt for the customer service. Some of the employees were very good but they were off set by the bad ones. I booked a room that granted access to the Empire Club. But when I went to use the club the conversation went this way, "excuse me sir you are not supposed to be here." Why not was my reply. They came back with, "This is for our valued guest that have paid extra" I did pay extra for this service I would tell them, and after a check of my room number a profuse apology followed, but the damage had been done. This happened to me twice in three days. I am guessing the level of customer service they provide is based on the appearance of the guest. Other than the poor customer service there is really nothing wrong with this Hotel. Rooms are small, location is not too bad, just a short walk to the MTR and Nathian Road. If you just need a place to rest your head in Hong Kong this will do but dont expect much for the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 272 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed here for a few nights before our onward trip to China. Very convenient for getting around and the airport bus stopped outside each way bookable in the foyer at the airport.
staff were friendly and efficient. Woould have liked more lounge area and seating arrangements but not in the hotel too often except when the typhoon hit !!
In all a good place to stay breakfast very substantial and rooms very clean and spacious.Cityscape view from the window.We were verrrry high up
Tuscany

Room Tip: Get a room not too high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuscany444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Like what everyone said, customer service was very poor. We were waiting for our room for almost an hour when we reached there after check-in time around 2+pm. From the way the staff talked to the housekeeper, he was trying to ask them to get it done soon but the housekeeper was actually delaying. But I am glad that they gave us complimentary upgrade to club room. Can't complain at all. I was surprised that the room was very spacious with good view of HK city but then there was lots of banging noise above us. This club room was actually perfect for business travelers. There is a mini pantry where you can boil water, big bathroom with bath-tub and shower area and cosy king size bed with warm comforters (specially for winter time). Don't expect much on house-keeping. They only manage to clean up and top up necessity for 1st 2 days, after that they did not bother to top up anything including water bottles except changing bedsheets and towels. For location wise, it is very near to TST MTR and many restaurants / supermarkets can be found there. Free shuttle bus to Airport Express Kowloon is available across the street. We did not spend whole day in the hotel room so basically the price is quite alright since we got complimentary upgrade to club room instead of superior room. It depends on how much time you plan to spend in the room so basically it is alright for a couple like us.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Our first time to Hong Kong so we were a bit shocked at first with the size of the room but we got used to it after a while. Apparently we were also upgraded to a Superior Room so bit of a worry if the standard rooms were smaller (??). The room was very clean with a modern bathroom, we had some issues with the bathroom, the toilet wasn't flushing properly and shower was blocked but they attended to these issues promptly when we complained. Agree with many of the comments in the other reviews; service is very poor, the hotel is outdated and the breakfast buffet left a lot to be desired, not a great deal of choice. The food seemed to run out (ie OJ, pastries etc) and the manager of the restaurant seemed more interested to stand and talk with the same asian guests every day rather than attend to the other guests. We had to get our own tea and coffee although we did notice he sometimes filled up some guests cups on an adhoc basis. We were very busy sightseeing so did not spend a lot of time in the room so it was okay but we would not stay in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a very bustling hotel- very fitting for a city like Hong Kong.

The Empire is perfect for a business traveller everything was very satisfactory. Choosen for it's location near a great street of restaurants.

Would not hesitate to book again, for Hong Kong rooms are a very reasonable size for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#77 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,728 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
#121 of 725 in Hong Kong
226 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#65 of 725 in Hong Kong
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#53 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,442 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#146 of 725 in Hong Kong
155 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Pacific Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hong Kong

Been to Empire Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Kowloon

Address: No.62 Kimberly Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $188 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Kowloon is situated in a central urban area of Kowloon where visitors will find shops galore, all the convenience and excitement of a vibrant city. The hotel is accessible from all parts of Hong Kong via a seamless transportation hub by rail, land and sea and it is also within walking distance of the China-Macau Ferry Terminal, the gateway to China and the Pearl River Delta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Empire Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing