We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic, Clean and Comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Pacific Hotel
Ranked #180 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 2 June 2017

The hotel location is very good, you can walk about 5 minutes to Times square station. The room itself is clean and quite spacious for us Asean couple, you can still fit 2 large suitcases and mingle around the room freely. We didn't try their breakfast because you can find many Halal eateries nearby the hotel; Ebeneezer kebab & Islamic center canteen (great dimsums). Also if you are muslim there are mosque nearby just by 5 minutes walking distance.

One of the main reason why we chose this hotel is because of the automatic japanese style toilet AND the free mobile wifi where you can bring anywhere. So helpful and thoughtful.

Yes I will stay again if I have the opportunity due to their strategic location and price.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ReeNa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Ok - first of all the good - and this is the only reason why it get's a poor rather than terrible rating for me - each room has an android phone on the local network that is totally free to use for mobile data and local calls. It has a horrid slow OS on it that is tailored to the 'visitor' and the hotel itself, but you can tether it with your normal phone, so you can keep it in your pocket and then get free wifi via it wherever you are in HK which means you can make calls over WhatsApp back to the UK etc. for free anywhere in HK.

Now for the bad - first impressions were it was going to be a good hotel, but the rooms (whist non smoking) stink of cigarette smoke. They are tiny, and the beds are short - only 6' from headboard to base meaning you have to sleep diagonally or if you are 2 up then you will have your feet dangling off the end. Speaking of the beds, I have stayed in many Chinese hotels in mainland china and in HK, and this was by far the hardest bed I have ever encountered - you may know that the Chinese like a firm mattress, but I swear this thing was carved from granite.

The overhead shower drips cold water on you whilst you are showering with the shower head, but worst of all was the constant dripping from the air conditioning onto the carpet in the room.

The room only has 1 spare plug socket you can use - just 1 - try charging a laptop, iPad and mobile phone overnight with that!!!

Overally it is run down and needs completely renovating. All of the furniture is worn and old.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBadJohn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

I came here for visiting the HKTDC Electronics Fair. The location is very nice, the rooms are small albeit comfortable. The room service is good and overall has been a very nice experience. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank absingh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Booked standard double room for 5 nights, requested non-corner room & turned out got a corner room @ lower level. No upgrade. Late check out request cannot accommodate, was told until 1pm only?! Hotel seems not busy & don’t think it’s all occupied! Noise of renovation came from upstairs @ 10am?!


Hair dryer had to use in bedroom, no socket in bathroom.

The quality of bed was not good, easily swing to one side. Need a new mattress.

Only a few TV & satellite channels.

The front main entrance & the Chinese restaurant were under renovation at the same time.

Due to cleaning of water tank, no water supply from 2-5pm on one of the week day.

Staff conversation outside the room was clear & loud.

Not worth for the value of 4-star hotel.

The location was the only good thing for this old and tired hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank AnonymousAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

This was my first time staying in a hotel that provides guests with a complimentary smart phone, data included. My employer booked the hotel for me, so the complimentary use of a Samsung Galaxy was a surprise to me when I checked in. Saved me the hassle of buying a temporary SIM card and made navigating Hong Kong much easier for me as a first time visitor. The room was small, but being Hong Kong, I wouldn't have expected anything different. Great location, just minutes away from Times Square and very convenient for use of the metro. The staff was friendly and accommodating. When I found myself in need of a taxi during rush hour, one staff member kindly stood outside the hotel, attempting to flag down an available driver for me for twenty minutes. Plenty of fantastic food options nearby and it's proximity to the Causeway Bay metro station made it easy to get out to other parts of the city. The South Pacific theme was charming and the fish pond in the lobby was a cool sight. Should I find myself in Hong Kong again, I will absolutely return.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#470 of 727 in Hong Kong
430 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#58 of 727 in Hong Kong
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#73 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,523 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 727 in Hong Kong
3,251 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pacific Hotel

Address: No.23 Morrison Hill Rd, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $120 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a cylindrical architectural style mounted in glass curtain-wall, the Hotel has 299 rooms & suites well appointed with a panoramic city view on 28 floors. Located in Wanchai, the Hotel is adjacent to Causeway Bay premier entertainment area, Happy Valley Racecourse & few minutes drive to Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your South Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pacific Hong Kong
Hotel South Pacific
South Pacific Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing