We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mongkok Magic”
Review of Cordis, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cordis, Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Mongkok Magic”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in an Essential Place room on the 25th Floor. This hotel is situated in the heart of Monkok which is one of the most densely populated areas in the world, yet inside the hotel is an oasis of tranquillity. If you like hustle and bustle, street markets, lots of people and local food this is the place for you. Hotel has good accessibility to all the main areas of HK.
Hotel service and food are excellent and the buffet breakfast would satisfy the most demanding customers. Rooms are well appointed and have a safe for personal use. Room was large and well appointed. All staff during our stay were helpful and polite. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryFindonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,714
    1,393
    249
    69
    35
See reviews for
1,504
2,205
465
1,255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Although Langham Place purports to be a 5 star hotel, in theory, the hotel is not up to par to some of the other 5 star hotels in Hong Kong. Two things stood out most for me during our recent stay at the hotel: first, after returning to the hotel, we discovered yellow spots and a long 10 cm stain on the bed linen (on a bed that had been made up). On calling about this, we received no apology but simply that the the bed linen would be changed. Second, the checkout service received was frankly, quite embarrassing and appalling. The receptionist did not thank us once for choosing to stay at the hotel and asked if we needed a limousine service to the airport. We said we would be taking a cab and she said go to the ground floor to get a cab. No assistance was offered with our 5 bags - even though we were clearly struggling with the bags. I consider this quite lamentable- and it marred the overall service experience.

What we did like about the Hotel were the amenities and small quirky touches. However, unless a good rate is offered, I would not say the experience was up to par.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank werf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPHKG, General Manager at Cordis, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Hi Werf,

I certainly want to assure you that LP is very much a five star hotel, but the two issues you mentioned clearly didn't leave you with that impression.

It's all of our roles to help guests with luggage, so that's a pretty fundamental miss, and hasn't let a great departing impression. Hope other elements of your stay were enjoyable, as was your time in HK, and that we get a chance to welcome you back one day.

sincerely

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

There's a great vibe within this hotel that really set the tone for my trip in Hong Kong.
Fast paced, stylish, sexy, and exciting are what I think of upon entering the hotel and checking in.
I guess I sound like a commercial,but I was genuinely impressed by the place.

The location is very good- right by a dai pai dong and some other excellent eateries as well as the metro.

They gave me two key cards which was also very handy, so I could charge stuff in my room while I went around HK all day.

There's a pool, but sadly the view at the top isn't as cool as you'd might think.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Met up with London friends in Hong Kong in February,chose a Club Suite and had a Blast.The rooms were spacious and had everything including a great spa.
Could not fault the staff,my wife really liked that every time we returned to the Hotel after an outing we were greeted with"Welcome back and a smile".
The Club was great value their late afternoon " Drinkies & Nibblies" is not to be missed,home made canapés washed down with a glass or two or three of Moët.
The Langham is our Hong Kong home.

Room Tip: The Club is more expensive but if you add up the benefits it is excellent value and makes for a wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by friends of ours who had stayed here last year. The hotel is different to the usual modern looking ones we normally choose. The langham hotel is very grand and well worth the stay. We stayed in a double room which was amazing. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help. On our first night we arrived around 11.30pm. My husband is a huge football fan and although they weren't showing the game he wanted to watch In the hotel, the porter found a bar a couple of minutes walk away from the hotel which was showing it. We were a bit disappointed to find that our room had twin bids rather than a double but once we bought this to their attention they were quick this out for us. The hotel is in a perfect location...we either walked everywhere or caught the tube which was just a few minutes walk away. Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,820 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,891 reviews
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,957 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hong Kong

Been to Cordis, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Hong Kong

Property: Cordis, Hong Kong
Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $152 - $367
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordis, Hong Kong is an upscale 5-star hotel located in the vibrant Mongkok district of Kowloon. This 660 room modern hotel is directly linked to the Langham Place shopping mall and Mongkok MTR station. All rooms and suites are equipped with high speed wifi, a free-to-use smartphone, LED TVs. Our wellness facilities include a fully equipped fitness center, two fitness studios and outdoor heated pool, along with the Chuan Spa, which features over 60 unique treatments. Dining options include the two Michelin starred contemporary Cantonese restaurant, Ming Court, the trendy European restaurant and bar, Alibi – Wine Dine Be Social, and The Garage Bar, the new outdoor food truck destination bar, as well as The Place, the hotel’s all day dining restaurant. The hotel also features some of Hong Kong’s best meeting and event facilities including Kowloon’s highest ballroom, The Star Room, and the 600 seater Ballroom, which includes a 7m x 4m built in LED wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Cordis, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing