We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
AU$228
Expedia.com
AU$270
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
KLOOK
AU$184
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,195)
Filter reviews
2,195 results
Traveller rating
493
999
504
120
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
493
999
504
120
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent location a harbour view room late check kowloon shopping mtr floor hk peninsula avenue exit china
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,187 - 1,192 of 2,195 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2012

So, I am a 6'1" male and I can touch the ceiling of the corridors/hallways with my elbows...just to give you all an idea of how cramped this hotel is. The lobby is decent, only 3 tiny couches for guests to sit in and being that you are in Tsim Sha Tsui district by the Peninsula, you would hope that there would be more...

Service is superb! Very helpful staff, right above TST MTR station which is great, room service is also very quick and friendly.

Now to the actual room....OMG...tiny is not the word for it, I think we had a total of 30 square feet, we couldn't even open both of our luggage at the same time because there wasn't enough space, I couldn't even get by my wife in the tiny hallway from door to bed because it was so tight. There is a serious toilet water issue, it comes out brown and the entire bathroom smells like sewage the second you turn down the freezing cold A/C. So it's either my wife freezes to death and we catch colds because of the A/C or we live in a sewage smelling room. This did however motivate us to spend all of our time outside of our room and hotel...which is why we found the services and lounge areas of the hotels so disappointing. For the $250/night we spent, we expected a wee bit more breathing room and a bathroom that didn't smell every single day....can you imagine waking up to dirty brown water in your toilet every morning and that sewage smell...at any rate, we both used the bathrooms on the 2nd floor which were public and much cleaner.

Now the bed, I think it's a single because as much as I do love my wife, I do like a little space between my shoulders and hers. The bed was so tiny, we both barely fit on it together and we are two skinny people. To also describe the room size better, they had a 12" TV on the wall and we could see it perfectly while lying on the bed...yes, it's that cramped....

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us.
Your comment is valuable to us and it always motivates us to do better.
For your comment regarding to the sewage, please accept our apology; we have already reviewed it with the department concerned for further investigation.
We sincerely hope that you will not judge us by this single experience and looking forward to having another opportunity to restore your faith with us.

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I am staying in this hotel since 1986. Recently I read reviews of this hotel and found that it has recently re-furnished. I booked a partial-harbor view room. When I reached hotel, check-in was smooth. I was given room on 7th floor and being harbor view, it was the last one room. But the moment I entered the room, a bad smell welcomed me. I asked the housekeeping who came and sprayed the room but of no help. I asked the reception to change room. They allotted me room on 12th floor. I requested them to transfer my bags with as I had to go for a meeting. BUT reception asked me to wait in newly allotted room till luggage is transferred. I stayed and waited in my room for over 1 hours and after repeated calls at reception my bags were transferred to my room. But I was already late for my meeting so I had to cancel that. But no regret or sorry from the hotel side.
Next day as my flight was at 8 pm, while making booking I requested for late checkout say 4 pm and hotel promised me that they will do do their best to accommodate it. BUT when I requested at reception, they told me that maximum they can do is to allow checkout at 2 pm. I requested again and showed the emails etc. then they said that best they can do is 3 pm and if I want 4 pm, I will have to pay half day charges. It was strange for me as being so old customer, I was expecting better treatment from hotel. They asked me that after 3 pm, I can wait in lobby. But in lobby they hardly have one seating arrangement of 4 or 5 persons which is always full. So i spend around 2 hours in lobby standing.
The only advantage of this hotel is the location, right now the Nathan road, next to harbor. Rooms are small and I didnt find much difference even after refurnishing. Very small flat tv on the wall. No place to keep luggage but on floor. If you open bags then you can not move around in the room.
after this time experience, I will definitely try some other hotel next time.

Room tip: Dont pay extra for Harbor view room as its not worth as its partial only and very small view of harbor.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atycoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and taking the time to share your experience with us.
Our hotel is ideally located at the city centre and guests found it very convenient.
We first have to apologize for the room assignment and luggage arrangement; we have already reviewed your comment and passed it to the departments concerned for further improvement.
For your comment regarding to late check out, we understand on your need; and the hotel has already tried the best to arrange a later check out time. However, since September is a peak season, it might fail to best accommodate your need. We are sorry to cause you so much inconvenience.
We sincerely value you as our loyal customer and hope that you will not judge us by this single experience. We look forward to having another opportunity to restore your faith with us.

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed for 2 nights! A nice hotel in terms of location. Rooms are very small, too difficult for a person to walk. It has connectivity to the metro station through its basement. The breakfast buffet was okay, not too good. Harbor and the con ton road is just 5 min by walk.

P.S. Some of the staff members were rude.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rijulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you very much for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and taking the time to share your experience here.
Your comment always motivates us to provide the best hospitality to our guests. In fact, our hotel is ideally located in the hub of Tsimshatsui and you can access to all parts of Hong Kong easily.
It is our honor to serve you.
Thank you once again for staying here and we look forward to seeing you soon!

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The room is small. With 3 person sharing, luggage still can place with some arrangement. Room is clean. Pillow too soft but after requested for extra pillow, it make to do. Room service also fast n good. Eg, we requested for iron n iron board n extra pillow. They bring to us less than 15 mins. Location is near mtr.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazelfoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel.
The hotel is situated atop the MTR station to provide convenience to guests; you may travel to all part of Hong Kong by this medium.
It is our pleasure to serve you and we sincerely wish you a delightful stay here.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon on your next visit!

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Booked to stay here with a group off friends at the end of September. The hotel is superbly situated in Hong Kong with very easy access to all the sights and public transport. The rooms are very nice clean contain everything you need but are a bit on the small side so be prepared to live out of your suitcase as there are no drawers as such to put your clothes into. A small wardrobe to hang things up that's about it. The staff were great and very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to help you to enjoy your stay.Breakfast is very good with a wide selection of choice and very flexible on times to enjoy it. On the whole its very good value for money.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryScotland49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us. Our hotel is ideally located in the hub of Hong Kong and you can travel to all parts of the city within a short distance. Our staff are encouraged to know about your delightful stay especially for the breakfast. The Kowloon Hotel always aims at providing the best value and hospitality to our guests and we would continue to do so. Thank you once again for staying here and we look forward to seeing you another reunion here soon!

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews