We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When after one year, the quality improves and staff treats you like home!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“When after one year, the quality improves and staff treats you like home!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

It is my favorite in Hong Kong, I n+know it is not a bargain, burt is ti a Hotel i am always dreaming of.. The view of Victoria Hoarbour, the Shangri la smell as you open the door .. It is unforgettable and it stays in your mind

Room Tip: Choose a high room facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeBanaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,502
    682
    136
    35
    31
See reviews for
672
1,201
158
828
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Late check-ins fine. Concierge brilliant. Bell boys fantastic. Tapas bar excellent.

The views of the harbour and island (if the skies are clear) are un-beatable.

Great location and great service - all in a great city. You'd be really mad NOT to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great airport pick up, but followed by rude reception experience. We had been booked into a room for quadruple occupancy by our agent - the reception told us this was not correct. They then tried to fob us off with a room on a non-smoking floor that stunk of fags and that was next to the surprisingly noisy lift shaft, saying they would put in two temporary beds. Only with the help of the bell boy were we able to get the room moved as reception (9 floors down) assured me the room I was standing in did not smell of smoke!

We were all tired after a long flight and just wanted to get some food and go to bed. We were advised that the buffet meal running in the restuarant would enable us to get fed quickly and with food the kids would be happy to eat when tired. We sat down in the busy restaurant and helped ourselves to a quick light meal. Stunned to receive the bill which equated to over £120 for a couple of plates of pasta, a bowl of noodles, a bit of sushi & a couple of puddings!
Clearly the buffet - the quality of the food and service was great - was ideal for a large blow out meal, but not a quick light bite before bed!

Things did get better thereafter, but I never quite forgave them for the poor start to our time in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift shaft & take care to
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kl
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Visited HK at the back-end of Chinese New Year and booked a room at an agreeable rate via the company travel-agent. Upon arrival (11AM), room wasn't yet available and, as we were up since 4AM, asked for other possibilities. We were upsold to a club-suite which was of major proportions and well-kempt.

The hotel staff were very charming, well-mannered and helpful. Our room upgrade gave us access to the Horizon Club lounge for breakfast and evening cocktails. The quality of the offering was great as was the service.

We tried three of the hotel's restaurants: the Chinese (Peking Duck) was surprisingly good value; the Tapas Bar was just what we wanted for late night snacks and; the breakfast buffet restaurant (tried one morning) had an awesome selection of food (including some off-menu items that the chefs were happy to prepare). Didn't have time to try the Italian but the menu ideas / prices are good.

Location is great, just around the corner from an underground MTR station and close to Nathan Road, the ferry terminals and the Penninsula for afternoon tea :). 10 minute taxi ride to the night markets and a fabulous view across to HK Island.

Based on my report, a friend has just booked a suite on the Horizon Club level as the hotel has kindly agreed to allow the couple + their two children to share a suite + there is baby-sitting available.

Highly recommended !

Room Tip: The suites on the Horizon Club level are outstanding - ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wotney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Over the past 30 years, I have lost count how many times I have stayed at this wonderful hotel. I was back in Hong Kong on business recently and the hotel has lost none of it's high standards. Staff are so friendly and attentive to whatever you need. I stayed in a Harbour View room on the business floor and you just could not fault it. There is something about this hotel which puts it a cut above the others. I had a very intense meeting planned for the following morning and was able to attend it fully relaxed and focussed. The room is very spacious and comfortable, and the Executive Lounge serves enough food and alcohol during the Happy Hour that you really don't need to eat afterwards. The Staff are there to cater to your needs and by golly they do!! Tsim Sha Tsui is very well located and right next to the MTR station, so everywhere is within striking distance. I've experienced most of the top hotels in Hong Kong over the years and always come back here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,458 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,435 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,047 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $281 - $582
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing