We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Outstanding service in a quiet location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 703 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Outstanding service in a quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent one night at the Island Shangri-La Hotel en route to China and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is located a short taxi ride from Hong Kong Station on the hillside of Victoria Island, opposite Hong Kong Park and within easy walking distance of the Peak Tram.

The staff at this hotel was outstanding: the doormen, the bell boys, reception, the concierge, the restaurant staff were all exceptional offering efficient, friendly and helpful service, always with a smile and making one feel like an honoured guest. I would return to this hotel for this reason alone.

The room was large and beautifully appointed, with a fabulous view of the harbour and the lights of Kowloon. The bathroom was enormous and spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was to-die-for, by far the best I have ever had, with an outstanding selection of western, Chinese and Japanese cuisine. On our arrival, we felt like a light evening meal, but were surprised to find most nearby restaurants closed for the Easter holiday, so we chose the Thai restaurant by the pool in the hotel, where we enjoyed a lovely selection of dishes.

On previous visits to Hong Kong I have stayed in Kowloon, where I've enjoyed its hustle and bustle and its vibrancy, but I loved the tranquility of this hotel in the more peaceful location. It is easy to walk down to the harbor to the train or the Star Ferry for the trip across the harbour.

I would most certainly make this hotel my first choice in Hong Kong in the future.

Room Tip: The view from the harbour view rooms is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,430
    297
    57
    17
    21
See reviews for
298
472
118
694
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
On the road
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

All you need: Excellent service, good location and a wonderful view from the window! Great brakfast, well equipped gym, car transport to the airport very conveinient, cozy bar and restaurant Petrus on the top floor highly recommended. Only negative comment is that concierge was not able to recommend much places outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiisaineko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quezon City
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is quite old but they are able to maintain and upgrade their service and rooms. Have been staying here for 20 years and every time we stay here, they keep surprising us with their impeccable service

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I will stay in this hotel in the future, the hotel staff are very friendly and knowledgeable, the breakfast in cafe too was one of the best I ever had , I requested harbor view but when I checked in the room was partially harbor view, this was the only issue I had in Island Shangri-La Hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sisal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I tend to stay at the Island Shangri-la when in HK due to its location (close to Central and also above Pacific Place and Admiralty MTR).

Positives

The staff are excellent throughout the hotel. On my latest trip Ivy from the Spa/pool warrants special praise as does Penny from the Front Desk. 6 out of 5 for her. The room service is quick and the breakfast in Cafe Too outstanding - you need to leave yourself about an hour to deal with it properly (and then go back to your room as you have eaten so much....). The room has a good TV with decent TV channels (but lacks a DVD player). And there is free WiFi throughout the hotel, which is great. The pool is also good and never seems to be busy despite the size of the hotel.

Negatives

The bathrooms can be a bit disappointing depending on what room you get. For the price of the hotel I would expect a separate shower rather than just a bath with a shower attachment. Plus I really don't like the twins rooms and I seem to get those more often these days - the huge king size beds are great but the twins are basically just two singles that are not that big even for a single traveller.

But a good hotel and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Insist on a king room. And try to get a harbour view, although the mountain view is also quite good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeejTeejTeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 703 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 703 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,017 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,490 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $450 - $1,064
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing