We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 out of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“4.5 out of 5”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I tend to stay at the Island Shangri-la when in HK due to its location (close to Central and also above Pacific Place and Admiralty MTR).

Positives

The staff are excellent throughout the hotel. On my latest trip Ivy from the Spa/pool warrants special praise as does Penny from the Front Desk. 6 out of 5 for her. The room service is quick and the breakfast in Cafe Too outstanding - you need to leave yourself about an hour to deal with it properly (and then go back to your room as you have eaten so much....). The room has a good TV with decent TV channels (but lacks a DVD player). And there is free WiFi throughout the hotel, which is great. The pool is also good and never seems to be busy despite the size of the hotel.

Negatives

The bathrooms can be a bit disappointing depending on what room you get. For the price of the hotel I would expect a separate shower rather than just a bath with a shower attachment. Plus I really don't like the twins rooms and I seem to get those more often these days - the huge king size beds are great but the twins are basically just two singles that are not that big even for a single traveller.

But a good hotel and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Insist on a king room. And try to get a harbour view, although the mountain view is also quite good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeejTeejTeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,546
    321
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
329
518
126
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I try to stay at the Island Shangri-La whenever I travel to HK. I have stayed at many hotels in both Hong Kong and on the Kowloon side and still prefer to stay at the Shangri-La. From the moment you pull up outside the doors you are made to feel welcome. The staff have always been helpful and courteous and the service levels are outstanding. I it sets a benchmark for other hotels to follow. Rooms are spacious with everything that you might need. You get a great view of the harbour through the full size windows. The green tea on arrival is always hot a very refreshing. The buffet restaurant has a wide selection of choice for both breakfast and dinner. However, the service and luxury does come at a cost and it can be expensive.

Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

I stay at the Island Shangri-la when I travel to HK and have done so for almost 15 years. If I were to bring my family to HK I would stay here too. The staff are excellent and the hotel rooms, whilst getting a little dated compared to other 5star hotels around Asia, are spacious and very comfortable. The restaurants are great with one of the best Japanese in HK and dont miss the breakfast. Too much to choose from its amazing. Also has a good gym and excellent spa facilities.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ooost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Staff excellent. The hotel is great from the rugs in the elevators so you know the day of the week, to the fresh floral arrangements, to the jasmine tea in the afternoon, to the excellent food in all the restaurants and even the smell of the hotel is awesome!

Room Tip: Become a golden circle member and definitely pay for the "business" floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerriW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We arranged hotel transport from the airport and the service swung into action from the moment we left the customs area. We were escorted to our driver and car which was ready for us at the door just a three or four minute walk from the customs exit. There is even WiFi in the car on the 30 minute drive into town. The driver made a very discrete call to the hotel as we neared and on arrival at the hotel we were met at the curb side by staff that escorted us directly to our room and completed our check in there. We had a standard room on the first visit and had opted for a Peak View. There was dense fog so not much of any view and we were glad not to have chosen the harbour view rooms. However, when the fog cleared we had a very good harbour view through the wide-angle plate glass windows.
The rooms are of a good size and have ample storage. Every sort of International electrical plug fitting is recessed away on the desk and there is free WiFi with a good signal. Each room has a dedicated fax machine with its own number so that guests can receive and send messages directly. The hotel also uses it to distribute information, billing summaries and so on. There is no need to describe the bed, fixtures and fitting and bathroom. They were all up to the standard of a hotel of this quality. My only minor complaint with the bathroom was that the shower was over the bath. I prefer a walk in shower and dislike bath-shower combinations which for us older travellers are slippery and difficult to step into and out of. On our return visit two weeks later we opted for a club room and again found the bath-shower combination. I mentioned this in the survey we were asked to complete by email after getting home and had a very nice reply from the Manager noting my preference and saying they would try to accommodate me on this point on my next stay. I will be there again next month so let’s see.
The buffet breakfast is an enormous spread and when I commented that there was no bran in the selection of cereals I was promised that it would be there the next day. It was. On the second visit the same month in a Horizon Club room there is access to the Club Lounge with great harbour views. Breakfast here is almost as lavish as the main buffet breakfast in Café Too, and has the advantage of a full waiter service for the cooked part of the meal, prepared to order.
The hotel is connected to Pacific Plaza along with three other hotels. Admiralty Metro station is nearby and accessible by covered walkway and Admiralty is one stop from Central. Pacific Plaza has many high value shops but seems just a bit on the sterile side compared with the action and buzz of Central.
Three bookings in less than six weeks indicates that the hotel has my approval.

Room Tip: A Peak View room on the club floors is a bit cheaper and with access to the Club Lounge where the Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,543 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $442 - $740
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing