We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property, but in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Ranked #73 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stay at the Excelsior quite often. The hotel is decent in all regards, and has recently undergone some renovations. I love staying in Causeway Bay, and this hotel provides good value in that location. Nothing is cheap in Hong Kong. But the service is pretty good, the views from the rooms are nice, and there is lot to do within a few minutes walk of the hotel.

Room Tip: I was in #1801 most recently. For a cheaper room it had great views, and was larger than the typical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,541 - 1,545 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

My group of 4 went to Hong Kong during the Easter holidays and we stayed in The Excelsior. Although there was a queue to check-in, the reception was pretty fast and we had our rooms, upgraded to a higher floor. The ambience was excellent and everything was orderly.

In fact, I left an umbrella behind after checking out. The hotel wrote and offered to post it to me (at a fee) and this little detail impressed me too. Integrity and attentiveness.

Another points worth mentioning is that this hotel is centrally located, just a minute walk to the MTR station. Shopping and dining outlets are all at the doorsteps. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed for 5D/4N with my whole family, we occupied 4 rooms. Each room has different views but what made us stayed again(and again) this this hotel is its services - all the staffs(reception, bellboys and housekeeping) are friendly and accommodating. Location is just another plus and great factor.

I would like to commend on the services offered b MS, BETTY LAM for accommodating our needs on each room. She was very helpful and friendly when we were checking in.

I am looking forward to my next trip and stay in The Excelsior, Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovehkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We booked a trip to watch the Hong Kong 7's with Gulliver’s Travel company as tickets for the 3 day tournament are impossible to get on the open market (in fact a number of people who bought tickets on ebay this year were turned away at the gate as the tickets were fake.
The Excelsior hotel is in the Causway Bay part of Hong Kong and easy walking distance to stadium. This is hotel which came with the trip package, so we didn't search through trip advisor advice beforehand.
We arrived after a long flight and were met at the door by very helpful staff who took our bags before we had checked in and brought them to our room. There was no expectation of a tip and the porters were very pleasant.
The check in was easy and our room was on the 23rd floor. We had not booked a harbour view room as it was a lot more expensive, but we had a good side view of the harbour and Kowloon,
Our room was clean and had all the facilities which are standard in a room in 2012 including a base unit for MP3 players. The only thing lacking was free internet access so we limited our time on line on our trip. If you don't bring an ipad or computer the only access on line is through the business centre at great expense.
Also Hong Kong does not have internet cafes (that we could find) and free wireless internet access around the city is virtually impossible to access with an iphone. Bring an ipad or equivalent with you if you want access to the world.
The bathroom of the room was compact and clean. The room was a little dated, but not an issue unless you want boutique style. The day cleaning was very efficient and usually done by the time we got back from breakfast.
Breakfast was very impressive. There is a vast buffet with every cuisine catered for. You can be healthy or really go for it. The staff at breakfast need the correct day's ticket you will be issued with when you check in. All of the staff speak good English and a particularly helpful member of staff was Andisy (if I can remember to spell his name correctly) who got us extra large glasses of orange juice without prompting, saving us trips to and from the buffet.
By eating a hearty breakfast we were set up for the day and did not eat again until supper.
The concierge was very helpful telling us where to catch the bus to Stanley etc.
The MRT is a 2 min walk from the hotel and the star Ferry is a 10 min walk over to Kowloon.
There are loads of places to eat around the hotel and the shopping is brilliant.
We only ate once at the hotel in Dickens bar on the evening we were checking out.
This meal was much more expensive than those around and about in the area, but it was just easier to eat there. The food is European in style and was yummy. However we loved the street food and Dim sum restaurants where you can eat very cheaply.
We both felt very comfortable and enjoyed our stay. We would stay at the Excelsior again and would recommend it as a good base for a trip to HK. A number of airlines use it as their hotel and I was informed by our flight attendant that the excelsior has been the base for BA for 25 years which is a credit to them. Hong Kong is a fantastic city to visit and the 7s rugby is a brilliant experience. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imogen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We recently spent a couple of nights in The Excelsior Hotel in Causeway Bay and really enjoyed our stay there. I lived in Hong Kong for almost 30 years and used The Excelsior over the years for entertaining but never actually stayed there so we decided to give it a try. We got a walk-in rate of HK$ 1,600 which seemed quite reasonable for a nice room on the 27th floor overlooking Victoria Park and the eastern harbour.

The hotel is quite a busy one but the check-in was done very efficiently and the staff were all great, in particular a young man called Jacky who was very efficient, helpful and good-natured. The room was not large but well-designed and offered lots of storage space for clothes. The bathroom too was well-equipped and spotlessly clean. The rooms probably need a makeover as they are beginning to show their age but hopefully the hotel will renovate their rooms in the next couple of years to make them a bit more contemporary. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and we slept very well.

The real advantage of The Excelsior is its location which is right in the heart of Causeway Bay so everything is only a few minutes' walk away- shops, restaurants, transport. There is a nice Starbucks just opposite the hotel entrance in the World Trade Centre which is great for breakfast if you do not want to spend hotel prices for the buffet breakfast. The World Trade Center also has a good selection of other restaurants- we ate at the Hainan Shaoye and enjoyed some excellent Singaporean/Malaysian food.

The doormen at The Excelsior are excellent- friendly and very knowledgeable about getting around Hong Kong and taxis are plentiful. The MTR station is literally a two minute walk from the hotel and there are also numerous buses and minubuses which make getting around very easy and straightforward.

If you want to be in the heart of Causeway Bay you cannot do better than The Excelsior. It is a Mandarin Oriental hotel and therefore is well run and well maintained with friendly, helpful and efficient staff. We would definitely recommend The Excelsior to anyone wanting to stay in heart of Causeway Bay.

Room Tip: If you don't want to spend to have a full harbour-view room, we would recommend the east-facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesinmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#23 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,463 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#118 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#99 of 725 in Hong Kong
612 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#95 of 725 in Hong Kong
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hong Kong

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Address: 281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $242 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 869
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, the shopping centre of Hong Kong Island, The Excelsior, Hong Kong is only a five-minute drive from the city's central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The hotel features five exclusive Executive Floors with a private lounge, a fully equipped business centre, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre featuring advanced fitness equipment and dedicated spa facilities, as well as extensive meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom is equipped with a free smartphone with unlimited Internet access, complimentary local and international calls to five countries. Perfect for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing