We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #3 of 703 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

Great rooms, great view, great service! Couln't made a better choice

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,292
    591
    101
    16
    17
See reviews for
730
2,323
312
843
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I, of course, agree with all the accolades for the Icon. It is a wonderful hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our recent six-night stay. However, I think travelers making a first trip to Hong Kong might want to consider the location of the Icon. First, it is in Kowloon, not Hong Kong itself, so if you want to be in the heart of the international city, the Icon may not be your place. Of course, there are easy links to Hong Kong island, by both ferry and subway. But the MTR station is about a 15 minute walk and the ferry terminal even further. The hotel does provide a shuttle, but then you need to be on the shuttle’s schedule. And we never did figure out how and where to meet the shuttle when returning to Kowloon. From the Star Ferry terminal, it is easy and cheap to just take a taxi. We always walked back from the MTR, but never found a straightforward route until our last evening there (along the waterfront and then cross over at the Nikko). So location is not necessarily a negative, so much as it is something to consider. The Hotel Icon does not sit in the heart of the action. But then it is hardly out of the way. And if you are planning a day trip to Guangzhou or going on to China, the train station is a 5 minute walk from the hotel, along elevated walkways so you don’t have to deal with the traffic. One big plus for the hotel’s location. Finally, my tip to anyone planning on a stay at the Icon: pay the extra dollars for a harbor view. We were on the 21st floor and the view of Victoria Harbour was truly spectacular.

Room Tip: Spring for a harbor view -- it's worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesV79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Everything you read about the hotel is true, it is very good. The decor is quirky and interesting, it looks like the interior decorators have been given free reign to go crazy.
When booking the hotel I was a little concerned about the location, however the hotel runs a free shuttle bus very 20 mkns to the Peninsula hotel and Harbour City shopping centre. From either of the stops it's an easy walk to the Star Ferry or MRT. There is also an abundance of cheap restaurants around the hotel.
If it is your first time to HK I recommend you pay a little extra for a Harbour view, it is truly spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetpeaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I visited the Icon during HK 7's. Checked in for 2 nights. Just the best "home base" I ever had.

Pool and Spa area are amazing. An massage I booked aswell. It was just perfect and absolutely relaxing.

Breakfast was outstanding and the room service as fast as its possible!

Place to be in hongkong. And for sure I'll check in there again, if I travelle to HK next time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catcha82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a beautiful, contemporary hotel. Under a year old and everything is perfect. Great service - plenty of staff to help with whatever need you have. The rooms are very nice - the bathrooms are great. Used the gym, which is one of the nicest I've ever seen. Ate at all three restaurants. Only complaint - had dinner one night at Above and Beyond and thought it was mediocre. Wished we had eaten that dinner at The Market, which looked fabulous! Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 703 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
W Hong Kong
W Hong Kong
#10 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $318 - $756
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia APAC and Agoda so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing