We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Great rooms, great view, great service! Couln't made a better choice

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Matthias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,435 - 4,439 of 6,031 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

I, of course, agree with all the accolades for the Icon. It is a wonderful hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our recent six-night stay. However, I think travelers making a first trip to Hong Kong might want to consider the location of the Icon. First, it is in Kowloon, not Hong Kong itself, so if you want to be in the heart of the international city, the Icon may not be your place. Of course, there are easy links to Hong Kong island, by both ferry and subway. But the MTR station is about a 15 minute walk and the ferry terminal even further. The hotel does provide a shuttle, but then you need to be on the shuttle’s schedule. And we never did figure out how and where to meet the shuttle when returning to Kowloon. From the Star Ferry terminal, it is easy and cheap to just take a taxi. We always walked back from the MTR, but never found a straightforward route until our last evening there (along the waterfront and then cross over at the Nikko). So location is not necessarily a negative, so much as it is something to consider. The Hotel Icon does not sit in the heart of the action. But then it is hardly out of the way. And if you are planning a day trip to Guangzhou or going on to China, the train station is a 5 minute walk from the hotel, along elevated walkways so you don’t have to deal with the traffic. One big plus for the hotel’s location. Finally, my tip to anyone planning on a stay at the Icon: pay the extra dollars for a harbor view. We were on the 21st floor and the view of Victoria Harbour was truly spectacular.

Room Tip: Spring for a harbor view -- it's worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesV79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Everything you read about the hotel is true, it is very good. The decor is quirky and interesting, it looks like the interior decorators have been given free reign to go crazy.
When booking the hotel I was a little concerned about the location, however the hotel runs a free shuttle bus very 20 mkns to the Peninsula hotel and Harbour City shopping centre. From either of the stops it's an easy walk to the Star Ferry or MRT. There is also an abundance of cheap restaurants around the hotel.
If it is your first time to HK I recommend you pay a little extra for a Harbour view, it is truly spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SweetpeaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I visited the Icon during HK 7's. Checked in for 2 nights. Just the best "home base" I ever had.

Pool and Spa area are amazing. An massage I booked aswell. It was just perfect and absolutely relaxing.

Breakfast was outstanding and the room service as fast as its possible!

Place to be in hongkong. And for sure I'll check in there again, if I travelle to HK next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catcha82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a beautiful, contemporary hotel. Under a year old and everything is perfect. Great service - plenty of staff to help with whatever need you have. The rooms are very nice - the bathrooms are great. Used the gym, which is one of the nicest I've ever seen. Ate at all three restaurants. Only complaint - had dinner one night at Above and Beyond and thought it was mediocre. Wished we had eaten that dinner at The Market, which looked fabulous! Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,800 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 723 in Hong Kong
645 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hong Kong

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $301 - $718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing