We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Y Loft (Youth Square)
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This place is located a bit far from the city centre, but it's beside metro station and a small shopping centre, so it's pretty convenient, and the area felt safe.

The room was quite simple, but tastefully decorated with IKEA furniture. I liked the vibrant colours and the youthful feeling of the room. Everything was fresh and clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Y-Loft is a perfect place for a short stay on a budget - well worth the money!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    164
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
58
65
59
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I originally chose to stay at Y-loft because I was looking for a budget hotel and took a chance that I wouldn't mind the trade-off for convenience. I'm happy to say it was a fine trade, and I would recommend it for anyone. I'm 50 and traveled as a single woman; feeling safe was important to me. The room, building, and area surrounding the hotel all felt very safe, including in early morning and late night. My room was large - very large by HK standards! - and exceptionally clean; wifi was easily accessed, and there was even a hairdryer. I wouldn't bother with the "balcony", though, as it was a walled concrete space...nice to walk out on for a bit, but not exactly a balcony. On-site laundry was convenient though expensive (60 HKD for wash and dry I think) and a microwave also. There are specific directions in another TA review, which were helpful finding the reception area the first time - it's difficult to describe, but very typical in a HK sort of way! MTR was very very convenient - probably 5-7 minutes from your room.

Although the MTR ride back to "downtown" didn't seem long at all, once you're back at the hotel you probably won't want to make the trek out again. This was ok for me, as I would usually start my day early, and then be ready stay in once I was back in the evening. In the adjacent mall, there are a couple of Japanese noodle places (Ajisen, ?), which were ok; I didn't try the restaurant in the same building as the hotel.

My favorite part of staying at Y-loft was the glimpse it gave me into the non-touristic side of HK. By the time you reach the last several MTR stops (Chai Wan being the very last), it is mostly local people riding, and it was interesting to just watch people going about their day-to-day life. By just walking a bit into the neighborhood and crossing the overpasses that connect the mall with the high-rise residences you felt in a world far away from the tourist sites. A little Cantonese is helpful but you can manage without. Each morning I went into one of the high rises where there are various cafeterias, etc. (McDonald's, too), and had breakfast at a different place each day. One evening I found some waffle and meatball vendors on a neighborhood street.

Another fun activity was to take the MTR to Shau Kei Wan, and then ride the ding ding tram all the way to the other end at Sheung Wan. I did this one morning, watching the city wake up, and once at night, enjoying all the lights but happy that I wasn't having to push through the crowds at the end of a long day.

This was my third visit to HK; the other two times were with my family and we stayed at the Salisbury YMCA. I only stayed at Y-Loft this time because the Salisbury was full. However in retrospect I'm happy that things turned out this way because of the different perspective it gave me on regular life in HK. If this were my first visit or if I had small children, I would probably choose the Salisbury because of the convenience; however for a second visit, if you feel that your itinerary can accommodate a bit more travel time and you're interested in the non-touristy aspects of HK, I'd recommend Y-loft. The rooms and comfort level are comparable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank SanFranciscoRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed 2 nights with a mate in a twin room heading back from China to New Zealand and having found an online deal at a great price, I have to say the entire stay was a great experience.

Y-Loft was awesomely located - literally by the Chai Wan MTR station, in a pretty peaceful part of town - even though it was the last stop on the MTR line, it was a great location because the actual station was so close.

The rooms were not massive, but they had everything you could need and they were super tidy.

I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeah-Baby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zambia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We found this place booking.com at a very reasonable price and were pleasantly surprised at the quality. Although it is a bit out of the way (about an extra 15 mins on the metro) the rooms were clean, large and comfortable. There was wired internet in the room and although there was no breakfast available on site there were shops and metro station a few minutes walking distance. All in all a very good alternative to staying in town

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zambiamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Y-Loft is within a 3min brisk walk (in high foot traffic commute hours) from the Chai Wan MTR terminal. Knowing that the CityFlyer Route A12 bus stop are right by the building will ease your mind on how to get back to HKG when u depart HK. Don't expect Y-Loft to be like a 3/4/5 stars hotel. For a reasonable price, you get a comfy, clean and decent sized room with wired and wi-fi internet access. DIY laundry facilities are available, for $HK 60.00 per wash+dry. The registration area is located on the 12th floor. The elevator may be hard to find, especially if one arrive late in the evening. There is a convenient store and a supermarket next door to the Y-Loft where you can get the amenities Y-Loft doesn't provide. Chai Wan is on the eastern end of the island, and is relatively remote by local standard compared to Causeway Bay or WanChai.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t0pgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#115 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
The Mahjong
#1 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Loft (Youth Square)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Loft (Youth Square)

Property: Y Loft (Youth Square)
Address: 12/F, Youth Square, No.238 Chai Wan Road | Chai Wan, Hong Kong 000000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $80 - $195
Hotel Class:3 star — Y Loft (Youth Square) 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Loft houses 148 rooms located in the Main Block and Hostel Block of Youth Square. Room selection includes Twin Rooms, as well as Twin Rooms With Balcony, Triple Rooms, House of Six, Duplex and Accessible Rooms. Equipped with full-service facilities like The Oasis, SkyTrack, common area, fitness centre and laundry marts, etc., Y Loft provides a perfect accommodation for budget travelers all over the world. It also offers concession rate to youth organization or youth activities held by non-profit organization or International Student Identity Card (ISIC) and International Youth Travel Card (IYTC) members. Y Loft has been awarded the Certificate of Excellence for three consecutive years in 2012 – 2014 and 2016 by TripAdvisor in recognition of its well-appointed facilities and the attentive service provided by staff. Y Loft further received a Bravo Badge and Certificate of Recognition from TripAdvisor and an online travel agent respectively, for delivering good levels of guest service and experience this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HostelWorld, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Y Loft (Youth Square) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y-Loft (Youth Square) Hotel Hong Kong
Y Loft (Youth Square) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing