We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything but the bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
Ranked #161 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved everything but the bed!”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I booked this hotel through their website and on arrival we got upgraded to a suite which was great and meant lots more space. There were a few teething problems with the way it worked as the bedroom door had a separate lock to the lounge and you needed the key card in a slot to make the electricity work and if you left the bedroom door open the alarm went off... but they sorted it all out very quickly! Great staff on reception!

Can I just say that the shower was the BEST hotel shower I have had in a very long time.. full rain shower. The room came with an ipod radio docking station which was great. It was really modern and everything felt new. The view from 23rd floor was good. The location of the hotel was really good too as only a 10 min walk from the amazing Times Square.. well amazing if you LOVE shopping anyway!
Breakfast was good for free.. it is a continental breakfast with pastries, cereal, fruit and tea/coffee/orange juice.. perfect to get your day off to a good start!

My only negative about the Regal iClub and the reason why I possibly wouldn't go back (which is a shame as all other things were great) is the bed was REALLY hard.. both of us found it really uncomfortable. If I hear about them getting new softer beds I will definitely be back!

TOP TIP:- if you are staying at Regal iClub - to get free transport to/from the airport.. get the airport express and then jump on the free shuttle bus that goes to Novotel Century and walk from there (the driver will show you the way!)...

Room Tip: I booked an iBusiness room but got upgraded to the suite. Perhaps booking directly through them is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    229
    86
    29
    31
See reviews for
54
113
69
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

A good central location on Hong Kong Island between Wan Chai and Causeway Bay... Stayed in an "iBusines room... The decor is a modern white on white... Large comfy king bed and a lot of glass in the room... Fridge and microwave in room... We got breakfast included with our stay at no extra charge (many nights at Regal hotels)... Small little restaurant on 1st floor nothing gourmet but does the job perfectly... Would stay here anytime..!

Room Tip: They have 3 types of rooms, iSelect (16m), iPlus (28m), iBusiness (33m) and suites (2 bedroom with c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy1pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The front desk staff are polite and very helpful. Location is good for business visitors, near to Convention Center and the Metro Station. Rooms are well equiped with a comfortable bed. Free wifi is a plus

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janathar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

When we arrived, we were astonished to see be the check-in area. It was in a mess. No greetings from the staff. Perhaps because they were busy earlier.

REALLY regretted booking this 'hotel'. We felt so deceived after we saw our room. Cant tell from the photos clearly. Our friend(who never stayed here before) recommended this place because we had to go to the exhibition and convention area and I must say this place is really near. The only saving grace of that place.

We booked a room with a double bed for couple but they were pretty persistent in persuading us to take a room that has two separate beds and that is supposedly bigger,we refused and they were slightly annoyed and told us, then we have to take a much smaller room since we insist on a double bed, We agreed.

After checking in, we went to our room. LO AND BEHOLD, its so weird! After you enter, there is a long and narrow walkway and a sharp right to the room and it faces an old building's toilet. The old building is so close, you feel claustrophobic almost immediately(but its HKG afterall). The toilet is a weird glass structure which bath curtains are used as shields. It goes around the toilet, to provide privacy. The toilet smelled like a wet ashtray.

The super king sized bed almost fills up that corner. The end of the bed is the wall. It weird why they decided to mount the tv right on top of the wall, which makes it almost impossible to watch unless you wanna risk neck problems.

We requested for a change of room and was told that the room will be even smaller. Then I asked if we would change to the original room that was offered(the two bedded room one which she mentioned was bigger), her reply was," it's exactly the same size(layout), just with two beds". Well.....

The new matchbox sized room was fine. except that the bed was right beside the door. if they open the door by mistake, they can actually see u. :) The downside is, the floors are not carperted and its really noisy. whoever your neighbor is, really makes a difference, The noise we had to endure was bad. The guest staying in the room adjacent to ours was always opening and closing his bag, accidentally banging the wall. Opening and closing of the doors on the same floor or directly on top , can be heard very very loudly. Walls are thin(no good for light sleepers). Imagine the guest from different rooms(about 6 rooms each floor), cleaners opening and closing many times throughout the day.

The doors do not come with anti slam nor fur to cushion the impact. It is really loud eventhough the guests have absolutely no intention to slam. I think the management should really look into retrofitting the doors with something to soften the impact of closing the doors. Afterall, guests stay in hotels, to rest.

Amenities given are really basic. Toothbrushes, shampoo, showergel, lotion and shower cap are provided.

Overall, this hotel is only worth is if you dun need to sleep well and if proximity is your only expectation.

Service you get definitely doesnt match the price tag. You are really paying for the location. Surprised to read the other review which mentioned that the service is good and its "surprisingly spacious". I really dun get where he get that from.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the corner rooms that ends with 1 or 6. Weird rooms. 2 and 5 are adjacent to them and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happybutnotsosolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I stayed there just one night before flying back home.
First of all, the area (Wan Chai) is great; there's plenty to do and see day and night.
The hotel is very clean, staff have been polite with me, and my room was great, surprisingly spacious for HK, and clean, on a higher floor.
The only complaint I could have is about breakfast: the breakfast room is far too small for the hotel and only few people could actually seat and eat. Many more were standing, waiting for other people to leave in order to take a table. By the time I got there - about 9 am - there was almost nothing left. So I just grabbed a coffee and went to have breakfast out.
Other than that, it's a pretty good hotel, maybe a bit expensive compared to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#108 of 718 in Hong Kong
101 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#113 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#95 of 718 in Hong Kong
432 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
#194 of 718 in Hong Kong
146 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#136 of 718 in Hong Kong
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iclub Wan Chai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iclub Wan Chai Hotel

Property: iclub Wan Chai Hotel
Address: No.211 Johnston Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $104 - $381
Hotel Class:3.5 star — iclub Wan Chai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iclub Wan Chai Hotel, a contemporary select-service hotel located in Hong Kong’s famed Wan Chai entertainment and business district, is the first carbon neutral hotel in Hong Kong and also features a revolutionary array of interactive services and innovative facilities. The hotel provides a smoke-free environment and 99 chic and trendy guestrooms and suites with striking decor, offering style and comfort to discerning tech-savvy business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your iclub Wan Chai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iclub Wan Chai Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing