We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel and staff made our Hong Kong stay of 4 nights ones to remember. We had a corner suite that was fantastic. I thought at first I would be disappointed not facing the Bay, but after seeing it at night and morning, we were definately happy. (The staff did call after about 15 minutes to say there was a cancellation of a hotel room on the Bay side. We decided to keep our suite and are so happy we did.) As the others have said, this is the best hotel ever!!!!

Room Tip: Try to stay in a corner suite on the Bay side, but if it is not available, it is fine to stay on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Many thanks for your tripadvisior review. To be called “the best hotel ever” is very flattering indeed. We are thrilled to hear that you had a good stay at The Upper House.
Please do contact me personally if I may ever assist you for a future reservation at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotel.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,917
    124
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
260
750
164
606
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

So this was my third stay at The Upper House and it never fails to surprise and delight. From the seamless check in to the quality of the room and the service throughout TUH is undoubtedly my favourite hotel experience in the world. Cafe Gray was as buzzy and yet quality as possible; the drinks were superb and I cannot find a single area in the hotel where they can improve...maybe Nespresso machines in place of the one's in the room already?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Angus

We are very glad to know that we are able to surprise and delight our guests even after several visits. To be considered your favorite hotel experience in the world is a great honor – many thanks that you keep coming back!
Please do let me know if may assist with any future reservation at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotels

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have nothing but only good things to say about this hotel. Hotel and staff were in a different class from many 5 stars hotels. I give it a six star service. Have travelled to many hotels and rarely write reviews or feedback but Upperhouse desereves a special mention. For me aside on the fact they have one of the best rooms in hong kong its more their personal and professional service they provided. Their staff across the board are as accomodating as you can find from reservations to their guest experience staff. The fact the hotel is a big hotel and am sure they have a lot of people and things to attend to yet you feel like they treat you as their VIP customer and that your comfort comes first before anything else. True a fanstatic experience and because of that will be back in May.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Alvin

Many thanks again for your review. Your comment about our level of service has been shared with the team. We are happy to know that you rate us so highly.
We are looking very much forward to have you back in May 2012.

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Upper House as a stopover when relocating permanently from London to Sydney. This place blew us away in every area of comfort, style, luxury and hospitality.
From the welcome to the farewell the Upper House was faultless. Our room was huge and the bathroom was ultimate luxury. The little self serve mini bar is a nice touch (but perhaps too tempting with free m&m's!!!). Bed was really comfy and we had heaps of room with our three year old also having her end in the studio. She had her own little pair of slippers and thought she could stay forever!
Location was superb and the staff (all of them) were every day so extremely helpful. In our departure we had the whole team waving goodbye and our daughter felt like royalty!
Seriously can't rate this place highly enough but only suggest you go there and see/experience it for yourselves.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for having made the effort to write such a detailed review about your past stay at The Upper House. We appreciate it very much!
We are happy to know that your stay was faultless from arrival to departure and we have shared your comments with the entire team.
Please do contact me personally if I may assist with any future reservation at “our house” or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Almost hate to share this hidden gem of a hotel. We've stayed at fine hotels around the world and The Upper House is at the top of our list. From its incredibly friendly and efficient staff to the huge rooms with amazing views to the "extras" like espresso machines in the room as well as a "maxibar" stocked with free soft drinks, water, juices, cookies, chocolate, nuts, etc, the Upper House Has taken luxury and comfort to the next level. Be sure to arrange a dinner at Cafe Gray Deluxe on the 49th floor for food so good it will make you forget to look across the Harbor at the light show of Kowloon.
This hotel has thought of everything to make your Hong Kong experience wonderful. They even provide guest Octopuss cards to save you time of standing in line at the ferries or tram. Thank you staff of Upper House ( especially Nicholas & Benny in Guest Experience and Karen at Cafe Gray) for an incredible stay - have you thought of adding branches in other cities? We'll be the first to reserve!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Vicki

We are pleased to know that The Upper House made it to the top your favorite hotels list. Many thanks for sharing your experience on tripadvisor, it is very much appreciated.
I have shared all your positive comments with my colleagues you personally named in your review. Swire Hotels might announce future projects and we certainly hope to share any news shortly with you.
Please do contact me personally if I may assist with any future bookings at The Upper House or other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5,450 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Property: The Upper House
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $677 - $963
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing