We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel”
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This boutique hotel is really very, very nice!! The rooms and bathrooms are uber sexy and trendy and this has made us come back here.
Staff is very professional and helpful.
I have a gluten intolerance so I went to their restaurant and I asked what gluten free options they could reccomend me. Upon returning to my room, I found a freshly printed gluten free menu with my name on it, so it's easier for me to decide and order food in the future. Pretty awsome service :)

I gave the hotel a 4 star rating because unlike The Shangri-La, Marriott, Conrad and Four Seasons it doesn't have direct access to the Mall. Also, it doesn't have a SPA, a swiming pool, and your dining options are pretty limited to only one restaurant/cafe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NomadSoul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,250)
There are newer reviews for The Upper House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,772 - 1,776 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

for space, comfort and ambience. Newer and more comfortable design than Four Seasons, Conrad, and Shangri-la, but quite pricey!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HopingThisHelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights, enjoying a harbour view room even though you could just see the harbour if you went to the very edge of the room. The rooms were amazing, very spacious and clean. The beds were probably the most comfortable i've ever slept in. The only thing is the rooms are slightly on the hot side and having a large duvet didn't help. The air con in the room didn't seem to go below 21oC (living in scotland that's hotter than our summers).
Hotel was in good location, connected to Pacific Mall with a MTR station underneath.
Girlfriend nearly cleared room as slippers, shopping bag, umbrella, Ren toiletries with bag,postcards and stationery were free for you to take. Had a good go at free maxi bar as well!

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms may be only partial view. I would contact hotel if view is important to you.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at The Upper House. I have been a regular visitor to Hong Kong over the years and usually stay at one of the other hotels in Pacific Place. On this occasion I thought I would give The Upper House a try. I certainly did not regret doing so. This is a fine hotel by any standards. The staff are young and eager to please without being obsequious and the check in and check out procedures are effortless. The hotel is peaceful and relaxing, the rooms wonderful (previous reviews have said it all), and the sole restaurant, Cafe Gray, a haven. Breakfasts were always a pleasure, as were the two dinners I enjoyed. The hotel is a triumph of both style and substance and any criticism seems churlish - just occasionally though style wins over substance. For example, if you want to watch TV when in the bath (and why ruin a good bath ?) then you have to sit at the plug and overflow end, with associated discomfort. Also the positioning of the washbasin in the loo cubicle is bizarre - it's far too close to the seat and would have been better placed on the opposite wall. These are, however, truly minor strictures in the context of a wonderful hotel which I would unreservedly recommend to the business traveller. One last point -it's location on a one way circuit serving 4 hotels means that at peak times it is difficult to get a cab. The staff recognise this and go to extraordinary lengths to commandeer cabs at the start of the circuit much to the chagrin, I imagine, of the other hotels. Au revoir The Upper House - I'll be back next year. Don't change anything!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Howards19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

hotel was amazing. Rooms are modern with nice wood style. room was specious. speratre jaccuz and walk in closet. and separate bathroom. view was nice. and roomon 43 floor. GYM is nice but small. no swimming pool. that was disadvantage. Cafe grey is perfect dinner in HK. breakfast was nice but small portions,

Room Tip: try to get Sea View
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank q8engrchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,932 reviews
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hong Kong

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $741 - $1,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing