We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome little find”

Tong Tai Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #589 of 11,977 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This place is in the middle of a market and you basically eat on plastic chairs in the street.
The menu is massive and very varied... We had deep fried baby pigeon and salt and chilly frog to name but a few.
Awesome find, sensible prices, great atmosphere and great food.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kurt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

After watching the harbour light show we meandered back to this street restaurant for our dinner. The seating is basic and close together but it just adds to the atmosphere.

We had prawns as one dish and they were very tasty done in garlic. In all we ordered 3 dishes and they were all good, service was quick and efficient. Price was higher than our normal budget but as a one off it was great. Yes we would eat there again if ever in the area.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Shop is located right along temple street. Staff are friendly and not pushy but choices of seafood is limited. Although shop looks ordinary but don't expected the food to come cheap. Taste wise is passable. We paid for HKD600 plus for 5 dishes. No complaint as we were too lazy to travel to far away places such as Sai Kung, Tuen Mun or outlying islands for the real seafood.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant a few times during our stay in Hong Kong. We had a variety of fish and shellfish dishes and found them all to be fresh and simply cooked. The restaurant is busy , but service is fast and friendly and they will recommend dishes to you.
Our only gripe was that the rice doesn’t come out with the dishes and we had to ask for it.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank tizwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Great food and staff. Therestaurant is located close to the market at Temple street. We had beef with ginger and onion, sweet and sour chicken, razor clams, and a couple of other dishes.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Magnus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tong Tai Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing