We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #46 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My family and I three peoples stayed here for the first time for 5 nights from 9/20-25, the location is superb, the room size is adequate for 3 guests and well designed, my mother loved the shower room that has a marble sitting area, the bed was comfortable. I booked the room including breakfast and internet service, but I was upgrade to full Privilege service with access to club 28 ( I am a priority club gold member). Although my family and I don't drink, but we enjoyed so much the free snacks and soft drinks at the evening hour in the club 28 before we went out for dinner, overall experience was excellent.

Room Tip: Room with race course is always a plus
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 519 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Luxurious hotel in a great location on Hong Kong Island (next to Time Square and endless shopping possibilities). Recently renovated with tastefully decorated and spacious rooms (there is even a state-of-the-art surround sound system with a iPod / iPhone docking station available). The design is elegant yet modern and consequently reflected across the whole hotel. Highlights are the roof top bar and pool (just breathtaking) and the cool lounge one floor lower. Slightly disappointing for me was only the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigroba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The Crowne Plaza chain is supposed to sit between the mid-market Holiday Inn and the upscale Inter-Continental brands. For me the substantial difference in price between Holiday Inn and Crowne Plaza should be justified by the quality of the food and beverage service. On this basis the Crown Plaza Causeway Bay in Hong Kong failed for me. The location and rooms are great and the front desk and bell service is what you expect. But the breakfast, restaurant, bar and room service were all high price and sub-par. The breakfast is very basic for a pricey hotel in Asia hotel where breakfast buffets tend to sumptuous. The chefs salad I ordered from room service consisted of cold cut slices and cheese laid on top of a bed of arugula--no finesse at all. In the on 29th floor bar they are trying to create a "cool lounge vibe" but the result is hokey. It has chintzy plastic chandeliers and a glass wall looking out on a parking-space sized swimming pool. The waitress wasn't exactly rude, but she sure seemed badly trained and clearly hated her job. And avoid the Chinese restaurant - it's a shark fin soup place that should be shut down and Crowne Plaza shouldn't allow that to be served on its premises. (And don't go on about how it's traditional delicacy and outsiders should respect this--shark fin soup is an abomination. Go ask Yao Ming) All in all if this hotel has a lot going for it and if it can tighten up its F&B (and change the Chinese restaurant) it might be worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mriguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a really neat hotel, it does a cheap bar and Internet package which seems good value if you drink the most expensive drinks in the bar. That said I don't think that hotels should be charging for Internet access in the rooms.
The room was lovely and in particular a fantastic shower.
A very nice comfortable hotel with a roof top swimming pool.
The breakfast was excellent and the staff extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris17phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Based upon other reviews we decided to try the Crowne Plaza vs other IHG properties (stayed in the HIE {terrible, see review}) since we are Platinum. Check-in was quick (which was appreciated ) especially since we arrived from the States very late in the evening. Got upgraded to a racecourse view high floor which was nice. Room was beautiful. Terrific layout. BIG bathroom with all the amenities. Great separate bath and shower with marble everywhere. Great towels and bathrobes. Bed was very comfortable with many pillows. Wifi was good.
Check out was fast. The location in the "Times Square" district was very convenient for the train and shopping.
So my only issues with the hotel were a) the hair dryer is tethered to the draw in the bath. If you are taller than 5' 7" you must bend down to dry your hair b) the breakfast was ok. We had a breakfast included in the price so it was fine for 2 days but boring for 3 days. Also the first day the service was very effiicient, day 2 and 3 was just so/so.
Overall will come back to the hotel and recommend

Room Tip: high floor racecourse view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwtravelerRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#21 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,425 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#67 of 721 in Hong Kong
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hong Kong

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Address: 8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $301 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Causeway Bay, Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay is just 3 minutes’ walk to the renowned Times Square. The international brand business hotel offers 263 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring the high-tech Citywide In-room Mobile, WiFi and wired Internet connectivity, iPod Docking Entertainment Center, 5.1 Surround Sound System and a 42 inch LCD TV. Our Club at 28, rooftop swimming pool and fitness center are perfect for unwind. Kudos, the all-day-dining restaurant, features an extensive selection of international cuisine to appeal to all appetites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing