We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #191 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Luzon, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I think the room was too small as well as the bathroom but nice and clean. Nice view from 19th floor. Had a simple buffet breakfast. Too bad they have no FREE Wifi, you need to ask the front desk if you want to use the internet, you can choose from 1 hour connection, 3 hours and a 24 hours. The 24hours will cost you a 100HKD. But over all this hotel is not bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazelnutt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    169
    162
    48
    17
See reviews for
81
123
53
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

stayed there for 2 days out of my planned 14 days there as the space was very very limited
- hardly any space to keep your luggage
- very small bath room, not even enough space in the shower to bend
-Limited buffett options
- Decor of the room is basic with what looks like wornout furniture
+ proximity to Olympian Mall and MTR (not the main lines that connect you to major areas)
+ very economical

Stay here if you work in the Olympian vicinity, place is livable but only just

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gd3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I have another preferred hotel for this trip with my husband but I have no other choice but to book another one which is Dorsett Kowloon Hotel. I am not THAT picky or I don't care that much where to check-in as long as it is clean, comfortable enough to sleep (because on my trips I seldom stay at the hotel room for long hours) & of course, it has to have a great location.. but unfortunately, I didn't check carefully the location of this hotel.. It is quite accessible to Mongkok Night Market but if you are really tired from the day's walking, sight-seeing & all that shopping, this hotel will be too far for you. I don't recommend this for old people and/or travelling with kids.. but for young people/young couple, & those who are okay to walk for about approx 15 mins, then this hotel is not that bad at all..

By the way, the vanity sink is way too small/tight space.. sorry to say that but I am an architect who knows well enough about space.

But thanks to the staff that they have granted our request to have a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The hotel is far from MTR, at least 15 minutes walk from the closest MTR station. When we were looking for the hotel, we thought we were lost cuz we didn't think it could be that far. The pictures from the hotel are misleading, their lobby is definitely not as big as shown in their picture, they used wide angle lenses to take those photo. The rooms are very small, and the carpet was dirty and old.
When I booked this hotel I didn't expect much, just thinking that I was only spending time in the room when I sleep. But the bed and the pillow was so terrible that I didn't have one good sleep during my stay. The bed was as hard as a wooden floor, and the pillow was small and thin, it was no difference sleeping without their pillow.
Oh and they still have those 13" TV from the 80s...
Stay away from this hotel, pay another $20 you will find a bigger, cleaner and nicer hotel somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hauyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The rooms are tiny, the maids clean your room regardless even if you leave a message not to.. so why was it so good?

It was cheap for one, the rooms are clean, on suite does the job with clean towels supplied and the location is good! What isn't there to like?

Hotel staff don't interact with you BUT they do a great job in making sure you get your hotel room key. They also know enough english for them to understand what a luggage scale is which is fine by me.

The hotel is walkable to either the olympia(olympic?) station and also to the main MK mtr station, the walk itself is an experience in itself as you get to experience many street stalls/shops/authentic street cafes.

McDonalds and 7eleven are round the corner for times when you're hungry at night or want to pick up some late night snacks or some booze.

Theres also the olympic shopping centre which is a great alternative to shopping MK.

I would write more but my friends are tellling me to stop as they are convinced that noone reads these!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kennylovesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#171 of 717 in Hong Kong
892 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#126 of 717 in Hong Kong
819 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#209 of 717 in Hong Kong
516 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#167 of 717 in Hong Kong
650 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Bridal Tea House Hotel AnChor Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hong Kong

Been to Silka West Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka West Kowloon Hotel

Property: Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Address: No.46-48 Anchor Street,Tai kok Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): $33 - $215
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka West Kowloon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka West Kowloon, Hong Kong is a value hotel situated in Tai Kok Tsui, a booming new city in Kowloon. The hotel has 141 rooms that are affordable. It is only 35 minutes drive away from the Hong Kong International Airport, 8 minutes to the Mong Kok East Train Station, 10 minutes away from the China Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and within close proximity to the vibrant district of Tsim Sha Tsui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Silka West Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Kowloon
Silka West Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing