We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dee Jay
Sydney, Australia

Harbour Hotel, Canton Road Hong Kong

Review of Harbour Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Aug 2015via mobile
Small rooms, without fridge.
Surprisingly excellent wifi
(I was able to watch a live UFC event)
Small business centre in Lobby.
Laundromat located a few shops further down Canton Road.
Good value if you are out all day and just using the room to sleep.
Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Sky Pool
AU$173
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$157
  • Agoda.com
    AU$147
  • Vio.com
    AU$164
2.3 km from Harbour Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
AU$112
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$114
  • Agoda.com
    AU$107
  • Expedia.com
    AU$111
1.5 km from Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$182
  • Vio.com
    AU$179
  • Agoda.com
    AU$171
  • Priceline
    AU$179
1.0 km from Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$253
  • Vio.com
    AU$217
  • Expedia.com
    AU$310
  • Priceline
    AU$303
2.4 km from Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$123
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$146
  • Trip.com
    AU$113
  • Expedia.com
    AU$136
8.1 km from Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
AU$114
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
  • Agoda.com
    AU$104
  • Vio.com
    AU$109
1.9 km from Harbour Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
AU$210
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$224
  • KLOOK
    AU$179
  • travelup.com
    AU$222
24.0 km from Harbour Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$134
  • ibis
    AU$134
  • Agoda.com
    AU$114
  • Priceline
    AU$133
3.8 km from Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$58
  • Booking.com
    AU$65
  • KLOOK
    AU$54
  • Priceline
    AU$64
5.3 km from Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
Go to your Happy Price
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$79
  • Booking.com
10.9 km from Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hong Kong
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
29
324
243
64
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
324
243
64
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2015

I've actually stayed at this hotel 3 times, and have another upcoming stay later this year. I agree with all the reviewers who have mentioned how tiny the rooms and bathrooms are - for a twin room, you and your friend will have to take turns to open your luggages and in the bathroom, it's hard to dry yourself without hitting something. My last stay there, the toilet couldn't flush properly too. The only reasons why I still come back is because of the great location (close to Mongkok MTR station and in the thick of all the action) and low prices.

If you intend to stay here, adjust your expectations. This is more a motel/guesthouse than a hotel. Treat it as a place you return to to shower and sleep and enjoy the location. I've never bothered with the free breakfast, there's so much good food in the vicinity, just go out and explore.

Last tip: Book this hotel for a couple of nights to save some money, then move over to the nearby Langham Place Hotel for a treat! This is what I do and the budget balances out nicely. :)

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank twentyofive
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Male receptionist ignored us for a good 5 minutes, all we needed was a nod. Room was minuscule, the "bathroom" the width of a toilet, nice glass basin, great shower rose with hot water, but that was all this very positive person could find to say.
The mattresses were hard, the single beds the very narrowest, the pillows were ok. Breakfast was included, but we only went once. Did meet a lady who had found it good value for the location.
Certainly close enough to Soy St and the ladies market, and the MTR.
We have found a hotel on the Island for our return visit where we have previously stayed at $20 more per night!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Twomarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We stayed at the Harbour Hotel for a couple of days during our stay in Hong Kong. It is close to the Ladies Market, within easy walking distance of the harbour and just around the corner from the Metro station.

It was recommended by a business associate that we stay here for the first nights of this trip, when we pulled up to the front we wondered what the heck were they thinking? We had received a great nightly rate so we were already a bit leery of what we were going to find. Front desk staff were very helpful and with our limited Madarin and their passable English we were able to sort everything out. We went to our room which made us laugh due to the size of it, it is cozy, I could touch both walls with my arms not quite fully outstretched but we weren't planning to spend a lot of time in the room anyway.

We were facing the alley which was very quiet the whole time we were there, the room was clean and they would change your sheets daily if you wanted. The room was non-smoking, the bathroom needed a bit of a fix in the shower stall as water leaked out towards the toilet when you showered and the shower head on the pole slid down ever so slowly while you were in there. I jerri-rigged the shower head with some floss to keep it aimed higher and a maintenance worker came and fixed it after a couple of days.

Location is really key to this hotel, like I said close to the metro station, Langham Place shopping, and the Ladies Market. We walked everywhere and it was great in the morning we could go down to the food market and pick up fresh fruit and veggies for the day.

Breakfast was included with our stay, finding the dining area is a bit of a challenge the first couple of times but it is like entering a secret cave once you get there. Simple fare for breakfast, toast, hard-boiled eggs, cooked ham or hot dogs plus juice, bananas and noodles. Nothing super fancy but nice to not have to seek out one meal per day and get something in your belly before heading out for the day.

We had great sleeps in the room, AC worked great and the building was quiet. The bed was a bit small and hard and the room with our suitcases was a bit snug but again we were only there to sleep change and shower so it was perfectly suitable for our needs.

Nice to have free internet access on the lobby computers, local and international newspapers as well and the large street view was good when we were waiting for a taxi or for our friends to pick us up.

Not a high-end hotel but good value for money and great location, if we had to stay there again we would.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank JGDynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

✔️ Value for money
✔️ Internet connection
✔️ location, near MTR and Ladies Market
✔️ safe
✔️ free breakfast
✔️ Small room but clean
✔️ cleanliness
✔️ kitchen staff is very nice
✔️ will definitely go back 💋😎😘💋

✔️✔️HIGHLY RECOMMENDED✔️✔️

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank rainedsantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2015

The Harbor Hotel is not really on the harbor but it's kinda close, I guess. The room I'm in is tiny tiny not enough room for 2 suitcases. But I could keep one downstairs at the desk if I asked. Very helpful staff and the location is great, 5 minute walk to Ladies Market. Room was too hot so I asked for a fan and they gave me one, no problem.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews