We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,939)
Filter reviews
1,939 results
Traveller rating
1,434
430
54
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,434
430
54
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding suitedongsi subway stationfamily roomtraditional chinese furniturenarrow alleychinese experiencetraditional hotelforbidden citytaxi driverreal chinabeijing hutongmodern amenitiesdumplingsloved this hotelsmall hotelspoke good englishfree internet
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 1,939 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Found this hotel via a Washington Post article that raved about it. We wanted a hotel that was a taste of traditional China and not just your usual hotel, and this place delivers! From the moment you enter, the staff provides a friendly, warm experience. We stayed in room 268 for our first 3 nights in Beijing and returned for our last night, three weeks later, when they upgraded us to a wedding suite, Room 036. Both rooms were styled with delightful touches and were anything but typical hotel rooms. We'd come back from a busy day, make tea in our room and sit outside in the lovely courtyard area, right by our room. Delightful!

The buffet breakfast provided a delicious and wide variety of foods, and an opportunity to mingle with other guests.

We took walks both morning and night and loved the colorful neighborhood both in the Hutong and the adjacent streets. These moments were some of our favorite times because they were non-touristy, true glimpses of the local life.

The staff is exemplary - warm, friendly and always ready to accommodate your needs. The on-site restaurant allowed us to relax with a lovely meal on our very last night in China.

Truly can not say enough about this charming hotel. It is not a spot for everyone - certainly not a deluxe 5 star hotel, but it was exactly what we were looking for! Would definitely come back our next time in Beijing.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wen-D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel located in the alley in so authentic place in Beijing.
It's close to subway and local shops.
The staff so friendly and helpful.
The athmosphare so good and give great time to sleep.
The room very nice and clean.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lauratours2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

When booking this, I was hoping for an authentic Chinese experience and not just another cookie cutter hotel. This place was spot on! From the arrival down a narrow alley in the hutong, to the authentically warm welcome at the desk and the very unique, clean and comfortable room off of the charming courtyard. I couldnt have asked for more. The neighborhood was slightly gritty (I mean that in a good, independent traveler kind of way!) and very safe. Lots of local flavor and yet very accessible to public transport if you don’t mind a 10 minute walk. Cabs will also come down the alley despite what other reviewers have written. The staff couldn’t have been more pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good with a wide choice of Asian and western fare. I would have been happy to have a few more days here ( we had 3 nights in the Wedding suite) and will most certainly return if I ever find myself back in Beijing.

Room Tip: Spring for the wedding suite! Worth it for the space and cool bed
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank riodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We are from Thailand and visit this hotel from Mar 4 to Mar 7
we like the decoration in the room, warm and beautiful all staffs are very nice.
always given us good advise for anything.

this hotel reminds me how nice of Beijing!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phairin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We stayed in a family room for 6 nights. The room (26 I think. It was upstairs and over the entrance to the hotel) was very large and comfortable, we had a private deck that overlooked the alley way. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. They made excellent recommendations for restaurants and local activities. Breakfast was great, lots of choices, from dimsum to western foods. I would stay here again and again.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews