We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sihe is even better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #100 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2007

this is the first review i've ever written for a place i have stayed but i found previous reviews very helpful and accurate when planning my solo trip to beijing so i hope to contribute to another travelers positive experience as well.

i was looking for a "real place to stay" ; an authentic place that looked nothing like the ritzy hotels or chains nearby and i found it here at the sihe. it was quiet and comfortable......even though the beds are a bit hard. the couryard experience is just what i was looking for; tucked away in a hutong forcing me to participate in daily life. i arrived at 10pm, and when my driver took a turn into the dark alley i was a bit nervous, but for no reason really.......i immediately took a quick walk...old and young were walking and talking and others were playing checkers, and eating snacks. i soon realized that it was very safe and never had another thought about the location.

addionally, there were several couples of women staying in the sihe while i was there......i say this because it seemed they were comfortable and felt safe.....always a good benchmark.

i made my reservation several weeks ahead of time, and stayed for 10 days. i had to move rooms several times, because of scheduling (the same room wasn't available for my whole stay), but i really liked that......definitely stay in the vip suite if possible....it's just awesome!.
bathrooms are modern and clean, staff is wonderful and helpful always, the driver is great and i would suggest having someone at the desk always write out directions to and from restaurants you are going to or shops, etc....(in chinese)...because it is true that cab drivers have problems with directions and maps unless it is in chinese and clear. i picked up a business card from a clothing shop at the entrance to the hutong and this facilitated an easy return to my area after being out for the evening.

i traveled by myself to beijing, and found it very easy and the people helpful and nice. i would love to return to beijing and would hightly recommend the sihe and will definitely stay there again.

the hotel recommended some great inexpensive dumpling shops nearby and also treat yourself to a "blindman massage"....they have a card in the lobby for that as well!!

i was celebrating my birthday in beijing and several of the receptionists surprised my by presenting me with a birthday cake. now that's nice!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank hookah2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 297 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2007

I read the good reviews of Sihe but was still nervous about it. I can't express how great it was! The setting was authentic, the room was gorgeous (we stayed in a deluxe room), and the staff were genuinely interested in helping us. Each morning we ate our breakfast
in the patio. It was the perfect retreat. I loved walking down the little alley (hu tong) that lead to the hotel.

Do not hesitate to stay here. The only problem you will have is with taxi drivers being able to find the place. However, if you have the hotel phone number, the drivers can call to get directions. Also, once you get there it is better and much easier to use the subway system in Beijing. We discovered that many cab drivers couldn't read or were unwilling to drive shorter distances (a problem we didn't encounter in Shanghai).

Finally, we booked the hotel through Sinohotel.com and did not have any problems.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kikiriki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2007

Just got back from a 2 nights stay. It is really a gem of a place. Not for those who wants a big hotel buffet breakfast and a glitzy lobby. Location is very central, yet, atmospheric, has cable TV and internet , rooms are clean and air-con works well, shower and bathroom very clean, we liked the firm bed mattress. Beautiful bed and furniture we wish we could take home! Staff very helpful, and if you want to go to the Great Wall, get their driver Mr Lu, calm and competent driver, clean, nice smelling car - that's not always the case in China!. Also, try booking the dirver directly with the hotel, you'll probably save a bit on the cost than trying to book through your agent/ website.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank yvonne06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2007

The Sihe hotel is a real gem !

This was my first stay ever in Beijing and I had to be there for a week.
My first idea was to book a room at one of the larger and well-known hotels, where I would certainly find a good enough room ( and without any local charm ).

Looking at the reviews of trip advisor however, I decided to try my luck at this smaller hotel and I haven't regretted this decission at all !

I booked myself one of the two "executive" rooms. These are very spatious and have direct access to the central courtyard. The furniture is Chinese (be assured the bed is long enough for westerners of more than 1m80 ;-) and gives you this splendid local charm I was looking for.

Although the house itself dates back to the days of the Quing Dynasty, the hotel offers all modern luxuries: clean room, bathroom with bath and western toilet, internet access, the works...

There is no buffet-style breakfast, but every morning you can choose between four kinds of breakfast (two being western-style and two being eastern-style). The offered choices change every two days.

The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Their English is also more then adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JanDeconinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2007

I had a some qualms about adding another great review, but...this is a unique, intimate inn from the Qing Dynasty, right in the middle of a residential Beijing hutong not too far from Wangfujing and the Forbidden City. There are only a few rooms, each different, outfitted
with traditional furniture surrounding atmospheric garden courtyards in gracious Chinese style. Once you enter it's truly a different world from the noise, pollution and hectic pace outside. You feel like you're stepping back in time to a Beijing that is rapidly disappearing.

The rooms include a free internet hookup. Minibar and laundry prices are extremely reasonable, rooms are clean and comfortable, the plumbing is modern and works well, the staff is great, you get a simple, yet homemade breakfast, you can rent bikes...what else can I say?

Obviously if you are looking for a large hotel with room service, restaurants, shopping and glitz, this isn't the place to stay. I also
wouldn't recommend it for those who have trouble walking or getting around since there are steps and thresholds to navigate. But if you're even a little bit adventurous you'll find it a rewarding experience.

As other reviews have mentioned, taxi drivers tend to puzzle over the address, even using the hotel's address card. I opted for the airport pickup on arrival -- pricier than a taxi but absolutely hassle-free. When returning to the hotel by taxi I suggest getting dropped off at the intersection of Dongsinan and Dengcao Hutong and making the short walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank voito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,531 in Beijing
574 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#84 of 6,531 in Beijing
259 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#74 of 6,531 in Beijing
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#50 Family Hotel in Beijing
#76 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $75 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Beijing Courtyard Hotel has been built up base on 400 Years historic construction Si He Yuan, The said place was the former residence of famous Chinese artist Mr. Mei Lan Fang. 10 minutes walking distance from WangFuJing, the travel and commercial center of Beijing. The spacious guest rooms are sharing the beautiful inner and outer courtyard and patio with each other, and decorated by the antique furniture those are carved with dragon and phoenix, the symbol of Chinese ancient nobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing