We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Not Have Been Better!!! ”
Review of China Highlights

China Highlights
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 38.00*
and up
Private Airport Transfer: Beijing International...
Ranked #48 of 444 Tours in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: China Highlights Beijing tours provides the best quality private day tours covering the most of must-sees like the Forbidden City, the Great Wall Hiking, the Temple of Heaven, Hutongs, and roast duck dinner and night shows in Beijing. All the day tours are value guarantee!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

William was our guide and could not have been more friendly and knowledgeable... A true professional who has found his calling! Our two day tour throughout Beijing and to the Great Wall was well organized and very enjoyable. Not cheap but money well spent with so little time. Service was seemless and without a hitch!

Thank Brown C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy C, Guest Relations Manager at China Highlights, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Brown C
Glad that your time in BJ went without a hitch, and you enjoyed your 2 days exploring the city.
Hope we can be of service to you again.
CH Customer-care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"our tour guide"
in 447 reviews
"tiananmen square"
in 244 reviews
"summer palace"
in 376 reviews
"small group"
in 118 reviews
"great tour"
in 133 reviews
"boutique tour"
in 28 reviews
"forbidden city and the great wall"
in 70 reviews
"went out of her way"
in 44 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 42 reviews
"three days"
in 56 reviews
"always on time"
in 48 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 44 reviews
"bullet train"
in 29 reviews
"rickshaw ride"
in 35 reviews
"spoke excellent english"
in 29 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 43 reviews
"jingshan park"
in 56 reviews
Filter

193 - 197 of 2,918 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy C, Guest Relations Manager at 2-Day Small-Group Beijing Boutique Tour: Forbidden City, Mutianyu Great Wall, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

After months of planning through China Highlights with the wonderful aid of our personal travel advisor, Vivi Chen, we landed in Beijing for the start of our customized tour. Met at the airport by our guide Lily Liu, we immediately felt safe and secure. Lily took charge and helped me get a China sims card for my phone before even leaving the airport - something I recommend to everyone. The cost was about $10 and covered us throughout our 3 week stay; so much cheaper than our $10 a day Verizon plan would have been!

We had 4 night’s and 3 whirlwind days in Beijing, visiting all the key spots, enhanced by Lily's detailed knowledge of historical facts and lore. Day one was a trip to the Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven, Jingshan Park and a tour of the Hutong via rickshaw. Though we'd asked to go to Tiananmen Square, the government had closed the area to visitors due to a big meeting there over the weekend. But Lily made sure to have us stop and see it all from across the street, the closest we could get.

Second day we made the trek to the Great Wall. Unfortunately for us, Beijing had a freak summer snow storm which made the visit less than expected. Icy and slippery, the Wall was incredibly treacherous, with people falling all around us. Lily actually saved me from a terrible spill, reaching out to grab me as I hit a particular icy passage and started careening down the wall. Bless you, Lily!

On the way back, we visited the 798 Art District which though interesting was not as accessible as I'd expected. In retrospect, I would not ask to do that one again.

That night, aided by our hotel, we got tickets to a Chinese Choral performance with easy access via subway. We were excited to be on our own and actually managed to find our way there and back!

Our last morning before heading to Xi’an, we visited an Aged Baijiu (Chinese Wine) Museum. Again, not as I'd expected - just a quick in-and-out with not a lot of substance to this one. We continued onto the Summer Palace, which was one of my favorite sites.

Having a tour guide makes everything easier in a country where the oral and written language is so difficult. However, some of the best parts of our time there were the early morning and evening walks we took on our own, for it gave us a better sense of the real workings of the city and its people. Staying in a Hutong hotel (Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel) was also key to experiencing the real Beijing, another reason why choosing a customized personal tour with China Highlights was so great, because I was able to request this particular hotel.

Onto Xi’an!





Thank MidwestCoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy C, Guest Relations Manager at China Highlights, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi there

Thanks for taking the time to write and sharing your experience in our Capital. We're glad that you had a good time with Lily and she was able to assist you along the way, especially when you hit the icy patch along the Great Wall. WE appreciate the tips you offer, as this would be helpful for those visiting. Definitely staying in a Hutong is a bonus as you do get a sense of the real Beijing and we were pleased to accommodate this for you.

Trust you will have an enjoyable time in Xian.

CH Customer-care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy C, Guest Relations Manager at Mutianyu Great Wall Day Trip from Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Highlights also viewed

 

Been to China Highlights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing