We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent backpacker's hostel”
Review of Red Lantern House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lantern House
Ranked #5 of 1,399 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The Red Lantern House is a fine place to stay, but nothing overly special. We appreciated pick-up service at the airport, and liked that we were able to book other trips through them. We booked a day trip to the Great Wall thru the guest house, and it was a lot of fun. We would have like to have had a bit more time at the Wall, but overall it was a great experience. We also booked train tickets thru them, and all went smoothly.

The service was great, and the location is close to the subway, making it easy to get around in Beijing. The downsides are that the hot water tanks are small and the rooms are cold and they don't have enough heaters to accomodate everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Red Lantern House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 146 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

I love this place! I stayed here with 9 other girlfriends and we were able to rent the two story guest suite. The place is so cool inside and the staff are friendly and willing to help you with anything. Everything was clean and the breakfast was good. The location is close to the buses and lots of shopping. If you're looking for a great backpackers stop and a fun place to relax this is it! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beyond_all_Borders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed for a week at the Red Lantern (we were in the West yard). The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful, but the area around the guesthouse was lacking a lot of places to eat. Luckily the metro was very close and a quick trip to anywhere you need to go.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

The whole family of 20 people, from grandfather in his mid 70-ties to the youngest on 2 years, loved staying in Red Lantern House in Beijing. The courtyard in the middel of the rooms was brilliant to play in for the kids, and to have a night cap for the adults - and at the same time being able to watch out for the kids being asleep. There was a "hutong"-kind-of-real-chinese-atmosphere" at the courtyard, with its red lanterns all over. Inside in the reception area, the teenagers gathered with backpackers from all over the world - playing games and chatting. A nice, relaxed mood at the whole place.
It was also easy to get around, as there was a subway station just some minutes down the street - which is far the easiest way to get around in Beijing. A fab "hotpot"-restaurant was nearby as well, along with several really good and inexpencive hairdressers.
We loved Red Lantern, and unitedly voted it as "the best place we stayed", during our month travel throughout China.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfakroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed in this ho(s)tel for 7 nights after a week of hard work at a conference. Check-in was at the main building and was welcomed by a not so friendly lady. She informed me that I'd be staying in the East Wing - I think this is where the private rooms are located. I got 'free breakfast' with my booking however it was in the main building and although it was merely a 5 min walk between the two buildings I just found it very inconvenient so never made it to claim my free breakfast.
Staff at the East wing couldn't be any nicer. I was ill during my stay and they were very kind in getting me to the nearest hospital. Their English weren't perfect but I didn't expect that either. It is part of the charm. In the evening the man of the house played on his cello or violin and the common room was always 'buzzing' this was because it was the only place where you have access to Wi-Fi. The area was also very safe. I walked many evenings on my own from the subway station to the hostel - and there were parts that was very dark and quiet.. however not once did I feel scared. All in all... great experience and would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,527 in Beijing
573 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#95 of 6,527 in Beijing
427 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,399 in Beijing
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lantern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lantern House

Address: No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing 100035, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,399 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $15 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The information service available in Red Lantern House is based on "Simon's Tourist Information Office" which is the first generation of information and tour services provider for low budget international travelers in Beijing from the beginning of 1990's . Information and tour services are available at the reception. Staying with us will reminds you of staying as a member in our family as there is no counter or glass between us. Meet the Simon's Office Team that helps make your travel and travel planning much easier, better and possible! Your questions of where to go and how much it costs will be responded as precisely as possible. Tours and Information services including: Beijing City Tour ( Forbidden City, Summer Palace, Temple of Heaven) Tours to the wall Night Show in Beijing Ticketing Service Bicycle Rental Car Service( airport pick-up and drop offer) Laundry, Sewing & Mending Service Barbecue in the Courtyard Dumpling Making Practice Tour to the Great wall departure from Red Lantern Guest house: Great wall at : 1 Mutianyu ( recommended) We run the trip to Mutianyu section of the wall with minimum two people by our own car or van. 2.Jinshanling 3.Simatai 4.Badaling and Ming Tombs, To avoid the crowds and sometimes terrifying shopping intervals of the Great Wall at Badaling, our hostel has specially designed and organized a daily tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. It takes 1.5 hours one way to arrive to the wall with no stop over for shopping, and begins around 7:30am to get away from heavy traffic jams so that you will be the first one standing on the wall there and nobody bothers you. We guarantee you have at least 3 hours on the wall and no push throughout the whole trip. When you are back from your trip, you still have a whole evening for other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Red Lantern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lantern House Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing