We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Red Lantern House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lantern House
Ranked #6 of 1,437 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I spent a week here with some friends while travelling through China, and it was a great location, inexpensive and very clean with a great and helpful staff. I stayed in a room with 2 beds, and we were very comfortable. The food was also great, and the staff helped us plan our day trips with ease. What I loved most is it is in the hutongs and off the regular tourist path, so you get a better feel for the city. They also have lots of computer and internet access, at a cheap rate. The decor is beautiful, with a pond right in the reception area. This was definitely a great base for our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happy_Traveler316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 124 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is a very nice place to stay. This price is good and for what you get, is great value. The rooms are beautifully decorated and well kept. The staff are lovely. The restaurant serves delcious food and the location can't be beat. www.bjredlantern.com

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We've slept in the main building for our first night. After 20 hours flight we were really tired. The room was on the mezzanine and we can heard people chatting in the living room on the first floor. On the next night, we asked to change for the west yard building which is a little further from the main building (5 mins walk from Ping'ali subway station). The place was really quiet and beautiful. The room was clean, the bed a little hard (such as many many many hostel in china) and they came to clean the room every morning. Shower and american toilet was clean too. Very friendly and professionnal staff. Laudry service, free internet access in the room or 2 computers ($) in the living room, western food and a lot of tour booking services. If you want to eat duck, there is a good restaurant on ping'ali street near the west yard, I don't remember the name but there is an huge illuminated pig on the front. It's on the second floor.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllonsNousPerdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed here by myself in Nov of 2010 starting a month long journey through China and Vietnam. And first, they went WAY out of their way waiting for me for 2hrs at the airport while I arranged to have my lost luggage delivered. No complaints on their part only smiles and gratitude for staying with them. They refused my tip when we got to the hostel....said it was part of the job. I had a private room and bath which was very inexpensive, warm, well decorated, clean and had wi-fi in the room 90% of the time. The main area across their adorable patio with a giant persimmon tree, always had internet. (3-4 computers, very cheap). The food there was yummy and they had a real cozy decor. 2 blocks down the street there was an awesome food market, everything from bread and crepes to seafood, tea and fruits. People were so friendly, loved to be photographed and liked interacting with you. There are several restaurants, musical instrument shops and clothing shops within 2 minutes of the Hutong. The bus system is right down the street and the metro is about a 5 minute walk. Lots of taxis and bikes and the best part is -everyone is Chinese. You feel like you are in China with a few tourists here and there. It really made the trip for me to stay here. They arranged an awesome trip to the Great Wall and wrote notes for the bus drivers in Chinese so they could make sure I got off on the right stop when I travelled alone. So sweet! They also played some of their Chinese instruments so I could hear what they sounded like. And, I met some fabulous people there at the hostel. 1 owned a circus in Colombia, 1 was a molecular scientist from Mexico and the other was an MD from the Philippines. I highly recommend the Red Lantern. It was the beginning of a fabulous trip! Thank you!

Room Tip: Get a private room. They have wi-fi are quiet and have a beautiful patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatoPanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My whole family with four teenagers stayed at the Red Lantern from just after Christmas through New Years 2012. We had the most wonderful time. The staff is extremely helpful, kind and funny. They go out of their way to care for you and do it from their hearts. We will always be grateful for the wonderful time in Beijing and all the kindness of the Red Lantern staff and family. Hi to puppy Michael!

Room Tip: The beds were comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were wonderful and the staff is incredibly kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#127 of 6,606 in Beijing
189 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,437 in Beijing
111 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Chongwenmen
RJ Brown Hotel
RJ Brown Hotel
#5 of 1,437 in Beijing
111 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Heyuan Courtyard International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lantern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lantern House

Address: No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing 100035, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,437 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: AU$40 - AU$56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The information service available in Red Lantern House is based on "Simon's Tourist Information Office" which is the first generation of information and tour services provider for low budget international travelers in Beijing from the beginning of 1990's . Information and tour services are available at the reception. Staying with us will reminds you of staying as a member in our family as there is no counter or glass between us. Meet the Simon's Office Team that helps make your travel and travel planning much easier, better and possible! Your questions of where to go and how much it costs will be responded as precisely as possible. Tours and Information services including: Beijing City Tour ( Forbidden City, Summer Palace, Temple of Heaven) Tours to the wall Night Show in Beijing Ticketing Service Bicycle Rental Car Service( airport pick-up and drop offer) Laundry, Sewing & Mending Service Barbecue in the Courtyard Dumpling Making Practice Tour to the Great wall departure from Red Lantern Guest house: Great wall at : 1 Mutianyu ( recommended) We run the trip to Mutianyu section of the wall with minimum two people by our own car or van. 2.Jinshanling 3.Simatai 4.Badaling and Ming Tombs, To avoid the crowds and sometimes terrifying shopping intervals of the Great Wall at Badaling, our hostel has specially designed and organized a daily tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. It takes 1.5 hours one way to arrive to the wall with no stop over for shopping, and begins around 7:30am to get away from heavy traffic jams so that you will be the first one standing on the wall there and nobody bothers you. We guarantee you have at least 3 hours on the wall and no push throughout the whole trip. When you are back from your trip, you still have a whole evening for other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Red Lantern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lantern House Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing