We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made me feel I was in China”
Review of Red Lantern House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lantern House
Ranked #6 of 1,434 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I had fun at this place. First, it made me feel like I was really in China. I am so happy I opted to choose an inn instead of a western looking hotel. The location was also good, very near the metrotrain and bus station. Food is also everywhere. The only problem I had was the heater at our room was busted the first night leaving us freezing at a minus 8 degree weather. It was fixed immediately the following day.
Everybody was helpful and can speak a little English. Cash payments only.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multiwormie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 128 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

My experience with Red Lantern House started with their helpful website, the only strange thing being that it hadn't been updated since a new metro station had opened much closer than the one they directed you from. Never mind, the new metro station (Xinjiekou) is only 5 minutes walk from the hostel and makes it easy to get around the city to wherever you're headed. The reception staff speak pretty good English and, compared to the average hotel in China, were polite and helpful. The great thing about Red Lantern House is that their three locations allow them to cater for all kinds of travellers. The main building is a proper hostel with dorm rooms and a communal area to meet other travellers. The East Yard, where I stayed, consists of private rooms around a beautiful courtyard, more suitable for older travellers and families, but still with almost all the services that the main building provides, including food and drinks. Rooms are basic, but have the essentials and are clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jopycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I found this hotel on Trip advisor and stayed for 10nights in Nov 2011. Great hotel- and very authentic. I loved the covered courtyard- really homely. We stayed in a double room in the main building (11pounds a night). The bed was a little bit hard, but we quickly learnt that a soft bed in China is considered luxury. Food was a bit expensive here, so we ate in the tiny restaurant immediately opposite (with the orange stools) that has a short english menu and really good food for under 1pound.
This hotel also allows you to bring your own drink, so buy it from the shop opposite (4RMB or 40p for a bottle of Tsingtao) The staff here are really friendly and will do anything they can to help you. but of course charge commission when booking anything for you- so save yourself the Yuan and make a trip to the Train/ Bus station yourself!!!!
It is in a really good location too, in a Hutong, and within a 15min walk of 3 subway stations so your close to all the main lines. Also close to Hoihai Lake and the bar district.
If your going to the Great Wall, DONT book a tour. Dongzhemen bus station is about 15mins walk from the hotel, from here you can get a bus, (they leave every 10mins from 6am) for less than 2 pounds that will take you all the way to Badaling. Go very early though and you will avoid the crowds.
Enjoy- We did :)

Room Tip: Dorms, Doubles and Twins. Good for all I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

It is located in a great location in the hutongs. It felt safe and was quiet. The garden where we dined each evening on great local food was comfortable and relaxing. It was walking distance to the subway system which is so very easy to use. We would never stay anywhere else in Beijing.

Room Tip: We were in the building down the street from the main lobby, cant remember what the name of it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 797Wendy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I was in Beijing last week (mid-November) and it was getting very cold (for an Australian). When you enter through the doors, it is very cosy inside. There is a common area where you can use your computer or theirs with a cup of tea or you have dinner there as well. There are games to play, dvds to watch and many travellers to chat to. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm with 3 of my friends. Even though we did not use the heating in our rooms, it was very warm. I slept with only one blanket and trust me, I complain about the cold.

The room was basic, bunks with hard mattress, bedside table and a small couch. The shared bathroom was very clean and modern. There are 4 toilets and 3 showers. They have heating lamps in the showers so you won't get a chill.

The staff speak medium-good English depending on who you speak to but they are eager to help. They can organise anything you need for local and onward travel.

The location is good, about 5-10mins walk from 2 different subway stations which will take you anywhere, for 2RMB each trip. The local hutong was bustling with vendors and the little eatery that is directly opposite the front entrance has good dumplings. I would also highly recommend the Chengdu restaurant (成都小吃) just at the start of the hutong, on the corner of the main road (xin jie kou nan da jie 新街口南大街), delicious food, cheap and rather authentic Chengdu, Sichuanese cuisine.

The local area has many banks, cafes, shops, restaurants, post office, teahouses etc. Anything you need is there. Have a good time!

We stayed a total of 6 nights here and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halcyonicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#121 of 6,599 in Beijing
189 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,434 in Beijing
110 reviews
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 993 in Beijing
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lantern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lantern House

Address: No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing 100035, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,434 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $39 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The information service available in Red Lantern House is based on "Simon's Tourist Information Office" which is the first generation of information and tour services provider for low budget international travelers in Beijing from the beginning of 1990's . Information and tour services are available at the reception. Staying with us will reminds you of staying as a member in our family as there is no counter or glass between us. Meet the Simon's Office Team that helps make your travel and travel planning much easier, better and possible! Your questions of where to go and how much it costs will be responded as precisely as possible. Tours and Information services including: Beijing City Tour ( Forbidden City, Summer Palace, Temple of Heaven) Tours to the wall Night Show in Beijing Ticketing Service Bicycle Rental Car Service( airport pick-up and drop offer) Laundry, Sewing & Mending Service Barbecue in the Courtyard Dumpling Making Practice Tour to the Great wall departure from Red Lantern Guest house: Great wall at : 1 Mutianyu ( recommended) We run the trip to Mutianyu section of the wall with minimum two people by our own car or van. 2.Jinshanling 3.Simatai 4.Badaling and Ming Tombs, To avoid the crowds and sometimes terrifying shopping intervals of the Great Wall at Badaling, our hostel has specially designed and organized a daily tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. It takes 1.5 hours one way to arrive to the wall with no stop over for shopping, and begins around 7:30am to get away from heavy traffic jams so that you will be the first one standing on the wall there and nobody bothers you. We guarantee you have at least 3 hours on the wall and no push throughout the whole trip. When you are back from your trip, you still have a whole evening for other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lantern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lantern House Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing