We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 am - 10:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Gate of Heavenly Peace (Tian'an Men)
from USD 59.00
More Info
from USD 50.00
More Info
from USD 24.00
More Info
Reviews (2,108)
Filter reviews
2,108 results
Traveller rating
1,087
705
273
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,087
705
273
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiananmen square impressive entrance chairman mao iconic place security check chinese architecture huge square palace museum portraits china republic checks symbol protest passport communist army
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 2,108 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Prepare to go through security no matter which direction you are approaching from. You can see the gate (with Chairman Mao's famous picture) close up right in front of the gate or across the street in the square from more of a distance. Either way you can take good photos. We went there twice - once during the day and once at night. I liked it better at night, though the main square was closed the night that we went. There is no entry fee for the square or the area in front of the gate. You only pay if you go into the Forbidden City.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank GregIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Tian"amen Square was close off due to a visit March 22nd, 2018 by North Korea. Lots of Police activity and the parking area was full of police and Security vehicles. Interesting to observe from beyond the barrier. A bit disappointing and somewhat worrisome. An alliance between China and North Korea may well be a frightening thought at this time.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank sandygreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Swarms of uniformed security forces and who knows how many undercover men? There are also virtual possies of touts and people trying to part you from your money. You probably won't experience it in a tour group but as a single western male, I was first accosted stepping off the subway by two female Chinese "tourists" from more remote Chinese cities. They wanted to go for coffee and conversation, being late afternoon and heavy security in the area I agreed. Coffee turned to alcohol and then they wanted us to do some karaoke, I lifted my glass but did not drink anything and then said I needed to go elsewhere for food. I was presented with a bill for $186USD. I laughed and argued the bill down to $35USD for one cup of tea, I smiled and threw down 5CNY(80 cents US) and started out, one girl tried to stop me but the shop owner waved her off. I WOULD NOT recommend trying this but I had great fun doing it. I also had a couple of VERY loud personal alarms with me and the knowledge there were many policemen very nearby. Back on the street, I was again approached by many women asking if I needed help, I just headed for groups of police and then watch as the women scurried off! I needed to have something to do as the gates were closed to tourist entrance by 3 PM.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank StevenP3559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

It's awesome to stand under structures that were built with quality and excellence thousands of years ago and contemplate the history, the challenges, the opportunities and the progress. Prepare yourself to share this attraction with 80000 local Chinese people everyday, since the locals are the greatest number of visitors to the sight, but it is worth the wait

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Ernestjdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Seeing pictures of Tian'anmen Sqaure are nothing compared to seeing it in person - you don't really get the feel for just how enormous this space is - there are guards everywhere with what looks like fire extinguishers beside them - we later worked out they are actually water cannons used to disperse protesters and troublemakers - we could have easily spent more time here but where on a tour - a must do

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank smurfette64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews